We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel of a find!”
Review of Hotel Samoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Samoria
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Audinghen
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A jewel of a find!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

First time staying here and though the hotel is undergoing renovations, we were very comfortable. We had distant views of Cap Gris Nez and the Channel, across lovely rural scenery. Our room was extremely comfortable, the bathroom huge and very stylish and we were very impressed with the efficiency of the wall heaters when the night turned a little chilly. We enjoyed a good niight's sleep as it is so quiet and off the road. Patricia made us feel so welcome, speaking perfect English and tolerating good-naturedly our pathetic attempts at French. Unfortunately the hotel restaurant was closed but Patricia made a couple of recommendations: we ended up at the nearby L'Estival, a cosy little bar/brasserie near the museum, and couldn't fault the service or the food there. The continental breakfast was delicious, with warm croissants and pains au chocolat, fruit, ham, cheese. There was also the option of a full English, had we so chosen. Patricia informed us they fetch the bacon and sausages from England so they are authentic! We thought the room was good value for the money and hope to stay here again on our next trip. Thank you Patricia!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a superior room on the ground floor which accommodates the disabled and has a hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nousvoici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    49
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
65
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
spain
Level 6 Contributor
627 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I used this hotel before for a one night stay pre channel crossing.

The rooms are clean and modern but there is far too much crammed into them.
There is a kettle and a full bath and very big bed.

The restaurant which I would never use again was very average in fact poor.

We had a call from the owner asking to estimate our arrival time ,he did not inform us of the road works and detours---this is why I have marked the hotel down. I cannot understand why we were not informed of the potential problems well in advance as they had all of my contact details.

One last thing was the odd noise coming from the ceiling in our upstairs room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexanderSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel was far, far more than a mere sleepover on a shopping trip. We were delayed on our outward journey when there was a problem with the rails in the Channel Tunnel but we still managed to get to our booked table at a local beachside restaurant with seconds to spare. After a great lunch we checked in at the Samoria hotel and were delighted to find that our room was beautifully designed with excellent distant views of the channel. We sat and gawped out of the window for about an hour before taking a nap in the fantastically comfy and huge bed. The luxurious bathroom with good towels and generous toiletries allowed for a relaxed start to the evening. After a glass or two of wine we decided we could cram in another meal and we really enjoyed our bistro supper in the hotel restaurant. I think we must have been annoying guests as we managed to lose a pair of glasses on the first day and found we had a flat tyre on the second. Both small disasters were dealt with with sympathetic efficiency. Our lunchtime restaurant was called to check if the glasses has been found and when our tyre was found to be flat just before our departure, the chef was dispatched to help us put on the spare. By the time we had done this, a local garage had been contacted to expect our arrival and we were back on track to do the shopping with only half an hour or so behind schedule. The hotel itself is of an extremely high standard [ and very reasonably priced ] but it was the standard of customer service that will ensure future bookings from this very satisfied cross channel traveller,

Room Tip: Ask for a channel view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gathornegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great place to stay! Ideal location for the ferry or tunnel. Fabulous huge comfy bed, fantastic bathroom with luxury towels and toiletries. The food was excellent both in choice and value with the added bonus of having tea/coffee making facilities in your room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPZgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The reception was good, especially when the staff realised we had made a booking in advance! After this we were shown promptly to our room and shown around. This was appreciated given our family had been on the road for over 8 hours.

The restaurant was as good a value as we'd had this holiday and the food was enough to fill our hungry children, with booking a table made a priority on our behalf.

This is a place to come to enjoy the two Caps, with lovely surroundings and is centrally located for amenities.

Room Tip: Ring ahead and discuss your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Staff were welcoming, tea and coffee making facilities in room. Bistro - reasonably priced and tasty food. The room was air conditioned. Bed big and comfortable.
Full English breakfast was cooked freshly and well. The continental breakfast was excellent, lots of top quality fresh fruit and really fresh bread and croissants.
So, good all round and set in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoderickBoucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We really enjoyed our two night stay. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The management were very helpful and accommodating and helpful. We will certainly be returning next year.
On a clear day you can see the White Cliffs of Dover.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Audinghen
6.9 mi away
Hotel l'Escale
Hotel l'Escale
#1 of 1 in Escalles
734 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#1 of 1 in Audresselles
125 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Le Vivier - Centre
5.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean
Hotel Saint Jean
#2 of 5 in Wimereux
273 reviews
10.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samoria

Property: Hotel Samoria
Address: 200 route du Musee, 62179 Audinghen, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Audinghen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Audinghen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Samoria 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Samoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing