We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Lodge Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin
Level Contributor
133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed very recently for three nights as working in the area. Such a lovely place, rooms were so comfortable and spacious. So often older houses have that dampness about them; that was not the case here. Well kept and managed, sparkling clean yet in keeping with the period in which it was built.
The best thing was to return to the peace and quiet after a long days work, have a lovely shower and then not even have to go out again as dinner in the restaurant was simply heaven. Fabulous choice, excellent prices and staff were great. Special thanks to the head waiter Matthew who looked after the three of us with such professionalism on each of the three nights we ate there.
Breakfast was good too, a nice selection of hot and cold foods to start the day and capably looked after by Pat from Ireland.
Thanks to all there for a lovely stay. The only bad thing was the simple fact that I had no real time to wander and enjoy more of the grounds and the hotel, maybe next time.

Room Tip: They were all lovely, myself and my work colleagues found no faults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of West Lodge Park !

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and am glad that you singled out Matthew and Pat for special mention, they are both fantastic members of the team, and I am so proud of them.

We have over 100 staff at the hotel, and at a recent long service award lunch we had over 780 years of service in the room, with an average length of service of over 16 years, something so rare in the hotel business.

It will be be a pleasure to welcome you back, but next time you must make time to walk around the stunning Beale Arboretum, the 35 acres of grounds which surround the hotel !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    280
    104
    41
    25
See reviews for
208
509
42
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were looking for a good restaurant for lunch in this area unknown to us and suddenly found this beautiful property surrounded by a unique and unexpected Arboretum. The property is stunning but it feels very casual. The restaurant is located on the ground floor, and the dining room has some beautiful and large windows which offer the peaceful view of the sunny garden. We were given a lovely table by the window. The dining room is tastefully decorated without being too pretentious, and also very airy and bright. We were approached by this lovely gentlemen who was very accommodating and took our drink order. The menu is not that vast but the dishes proposed sound very appetising. The wine selection again is not that extensive but you can easily find something suitable and enjoyable. I am not going to list everything we had but let me tell you that the food was absolutely well presented and delicious, and the lovely wine was reasonable priced. Service was excellent as well. Thank to the lovely weather we had the chance to sip a glass of bubbles in the garden table, which was absolutely paradisiac. Don't forget to visit the Arboretum, it is so lovely kept. We will definitely be back next time there, and hopefully soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEGGYCOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park.

I am so delighted that you had a nice meal and were able to enjoy the terrace and a walk around the Beale Arboretum.

I can't think of anywhere within the M25 where one can enjoy a good meal followed by a walk around an extensive estate. There are one or two hotels with large grounds but they tend to be devoted to golf, and are thus out of bounds for everyone else.

I am hosting a series of tours around the arboretum this summer, the deal is I come free, as long as one buys lunch before the tour, or afternoon tea afterwards ! Details are on our website in the Special events section. It helps understanding to have a tour around the trees, as they are quite wonderful, but perhaps less accessible than herbaceous borders.

Do come again, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to West Lodge Park !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Visited here a couple of weeks before Christmas with a friend for afternoon tea on a travelzoo offer. The hotel and grounds looked fabulous with many decorated Christmas trees and lights. Service was excellent and un-rushed and afternoon was delicious with plenty of everything. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park.

I am glad you enjoyed your afternoon tea in the run up to Christmas. It seems a long time ago, and as I write the sun is streaming in through the large windows of the hotel, and the grounds are looking magnificent in their spring freshness.

Christmas is also a magical time at the hotel, and as you say, we decorate the hotel top to bottom with a huge number of baubles, lights, as well as some real Christmas trees.

Do come again this spring time, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to West Lodge Park !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level Contributor
89 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

From the moment you walk to when you walk out the excellence sort of rubs itself into you. We had an Afternoon Champagne Tea as a retirement gift, and extended that with a Dinner, bed and breakfast deal.
The afternoon tea is certainly stylish with enough to eat. Only one glass of champagne though.
The evening meal was even better and the staff make it all go well.
I only wish that establishments of this calibre would make a change at Breakfast from putting all the hot food out in trays. You end up with rubbery fried eggs, warmish baked beans etc. Even in a Premier Inn it is freshly cooked for you. And we were first at breakfast, but by the time we had had some fruit and a cereal, the hot food was cooled down.
Freshly cooked would justify the price of breakfast.
Lastly, I would like to remind all trippers that when the are waiting for a lift and getting out of a lift there are rooms very nearby and loudly wishing the lift to come quicker and saying loud goodnights when exiting may disturb those guests in the nearby rooms. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nejbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your detailed review of West Lodge Park,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and as an experienced hotel visitor you would be able to quickly notice if things weren't right.

A word about breakfast buffets - this is something one either loves or loathes, and we thought long and hard before building our new buffet in 2009 when we opened the Mary Beale Restaurant.

In truth, our clientele is mainly corporate Monday breakfast through to Friday breakfast, and more relaxed leisure guests come at the weekend.

Our corporate guests on five days of the week certainly prefer the convenience and speed of the buffet, but we are delighted always to serve food freshly cooked from the kitchen for anyone that asks.

Do come again, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to West Lodge Park !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just come back from a lovely afternoon tea at the West Lodge Park hotel ,to celebrate my Mums 80th birthday. The location was superb and the ambience very welcoming. The food was lovely and my Mum thoroughly enjoyed herself. The staff are very attentive without being too intrusive and all in all provided good value for money .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review of afternoon tea at West Lodge Park,

I am so glad you had a memorable afternoon for your mother's special day, and do hope that you managed to enjoy the beautiful grounds around the hotel, either before or after your tea.

We have just invested heavily in redoing all our hard paths around the Beale Arboretum, so that you can walk around safe in the knowledge that you don't need wellies !

Do come again in the future, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to this lovely hotel as the weather improves.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

An excellent green 500 yrs Heritage Hotel.. Serene Scenic n Superb Place to Stay..Great service m Hospitality. Acres of Green Space to Walk just 45min from Central London n an hour from Heathrow Airport.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKHH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks so much for a great review.

West Lodge Park is such a unique hotel, situated within the M25, in its own 35 acre estate, and with 1500 acres of the Enfield Chace just at the boundary of our estate, meaning one is surrounded by glorious countryside.

It is hard to believe we are actually in a London borough at all. Yet, as you say, with Cockfosters Tube just down the road, it is only 45 minutes from the centre of London.

Do come again we are always here, and look out for great weekend break offers on our website !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Really enjoyed ambience and walk around the lovely gardens which made up for the poor value tea at £12 per person for two rather small scones and tiny jar of jam shop bought.

When will these places return to value for money and great teas? My guess is never.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your review of West Lodge Park.

I am pleased you liked the hotel and the beautiful grounds.

I am sorry you did not perceive the tea to be value for money, but I can assure you that far from being fatalistic about our teas, we do actually take every comment most seriously.

As a result of your comments we are actioning the following :

- New fruit and candied peel scones are being introduced with immediate effect.
- We have gone another cutter size up in terms of the scone mix, so the scones will be larger.
- We are ordering new 3/4 plates for the scones to be served on
- We are ordering new hot water pots for the tea to be served with
- We are ordering new butterfly tea strainers
- We are ordering new teacups and teaspoons as well.
- Jam and clotted cream will be served in new bowls

So, far from ignoring your comments as you suggest, we are taking the review on the chin, and making something positive from it, thereby demonstrating the value of Tripadvisor as a force for continuous improvement in the hotel trade, provided the proprietor listens !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnet
1.9 mi away
Royal Chace Hotel
Royal Chace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enfield
567 reviews
7.4 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
645 reviews
4.5 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.5 mi away
Travelodge London Whetstone
Travelodge London Whetstone
#472 of 1,067 in London
359 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Park Hotel

Property: West Lodge Park Hotel
Address: West Lodge Park Cockfosters Road, Barnet EN4 0PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Barnet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — West Lodge Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Park Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel set in 35 acres of grounds on the edge of North London. It has been owned and run by three generations of the Beale family since 1945 and now has 59 bedrooms, the Mary Beale Restaurant and Terrace Bar, 8 stunning banqueting rooms, and plentiful free parking. The hotel is located just a mile from Cockfosters Tube station where there is a large car park and frequent trains on the Piccadilly Line to all the sights of central London. Around the hotel is the magnificent Beale Arboretum, with over 800 species of trees from around the world, 2 national collections of hornbeams and swamp cypresses, and plentiful hard paths and interpretive signage. The hotel is also home to the Edward Beale collection of Old master paintings, most of which have been painted by the ancestor of the family, Mary Beale, who was Britain's first professional woman artist, painting at the time of Charles II. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to this beautiful hotel. Andrew BealeManaging DirectorBeales Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Lodge Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Park
West Lodge Park Hotel Barnet, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing