We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very happy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Lodge Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very happy stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a class of its own for friendliness and superb service. We visited it on a busy weekend to celebrate a special tbirthday. The bedroom was extremely comfortable with all the comforts that one expects from a five star hotel. It was spotlessly clean and there was not only a bowl of fruit for us but also a plate with 'Happy Birthday' written on it with a selection of sweets. The entire staff went out of their way to help us enjoy our stay --- nothing was too much trouble .The staff made us feel that we were honoured guests. We must compliment the Management on the training that they must give the staff.

This gives the impression of a happy hotel. We will be back for another visit

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your review of our lovely hotel,

I am so glad that all the team looked after you so well during your stay.

There is no single secret to good hospitality, but the closest clue is in a phrase I once heard from Ken McCulloch who at the time was running One Devonshire Gardens in Glasgow. He said the secret to running a great hotel is to employ nice people.

At West Lodge Park, we have over 700 years of service from our team of around 100 staff, with many in the team having 10, 20, 30 or even 40 years of experience at the hotel behind them, and a nicer team one could not wish for.

Do come again, and a happy new year to you !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    280
    105
    42
    25
See reviews for
209
509
43
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at the West Park Lodge in December and was over the moon.
The service was great,lovely rooms and an impressive place overall!
All the staff where friendly and more than happy to help with anything.Food and drink excellent!
Would certainly recommend staying here

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveGES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park.

It was a pleasure to welcome you during our busy December month, and I am so glad that everything went well for you during your stay.

We have just taken all our wonderful Christmas decorations down, which is always a sad moment in the year. All we need now is for the rain to stop so that the 35 acre Beale Arboretum can dry out a bit !

Do come again soon,

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We needed a Barnet-area stopover in order to attend a birthday party. I booked West Lodge Park as it was the nearest to show up on Google maps with available rooms. With limited expectations we were blown away. It's a great building in a wonderful parkland area with its own arboretum. Public areas are spacious, staff most welcoming and helpful and our room was excellent. We even had a walk in closet cum ironing room. Returning well after midnight we enjoyed a drink in the bar in the company of an amusing and friendly night manager and then slept soundly on the most comfortable mattress under the softest duvet imaginable.
A hearty breakfast was followed by a rather damp (not the hotel's fault) walk around the arboretum which made us resolve to visit again in more clement circumstances.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeRaggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about West Lodge Park,

I am glad you were blown away by what you found here.

I have always believed in under promising and over delivering, rather than over promising and under delivering as many hotels seem to do.

We do indeed have a superb hotel where everything is well invested, works, and has attention to detail brought about by years of hard graft.

However far from being complacent we know we are only as good as our next Tripadvisor review.

Do come again in better weather to enjoy the beautiful Beale Arboretum in the 35 acres of grounds around the hotel - it is all rather sodden at present after the exceptional rain of the last month.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My sister in law had arranged our new year's evening at the West Lodge for a party of 9 people. I loved our room (no 8 the Casement). Our room had a really lovely view of the grounds. It also had everything we needed such as an iron and ironing board, safe, coffee and tea making facilities. The meal was superb as was the wine. The piper who piped in the New year was a lovely touch. Breakfast the next morning was great and such a variety. The band was excellent offering a choice of old and new song. A great evening. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindyboo112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park,

I am so glad that New Year's Eve went off so well for you and your party. It is not the easiest of evenings to organise, as we are never sure of the age range of everyone until the last moment, and thus I was particularly pleased that the band were so good at adapting their range of songs to have something for everyone to enjoy.

Room 8 is one of two bedrooms in what was originally the staff quarters right at the top of the hotel under the eaves. Both rooms have an amazing view looking down the main ride of the arboretum. Not everyone likes these rooms due to the narrow staircase up to them, but providing one can manage this, then they are rather wonderfully secluded, with absolutely no noise whatsoever.

Do come again soon, and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Happy new year !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiptree, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Deciding that we wanting to do something special to celebrate our first year of dating we booked this hotel via a travelzoo offer.

It was a fantastic experience, Easy to get to, Beautiful place and very friendly staff. The meal in the evening was superb, the food was served quickly and very high quality.

In the morning I saw a member of the breakfast staff get spoken to very badly by a guest, I couldn't hear exactly the "complaint" but I think it was because she wanted a clean glass for her second glass of juice, I've never heard someone try to belittle someone in that way before. She was utterly rude but soon got asked to calm her attitude by the staff member.

I'm unsure of the staff members name (slim gent with white framed glasses) but please give him a pat on the back from us.

Overall, Fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d6dph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park.

I am so glad we looked after you so well, and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

The person you refer to who was harangued by a guest is Peter Brassington, our esteemed deputy restaurant manager.

Sadly it is an all too frequent occurrence these days, and I take a zero tolerance approach to all bullying and intimidation of our wonderful team by the very few of our guests who don't have any manners, and will not hesitate to exclude them from our hotel if they don't stop.

This is not unique to this hotel, but to all organisations serving the public. However I must add that it is not a daily occurrence and it is a pleasure and a joy to serve the 99% of our guests who are quite delightful !

Do come again soon, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to West Lodge Park !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I have just come back from a 2 night break from this hotel and after previous visits it just gets better every time!!!!
I organised my wife's birthday along with our close family and friends approximately 30 guests and I have to say that from beginning to end the service was impeccable, the staff were fantastic and standards remained at a consistent level throughout our stay.
Although we set Dave, Adam and their team a challenge in keeping our party happy I have to say they delivered above and beyond. Well Done to you all! I am still receiving message to say what a lovely time everyone had and how they would look to book West Lodge for their next function.
A great job to you all, I really cannot thank you enough!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your delightful review of West Lodge Park Hotel.

I am so glad that the birthday celebration for your wife went off so well, and was a memorable occasion for all concerned.

I am equally delighted that Dave Seward, our General Manager, and Adam Brooks, our Deputy Manager in charge of food and beverage, came up trumps and were able to exceed your expectations and do better even than your previous visits.

I have no doubt that there are other birthday celebrations in the offing for your family, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you all back again.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, really near to the M25. Spotlessly clean rooms, with everything you need. Our room ( number 63) was spacious, with a nice view across the grounds. It had, a safe,fridge, kettle,tea,coffee,biscuits, slippers, nice quality toileteries and bath robes. We were attending a gala dinner, and the food and wines were first class. Thank you Adam for ensuring everyone was well looked after. There is a really nice bar/lounge where you can get a drink,afternoon teas ( looked delicious), and food. ( the beer was a bit pricey at £6.10 per bottle !) The train station is about a mile away so easy to leave your car either at the hotel,or station, and jump on the train into London.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bbcroyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park.

I am so glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

Bedroom 63 is a wonderful luxury bedroom with amazing views, a brand new bathroom and bedroom refurbishment, and an end corridor location meaning that no one is walking past you in the night !

I am glad that you took advantage of the proximity to London. Cockfosters Tube station is only about 3 minutes away, and from there it is a direct line to central London and all the sights. In addition the car park is very reasonable, (£5 midweek, £2 Saturdays and bank hols, and £1.50 Sundays).

Do come again soon, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back to this lovely hotel.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnet
1.9 mi away
Royal Chace Hotel
Royal Chace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enfield
569 reviews
7.4 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
646 reviews
4.5 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.5 mi away
Travelodge London Whetstone
Travelodge London Whetstone
#473 of 1,067 in London
360 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Park Hotel

Property: West Lodge Park Hotel
Address: West Lodge Park Cockfosters Road, Barnet EN4 0PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Barnet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — West Lodge Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Park Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel set in 35 acres of grounds on the edge of North London. It has been owned and run by three generations of the Beale family since 1945 and now has 59 bedrooms, the Mary Beale Restaurant and Terrace Bar, 8 stunning banqueting rooms, and plentiful free parking. The hotel is located just a mile from Cockfosters Tube station where there is a large car park and frequent trains on the Piccadilly Line to all the sights of central London. Around the hotel is the magnificent Beale Arboretum, with over 800 species of trees from around the world, 2 national collections of hornbeams and swamp cypresses, and plentiful hard paths and interpretive signage. The hotel is also home to the Edward Beale collection of Old master paintings, most of which have been painted by the ancestor of the family, Mary Beale, who was Britain's first professional woman artist, painting at the time of Charles II. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to this beautiful hotel. Andrew BealeManaging DirectorBeales Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your West Lodge Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Park
West Lodge Park Hotel Barnet, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing