We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tasty food in pleasant surroundings”

Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar
Ranked #13 of 127 Restaurants in Barnet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$68
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Tucked away inside the West Lodge Park Hotel, the Mary Beale Restaurant and Bar provides an elegant but unpretentious setting for any occasion. Enviably located close to Trent Park and Hadley Wood, the dining room is a traditionally stylish space with huge windows letting in plenty of natural light. Executive Chef Wayne Turner and his team use locally sourced produce to create seasonal British dishes and a selection of snacks and light options which are served in the bar. We recommend the organic salmon with dill risotto and the Sacombe Hill Farm beef fillet with mushroom gratin. Why not treat the family to the Mary Beale Restaurant's legendary Sunday lunch, or sample a glass or two from their excellent wine list?
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We went with the family for an all inclusive Boxing Day lunch. Three courses with plenty of choice for everyone ( wine extra.) The food was fresh tasty and well presented. The staff were attentive and responded to every request. There was a real festive atmosphere with crackers and we all had a really enjoyable time. Personally I have never eaten out over the Christmas period but we found this a relatively inexpensive, stress free, enjoyable experience. The Hotel itself has an elegant comfortable charm, which coupled with the attitude of the staff allowed us to have a unhurried hassle free Boxing Day, with time to chat and enjoy each others company. Very child friendly as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank eonaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review following your visit to the Mary Beale Restaurant on Boxing Day.

I am so glad everything went well for you and your party.

We made a conscious decision to reduce the price of Boxing Day lunch this year, and this resulted in more people and happier people like yourself, so it was the right decision.

I am so glad you enjoyed the atmosphere, something particularly important at Christmas time, and an aspect of hotel keeping that so many other places don't pay much attention to.

As well as live piano music, beautifully decorated real Christmas trees and 35 acres of grounds to walk off your lunch, the hotel itself lends itself particularly well to Christmas festivities due to the Georgian splendour of the architecture.

Do come again next Boxing Day or sooner if you can !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 175 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Attended a Christmas Gala here on 19th Dec. The grounds are pretty. It was a shame the weather was wet and dark that evening so cannot venture outside/grounds. It is a reasonable 15 minutes driving distance from Palmers Green. Parking is plentiful. This is the right place to get inspiration re festive season. It is truly British. Decor are also very traditional style. You can see/admire nice paintings around the reception and lobby area.

Had a great time dining and admiring the surroundings. Just would like to point out that the staff seemed very busy when we arrived as we had to put our coat ourselves. Staff were friendly and professional.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Local-Scarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your review of West Lodge Park and your Christmas Gala night at the hotel.

Sorry that we weren't able to take your coats for you on arrival, but I am glad we looked after you well in every other respect.

The paintings that you saw around the front lounge and in the banqueting rooms are by my ancestor Mary Beale, who was Britain's first professional woman painter, and who lived from 1633 to 1699.

Do come again in the spring when you can walk round the 35 acres of the Beale Arboretum which surrounds the hotel, planted out for 50 years now with over 800 species of trees from all around the world.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Easy booking; very good food; excellent service; charming ambience; lovely venue. A great birthday present!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review of the Mary Beale Restaurant at West Lodge Park.

I am so glad you had a good time with us, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the new year.

You can also see many other reviews of the restaurant on the West Lodge Park Hotel Tripadvisor page.

In the meantime, may I take the opportunity to wish you a very merry Christmas and a happy new year !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

just had Sunday lunch for 7 people for my birthday. waited in bar for our pre lunch drink for 25 mins. table was ready before drink arrived, went to table and drinks were still another 10 mins.

all drinks were placed on the edge of the table by a nice young man, who had either received little or no training on how to serve.

The food at best was quite average. We had gravlax, liver parfait, soup and goats cheese tart for starters. Salmon, and beef and lamb roasts. Deserts were apple sticky toffee pudding and white chocolate and lemon mouse. There was no waiter to pour the wine at any stage and also we had no opportunity to try the wine first. All in all well below par for a £50 per head plus gratuity lunch.
So disappointing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wheels1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your review of the Mary Beale Restaurant at Sunday lunch.

I must confess to being most surprised at the negative tone of this review.

Your waiter was Patrick Jankunas, who far from being untrained, has had lots of experience in his several years at West Lodge Park and in fact was voted "Simply the Best" at West Lodge Park in November last year.

He is one of the kindest and politest young men I know.

Perhaps you were expecting an older waiter ?

I personally spoke to several of our Sunday lunch guests on the day, as I was hosting the Beale Arboretum open day, including the hard to please Mr and Mrs W**ls who have been coming for over 10 years and said it was the best Sunday lunch they had ever had at the hotel.

Another guest on Sunday, Mr J***s, said it was the best lamb and beef he had ever tasted.

I popped into the restaurant a bit later, and our resident pianist Paul Jaffa was playing on the piano, giving a great atmosphere for all our guests.

So I, and all my team, are at a loss to understand your comments, and believe there to be some artistic licence with the timings you have quoted in your review.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your lunch with us, however it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to West Lodge Park in the future.

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

When booking I specifically pointed out that 1 guest was vegetarian. There was only one vegetarian main course from fourteen on the menu so our choice for our vegetarian guest was take it or leave it. The waiter confirmed that there was nothing else available.

To charge over £5 for a bottle of beer is extortion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cairney24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

We are sorry that there was a communication issue with your booking.

As a result of your review, we have added alternative vegetarian dishes to our restaurant menu, and all staff have been briefed to offer further choices from our Food and Drink bar menu if vegetarian guests prefer.

Do give us another chance, we are sorry we got it wrong and you were told incorrect information.

Regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar also viewed

Barnet, Greater London
Barnet, Greater London
 
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
Barnet, Greater London
 
Barnet, Greater London
 

Been to Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing