We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Lodge Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

One of the best I've stayed at so far. Perfectly tranquil with beautiful surroundings. Food is of good quality and the staff are very friendly and polite. Enjoyed my stay. The room itself is very spacious with a nice little walk in closet. Night time room service is very prompt. Hope to book here again on regular basis for my business visits.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Rahul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Gosh thanks so much for your kind review of West Lodge Park,

I am so glad everything went well for you.

As I write the temperature is finally reducing to more manageable levels after a hot day, and it time to go for a walk around the beautiful shade of the Beale Arboretum.

With thousands of specimen trees, the cool of the evening is just a perfect time for a walk around the 35 acres of grounds.

Do come again and enjoy this remarkable hotel. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
There are newer reviews for West Lodge Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed this weekend on a groupon deal for DBB really nice food and lovely surroundings, not much to do shame there isn't a little spa, but apart from that loved it and would consider coming back. Only downside is that it cost £7.00 for two lemonades but apart from that was lovely

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your review of West Lodge Park Hotel.

I am glad you had a good stay with us,

We don't have a spa area as planning permission is almost impossible to get in this green belt area.

However the upside of green belt is that we are surrounded by 35 acres of beautiful grounds and the views which the diarist John Evelyn wrote about on his visit in 1679 are as true now as then :

"...that which I most wondered at was that in all the Chase, within 14 miles of London, there is never a house, barne, church or building."

Do come again it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to West Lodge Park.

Regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Grounds and Gardens are genuinely stunning, we really did have a wonderful time. We could not fault the food in anyway, we had lunch, dinner and breakfast the next morning.
The staff are very attentive, friendly and we will be booking to come again.
My only criticism would be our room: Room 24. The view was non existent, we overlooked a flat roof with a couple of cigarette ends. There is no air conditioning so the room was very hot and we also found the bed extremely small. The bathroom could do with some modernisation.
Didn't really want to comment on the room as we still had a wonderful time. When we book next time we will ask for a different room if we were drawn in 24 again.

Room Tip: Room 24 does not have a view or air con.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KrisP5282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your review of West Lodge Park.

I am glad you enjoyed the grounds and your meals in the Mary Beale Restaurant.

For future reference for you, and for all our Tripadvisor readers, we have on our website what we believe to be the most comprehensive gallery of photos of each and every bedroom at the hotel, including at least one photo of the view out of the window of every room.

This way you can choose your room in advance and we will do our best to reserve it for you.

Room 24 has recently had three new chairs added, as well as a new Freeview 32" LCD TV with dozens and dozens of channels, and a new luxury Hypnos pocket sprung Queen sized 5' double bed.

The room is one of our classic double rooms without aircon but with a fan provided.

Our luxury rooms in Chestnut Lodge, available for a small supplement, all have aircon as well as access to a sauna and outside jacuzzi.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

What a bautiful hotel. The grounds and gardens are worth a visit by themseves. The hotel itself is stunning, with beautiful, clean rooms and staff that could't do enogh to help.
I advise manyone to have a stay in this amazing hotel.
Chris and Linda

Room Tip: Any room is perfect
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaA1998CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park Hotel.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and were able to take advantage of settled weather for a walk around the lovely Beale Arboretum. We are the only hotel in the UK with an arboretum, ours extends for some 35 acres, and includes over 800 species of trees and two national collections.

Do come again soon, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had our wedding on the 19th June at West Lodge Park and I have to say there is nothing I can fault about this hotel. The venue was absolutely fantastic, the grounds are beautiful, the staff are efficient, friendly and they couldn't do enough for us. They were all so helpful. Thank you so much to all the staff who helped make our day perfect. We had a buffet for the main course and the food was absolutely gorgeous, I am sorry I didn't go back for seconds! We had a lot of friends and family arrive the day before and a few of us stayed the night after the wedding and again it was fantastic. It felt like home away from home. We were sorry to leave on the Saturday. The breakfast was gorgeous and very generous helpings. This place is a hidden gem. We live only 10 minutes away but it felt like we were miles away in the countryside, as another review said you really don't feel like you are in London. My husband and I will definitely be going back to visit. It is such a peaceful and relaxing place and we can't wait to come back. A perfect wedding venue, we wouldn't change anything about our wedding day at West Lodge Park. Regards Steve & Maria Bishop

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munzbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Congratulations on your recent wedding !

What a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your wedding went at West Lodge Park.

I am so delighted that we got all aspects right for this most important day for you both.

And not only right for you two but also for your guests and family, which is just as important.

West Lodge Park is an utterly gorgeous place for a smaller wedding, with 35 acres of amazing locations for wedding photos along with lovely banqueting rooms and bedrooms.

Do come back for your first anniversary, if not sooner, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The location is good with a 5 minute drive to the M25 and a brisk 20 minute stroll to Cockfosters Tube. The grounds are lovely and my welcome was very warm and friendly.
The rooms are spacious and the bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast was very good with freshly cooked eggs available and a good selection of other foods.
Three minus points:
The shower was terrible and went from boiling hot to freezing cold and the power was also poor and speaking to my other 6 colleagues this was the same in their rooms too. A nice shower is essential if I am staying in a hotel so this was very disappointing.
The checkout in the morning was terrible and I waited nearly 15 minutes whilst the gentlemen receptionist struggled with payment machines etc. Again 5 minutes is ok but when you are staying away on business and generally in a hurry this is not acceptable.
Last point is the price of drinks which was very high even for outer London and basically meant that none of us drank in the bar in either of the two nights we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your review of West Lodge Park.

I am glad that you enjoyed the location and surroundings, the welcome, and the bedroom and breakfast.

I am sorry that you had shower problems and would be glad if you could email me with your room number so that we can fix this - re recently spent tens of thousands of pounds upgrading our hot water system, so it sounds like something isn't quite working correctly.

Sorry too that we had problems on checkout - our two PDQ machines went into slow mode through no fault of our own (I think it was problems with the lines at Barnet exchange). This has now been sorted by BT and we are back to normal speedy checkout.

Our drinks prices are currently under review with the launch of a new wine list on the 28th July, and a new bar tariff soon after, with lots of lines being better value than before.

Do come again to West Lodge Park !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was my second stay at this wonderful hotel and I can't wait to go back. We upgraded to a luxury room which had the most beautiful view over the amazing gardens. The food was fantastic at both dinner and breakfast and all the staff were helpful and friendly. My only problem was I wanted to stay longer!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elwatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your very kind review of West Lodge Park.

I am so glad you had such a good stay, and are hoping to come back soon.

The views are amazing out of nearly all the rooms, but if any of our Tripadvisor guests want, you can see our bedroom gallery on the Beales Hotels website that features not only multiple photos of each room, but just as importantly, the view from each room.

That way, you can pick your room, and then contact our reception team to book it !

Do come again soon, its not too far from Watford !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnet
1.9 mi away
Royal Chace Hotel
Royal Chace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enfield
610 reviews
7.4 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
660 reviews
4.5 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
12.0 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Park Hotel

Address: West Lodge Park Cockfosters Road, Barnet EN4 0PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Barnet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Price Range: £97 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Lodge Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Park Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel set in 35 acres of grounds on the edge of North London. It has been owned and run by three generations of the Beale family since 1945 and now has 59 bedrooms, the Mary Beale Restaurant and Terrace Bar, 8 stunning banqueting rooms, and plentiful free parking. The hotel is located just a mile from Cockfosters Tube station where there is a large car park and frequent trains on the Piccadilly Line to all the sights of central London. Around the hotel is the magnificent Beale Arboretum, with over 800 species of trees from around the world, 2 national collections of hornbeams and swamp cypresses, and plentiful hard paths and interpretive signage. The hotel is also home to the Edward Beale collection of Old master paintings, most of which have been painted by the ancestor of the family, Mary Beale, who was Britain's first professional woman artist, painting at the time of Charles II. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to this beautiful hotel. Andrew BealeManaging DirectorBeales Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your West Lodge Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Park
West Lodge Park Hotel Barnet, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing