We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oinville-sous-Auneau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Moulin de Lonceux
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We just came back yesterday from a 15 day self-drive trip in France, and finished off our trip with a last night at this lovely property. Our 'Folle Farine' room was simply delightful with a cosy firm bed, modern spacious bathroom, and not to mention the old wooden beams and the rough stone walls that quietly oozed character from the entire property. We did not make dinner plans so Isabelle kindly made us a reservation at a nearby restaurant that was easy to locate... Best yet was the breakfast the next day where my wife, a breadlover, finished the whole basket with only crumbs to spare. The flour came from their own property and it was seriously the best I had in France and anywhere. Recommend to stay here strongly, for the unique cosy experience, great hospitality, and for practicality where the drive back to CDG is an hour away after a most memorable breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LambShanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

This was our second stay with Isobelle at the lovely Moulin de Lonceux. Conveniently located, not far from the motorway, it offered a haven of comfort and rest. The rooms are individually and beautifully appointed, and breakfast was outstanding--with homemade jams and breads (flour from her own mill), freshly squeezed orange juice and unlimited coffee. Isobelle even provided us with a last minute, lovely dinner, when we realised all local restaurants were closed. Located in a wonderfully landscaped park, this stop offers opportunities for walking and relaxing in most peaceful surrounds.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dh35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

A weeding close to Lonceux was a unique opportunity for our family to share the charm and calm of this place. Exquisite decoration of the rooms tastefully stressing old beams, stones and cob. Unforgettable breakfeast... You will taste home made bread made using home made flour while Isabelle will tell you the story of the place, especially the water mill. But you will have to share the peaceful nature surrounding The Moulin with hens, chicks, ducks and other well-behaved and discreetly expressing animals... We will come back and strongly recommend the place for one night or even more. Itenerary must be prepared as the place is not very easy to find expecially by night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petit76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently for one night on our way back to Cherbourg from Nice. Unfortunately, the weather was cold and damp (in June!) but the peaceful setting in the country provided a perfect place for a restful break from the autoroute. The rooms are beautiful and it's nice to say hello to the ducks, geese, swans and goats while walking around the property.

Isabelle was very welcoming, made us a beautiful breakfast and gave a fascinating explanation of the working 18th century watermill. We had stocked up on wine, cheese and pate before arriving, having enjoyed a large meal the night before. With the place to ourselves, we settled into the common room/dining room with our glasses full and some candles lit, and watched a DVD before retiring for the evening. Sounds boring but it was glorious to relax after a hectic week on the Cote d'Azur.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deramore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This was an ideal place to stop on our way from the Auvergne to Paris. The room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated, breakfast was awesome, with homemade jams and bread (made with their own flour, as this is a water mill) among other treats... Isabelle, the owner, is very welcoming and even went out of her way to print off our Mappy route for our journey to and from Paris, whilst we were finishing our breakfast... We were only there overnight but we would certainly recommend it for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The Moulin was the perfect place to stay for an ultimate surprise 9th wedding anniversary package I arranged for my husband. Before even booking rooms, I emailed the owner, Isabelle, and she went out of her way to help me make plans that rivaled 007 secrecy: She picked us up at the Auneau train station (55mn from Paris Austerlitz); two nights in her GORGEOUS B&B; a hot-air balloon ride for two (lift off is just down the road - 3mn on foot); two in-room massages; a catered romantic dinner for two on the premises; and contact numbers for round-trip taxi rides to see "Chartres en lumières" (NB: one-way costs about 60eur which is cheap compared to Paris!). It was all perfect.

The Moulin property is a piece of paradise and the perfect romantic getaway from stressful city life. The breakfast was lovely with homemade bread from the Moulin. Being that my husband's a engineering buff, he was like a kid in a candy shop watching the water mill grind flour.

Isabelle also lent us the electric bikes - with which my husband buzzed around while I napped in the chaise lounge in the sun-bathed garden. Pure bliss! Thank you Isabelle for your help in making this one of the best anniversaries ever!

Room Tip: If you want to plan a package with mutliple adventures, I suggest getting in touch with Isabelle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BethCagnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed here while on the last leg of our 5 day self-drive tour of Brittany. The location was perfect to have us back to Paris in time to catch the train to London the next morning. You will need to have a GPS to find it - nestled in a small valley in the countryside not far from Chartres. We enjoyed the expansive and well kept grounds and felt the location was perfect for couples and families seeking a weekend retreat from Paris. Isabelle took the time to show us the workings of the mill, directed us to a lovely creperie in a neighbouring village (I wish I could remember the name of the village!) and kindly served us breakfast at an unspeakable hour due to our early train departure. As Australians living in Shanghai this style of accomodation was a unique experience and we throughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: No need to specify a room - they are all stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xingming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Moulin de Lonceux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin de Lonceux

Address: D122 | Hameau de Lonceux, 28700 Oinville-sous-Auneau, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Eure-et-Loir > Oinville-sous-Auneau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oinville-sous-Auneau
Price Range: £66 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five guest rooms in the farm of an 18th century watermill still in operation at less than 1 hour from Paris. Rooms are very comfortable and decorated with different themas. Stones and beams. 2Ha park with animals, trees and flowers. River banks where you can walk along, terrace for breakfast in summer, fireplace in winter! Many activities from the mill for the whole family. Apart from guest rooms, you have a catering house and a reception hall for 50 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Moulin De Lonceux France/Oinville-Sous-Auneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing