We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Lodge Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Value for Money??”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed for 3 nights Sunday 30/9 - Tues 2/10. Delightful hotel particularly at weekend when you can take advantage of the grounds. Room (basic or Classic double no 45) clean and bright but not exactly spacious, very little room one side of the bed, and there were maintenance issues (loose toilet seat and taps hard to turn off) which should have been sorted out by the cleaning staff. Dinner £25 for 3 x courses beautifully cooked but as is only too common these days modest portions left you hungry. Recommended strongly for special occasions but at a weekday rate of £145 for room with no breakfast not really value for money when the Royal Chace down the road has similar rooms for £90.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley42London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for your review of West Lodge Park,

I am sorry that there were some small maintenance issues in the bathroom, please do alert us to these if staying again, as they are quickly fixed (although as you rightly say should have been picked up by our housekeeping team first).

I am sorry that you felt the portion sizes were too small, this is obviously a fine line between generosity and having too much to cope with during a meal.

I note your comments about the Royal Chace hotel, but would point out that there are often hardly any differences between us in room rates, as we are both present all time on the usual channels such as laterooms, booking, and Expedia.

Please do give us another go, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to West Lodge Park,

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    275
    99
    41
    24
See reviews for
200
500
40
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Had Sunday Lunch last week, ambience lovely, service good, quality of food average. My main compaint is that the portions where miniscule., two diddy roast potatoes per plate and one carrot and one piece of brocolli. Enjoyed the meal but was hungry afterwards. . The price £28. for two courses and £32 for three courses....but no good if you have to go home and grab a sandwich afterwards. Pity this could be a great place ...but I won't return, and I suggest if you go, ask for a proper size portion.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you for your review of Sunday lunch at West Lodge Park,

I have never heard of the Sunday lunch portion size being too small in some 20 years working here, but as it was obviously too small for you I have no hesitation in offering you a voucher for a 2 course lunch or dinner for one person at West Lodge Park between now and the 23rd December. You will just need to pay for drinks and coffee and for any guests.

Kindly write to me via my email address that you can find on the website.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to West Lodge Park in the future.

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We had our wedding reception here some 30 years ago (although we are regularly mistaken for Brad and Angelina), returned for Valentines night this year, then again for a Friday night with friends this month. We have just rebooked so you can see we are fans! Firstly, the owner is a true Hotelier, you can be assured of top service. Secondly, the location makes for a easy destination for a lot of Londoner's; a rural location within very easy reach. Thirdly the evening meal is of a superb standard.

Ps. the 30 year break was a long run on the Bank of Mum and Dad

We travel a lot, most places are nice but not so many warrant a write-up!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you have come back after an expensive period bringing up children (tell me about it, I have 5 at home !).

Many congratulations on reaching your 30 year anniversary. One of the joys of working in such a long established business (243 years and counting !) is seeing guests coming back many years later after their wedding or other special occasion, and finding that the hotel is still in the same family ownership, and that even some of the staff are still there !

We look forward to hosting your Ruby and Golden Wedding anniversary lunches in due course !

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This is a lovely hotel. I only stayed for one night but found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.
The room was very clean and comfortable.
I have only one complaint. The rooms obviously are non-smoking, however because it was a very warm evening and I had to have my window wide open I was able to smell the very strong smell of the cigarette smoke of people smoking outside. My room was at the back of the hotel so I presume it was the staff who were out there smoking.
Even when I was in bed I could still smell the smoke wafting in from outside. As a lifelong non-smoker I found this very unpleasant. Ironically there is a sign on the bedroom mirror which says that if you smoke in your room you will be charged £100 to cover the cost of cleaning the room and removing all trace of the smell of smoke.
Apart from that one negative thing I am glad I chose this hotel to stay in and will do so again if I am in the area.

Room Tip: If you're bothered by the smell of cigarette smoke ask for a room at the front of the hotel or k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leathers36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park following your recent stay.

I am glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, but sorry that smoke was a problem.

We were the first UK hotel chain to ban smoking in all bedrooms as well as in all public areas.

There is a small smoking area outside the hotel on the terrace below Rooms 26 and 57 and I can only assume you were allocated one of these two bedrooms.

Alternatively we have a staff smoking area at the back of the hotel, but that is far enough away to not be a problem at all.

Do come again, and if there is any smoke problem again, please just ask our reception team to move you - as long as we have space, we would be delighted to do so.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I have been a regular visitor to West Lodge Park hotel for over 20 years and have enjoyed consistently good accommodation, food and service throughout.

My most recent visits were to attend the outstanding Tattinger evening and shortly thereafter an excellent lunch in the Mary Beale restaurant.

The food in the restaurant is always of excellent quality (Wayne, the Head Chef, is clearly a very talented chap) and I especially appreciate the use of many local suppliers.

The choice of wines is excellent with prices to suit all pockets and some excellent matches for the food on the menu are always recommended by sommelier Anthony Browning.

Service in the restaurant is always good - Matthew, the restaurant manager, and his team seem to have the knack of making our visits feel very special.

A super hotel and restaurant that over the years has very much become our place to "chill out"

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for such a kind review of West Lodge Park,

I am so glad that we have looked after you consistently well for over 20 years.

Consistency is probably the hardest thing to achieve in hotelkeeping when every day seems to provide new challenges or situations not experienced before.

However, we as the Beale family have been here running West Lodge Park for 67 years since 1945, with my Grandfather Edward putting in 53 years, my Father Trevor over 40 years, and myself a mere 20 years so far !

In addition Tony King has over 40 years experience here, Anthony Browning who you mention in your review 34 years, and Marion Taylor in banqueting over 30 years.

Do keep coming to West Lodge Park, there are lots of exciting special events, concerts, murder mystery etc in the coming months !

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kings lynn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was great and entire stay was enjoyed a lot by the two of us, would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in London, easy to get into the centre of London as it is close to an underground line.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katrina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I am so pleased that we looked after you well, and that you enjoyed your stay.

There are very few hotels in London that are in the country just outside but easily accessible.

West Lodge Park is just over a mile from Cockfosters Tube Station where you can leave your car all day up to midnight for £4.50 midweek or £1.50 weekend, something of a bargain.

Alternatively if you don't have a car, it is a quick cab ride to and from the hotel (there is a cab office open in the tube station until the arrival of the last tube well after midnight).

The beauty of the Piccadilly Line into town from Cockfosters is that you are guaranteed a seat as it is the end of the line, and all the main stops in town are where most people want to go :

ie Holborn for the British Museum,
Covent Garden for the great atmosphere,
Leicester Square for the cinemas and the National Gallery,
Piccadilly Circus for Regent St and Fortnum and Mason,
Green Park for Buckingham Palace,
Knightsbridge for Harrods,
And South Kensington for the Science Museum and the Natural History Museum.

Oh and Heathrow Terminals 1-5 for flying home - all this on the one direct tube line !

Do come again when you are next down from Kings Lynn.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We got married at this hotel last weekend and would like to thank Lisa, Adam and their team for the superb attention to detail throughout the day. We have the most wonderful pictures taken in the beautiful grounds. Champagne was served for the guests on the lawn and staff could not do enough to tend to our guests every need. The food was simply outstanding and like one reviewer has said the bedroom facilities are like a mini self contained flat!

Room Tip: Executive room in the Chestnut Lodge, beautiful view of the grounds and very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandkadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Gosh, thank you for such a lovely review, and many congratulations on your wedding at West Lodge Park !

I am so deeply proud of the banqueting team at the hotel headed up by Adam Brooks and his deputy Will Lyons, along with the office team of Sharon Blackgrove, Lisa Campbell, Louise Fickling and Helen Mitchell.

I am also pleased that the weather was kind and that you were able to have champagne on the lawn at the hotel - no finer place when the sun is out !

I am sure you have many happy memories of your magical day, and we are very pleased to have played our part in your special day.

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnet
1.9 mi away
Royal Chace Hotel
Royal Chace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
7.4 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
6.1 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
8.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn South Mimms/Potters Bar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Park Hotel

Property: West Lodge Park Hotel
Address: West Lodge Park Cockfosters Road, Barnet EN4 0PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Barnet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — West Lodge Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Park Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel set in 35 acres of grounds on the edge of North London. It has been owned and run by three generations of the Beale family since 1945 and now has 59 bedrooms, the Mary Beale Restaurant and Terrace Bar, 8 stunning banqueting rooms, and plentiful free parking. The hotel is located just a mile from Cockfosters Tube station where there is a large car park and frequent trains on the Piccadilly Line to all the sights of central London. Around the hotel is the magnificent Beale Arboretum, with over 800 species of trees from around the world, 2 national collections of hornbeams and swamp cypresses, and plentiful hard paths and interpretive signage. The hotel is also home to the Edward Beale collection of Old master paintings, most of which have been painted by the ancestor of the family, Mary Beale, who was Britain's first professional woman artist, painting at the time of Charles II. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to this beautiful hotel. Andrew BealeManaging DirectorBeales Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your West Lodge Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Park
West Lodge Park Hotel Barnet, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing