We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Amble, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Anne k
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

John and Irene are very welcoming hosts. Everything you could want to make your stay comfortable is in the well furnished, clean, spacious house, plus some lovely extras to welcome a weary visitor from Australia, like chocolates and homemade jam. The house is well located in a quiet street. Made my visit to family and friends such an enjoyable experience.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
Thank you Anne for your favourable review. We are pleased that we were able in some small part to make your stay so enjoyable. It was lovely to meet you, and your sister from Warkworth. We send our kindest regards to you in Western Australia and hope you will be able to visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb stay!”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A great stay. So much bigger than expected and brilliant facilities. Washing machine / freezer etc. We had two small children so benefited from the large living room and kitchen. Only 2 mins from supermarket and 5 mins from Harbour.

Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind review. It was really nice to have you stay at Sunflower House. Hope to see you again.
John and Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edd35
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great base for Northumberland”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked very late and found this property. It had good reviews so we were looking forward to it. We weren't disappointed! John and Irene met us at the house and we immediately received a very warm welcome. The house felt very much like a home with three good size bedrooms and a big bathroom. This was important with our three children. It was well decorated, very clean and tidy and good heating as the nights were getting colder! John gave us a good brief on the local amenities and local places of interest. The area gave us a brilliant base to visit the area with trips to Lindisfarne, various castles and a really nice train trip to Edinburgh. We had a great time and our only disappointment was that a week was not long enough!

I would recommend this holiday home to anyone visiting Northumberland.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thank you for this positive review. We are really happy that you had an enjoyable stay. It was lovely to meet you and your children. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raylintot...
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable property in quiet surroundings”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Welcomed personally by owners. House well equipped with everything you would need. Amble is a quiet seaside town with pleasant shops with plenty of places to eat & drink. Thoroughly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well decorated & clean
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thanks for this review. We are pleased you had a good stay. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda B
Atherstone
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Comfortable Accommodation”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The owners were there to greet us and explain what was what, and privided us with tea bags and milk - thank you.
The house is located in Amble in an excellent position - just a short walk from the town and all amenities. We used the bus a couple of times into Alnwick, and the walk through to Warkworth was very enjoyable alongside the river Coquet and spotting the wide variety of birds. I can recommend the Harbour Fish Bar and the delicious meat pies from Amble Butchers. We will definitely go back to Northumberland, and especially to Amble and stay in this house.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to go home after the week
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your favourable review. We are happy that you had an enjoyable holiday in beautiful Northumberland. It was lovely to meet you and hope we will see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVW_00
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent holiday home”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Property is situated in a quiet street handy for shops etc. The house has everything necessary for a holiday. Thank you John and Irene for use of your house and a warm welcome.

Date of stay: September 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
We are pleased you had enjoyable stay. It was lovely to meet you. Hope to see you again.
John and Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnethMo
Amble, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had a fabulous week staying at this lovely cottage. Perfectly located near the centre of town and the redeveloped harbour; yet one of the quietest cottages we have stayed in! Such a peaceful road. The owners greeted us upon our arrival which was lovely. The cottage has everything you could need and the yard at the back is a real sun trap in the afternoon. A lovely peaceful place to sit and rekax. Ideally located on the coast. Warkworth, Alnmouth, Alnwick, Craster and Boulmer all very close to visit -Seahouses and Bamburgh just a little further north, as is Holy Island. We would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage - so comfortable and tastefully decorated. A real home from home.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Thank you for your very favourable review. We are pleased you had such an enjoyable stay. Hope to see you in Amble again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.