We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Lodge Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Spent two nights here. We got one of the newly refurnished rooms and it was beautiful. My mum and Dad got a room that was in need of a little TLC. Our room was 21 my mum was 26. The breakfast was lovely. We found the staff very polite and friendly. The grounds of this hotel are outstanding. I have to say I would return but I would make sure I get a newly refurnished room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aisling F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for your review of West Lodge Park,

I am pleased you enjoyed your executive room 21 which has just been opened a couple of weeks with the highest of standards, including air conditioning, new bathroom, new bedroom, indeed new everything.

The job took us over 3 months but the end result is worth it.

Since your parents stayed in their classic room 26 we have just added three new chairs to this room.

We feature plentiful photos of every room at the hotel on our gallery on the website, as well as photos of the views from each room.

This way you are welcome to choose the room that suits you best, and within reason, we will do our best to accommodate you in the room of your choice.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

Admittedly we were on a Groupon Deal and very good value but......ordered Salmon en Croute for evening meal and a plain salmon filler was served up with no explanation whatsoever. Then ordered chicken which came out tepid! Really couldn't be bothered complaining yet again so was very disappoinbted with the meal.
We returned as we had enjoyed it last time,so much so,we encouraged friends to accompany us this visit. Not sure they were too impressed with the meal situation either.
Also,breakfast the next morning,there were just plain croissants in a basket. When we asked if there were any different croissants a huge baskedt full of them appeared. Staff were very obliging but you shouldn't have to ask in the first place.
All this said,I would like to thank the barman name of Jonathan who went out of his way to serve us and all with a great big smile,he seemed to really be enjoying his job,a pleasure to see.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HolidayaholicEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for your review of West Lodge Park,

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay,

You were on a Groupon deal which is an extraordinary £99 for two people with a three course dinner, bed and breakfast.

However there is no excuse for the wrong food, although I would always encourage our guests to say something at the time in order to give our staff the opportunity to put it right.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I have often visited West Lodge Park hotel and recently attended a celebration of the life of a friend , really a party after a funeral. Andrew Beale the CEO of this superb hotel himself served the guests and the charm of the staff and Andrew shone through in a discrete support and appropriate understanding of this special occasion.
It could not have been more memorable and exact and I wish to say thank you for your welcome and hospitality.
I have subsequently visited the Arboretum to photograph a Vogue model as the gardens and unique setting are so splendid. Alan O'Duffy

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Alan,

It was a pleasure to meet you again recently at West Lodge Park, albeit in sad circumstances with the funeral reception you were attending.

I do get roped in to help with functions at the hotel, primarily midweek as many of our excellent banqueting staff are at university or school then.

I am so glad you used the hotel grounds for your photo shoot - come whenever you like, there is no charge of course, just let reception know when you arrive.

Warmest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Having had an enjoyable evening here a few months ago, we decided to return for a special birthday. Found an offer on Groupon which included dinner, bed and breakfast for £99 which I thought was good value. There was confusion when we made the booking as we were originally told the dinner menu was the Naturally one and not the Summer one.

The quiet room we requested was actually above the restaurant and overlooking the bar terrace area so we had to endure loud conversations. Luckily for us the weather turned, otherwise it could have been a lot worse. Surely there are other rooms available on a quiet Sunday evening, especially when we specifically asked for a quiet one? The neatly placed card informing us that our room was cleaned and by who sat proudly on the dresser. But there was obvious dust everywhere.

This time, the excellent barman who went out of his way to accommodate us was not there. We were unsure of whether table service was provided (as before), or if we had to order at the bar. So after waiting for around 10 minutes, I went to the bar and was told by the bar girl that she "was on her own tonight". So no table service and another lengthy wait as she single handedly prepared drinks for the restaurant clientele as well as the people waiting at the bar.
Fine, if this was a Wetherspoon pub, but not when you are paying top dollar for drinks. And quite frankly, £3.50 for a small bottle of tonic water is ridiculous.

The meal overall was good, though an item we were looking forward to was no longer available, and our desserts were messed up. My large wine was not a proper measure so it could have been the end of the bottle. I understand about mentioning at the time, but how do you ask for the glass to be topped up by a centimetre in a restaurant without sounding petty?

Breakfast was good. Though could have been excellent if it was cooked to order. The ingredients are obviously top-notch, but they were all lukewarm except for the fried eggs which I think are made on request.

When we checked out, the bill was incorrect. I have noticed that many people have complained about this which is why I double-checked. I feel this is unacceptable as many people would just pay without questioning. Either make sure your systems are working correctly, or provide the correct training if manual intervention is needed.

Finally, the doorman was excellent when we left. It was raining heavily and he kindly escorted us to our car with an umbrella. Nice touch!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank EafGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for your review of West Lodge Park,

I am pleased you thought breakfast was good, and that the doorman helped you to the car in the rain.

Sorry we didn't get every detail right for you, although your Groupon deal was a fantastic £99 for two with three course dinner, bed and full English breakfast - far less than you would pay in a Premier Inn.

However your points are noted and have been shared with all the team.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I took advantage of the special rate summer deal at £109 which included a three course evening meal, classic double room and full english breakfast to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary. We chose this hotel partly because it looked really nice but it was also convenient for commuting into central London as we planned to do some sightseeing and see a show. We couldn't fault the hotel, the staff or the food - it was just perfect. We even had the extra pleasure of listening to a pianist whilst enjoying our meal who, on request, played a couple of our favourite tunes. After spending time in central London it was a welcome retreat at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Angelajames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Coming as you do from Northampton, the hotel is pretty much perfectly located for trips into London, which you took full advantage of.

For the benefit of our TripAdvisor readers, West Lodge Park is situated just a mile from Cockfosters Tube Station where there is a huge car park. The parking charges are £5.20 per day midweek, £2 per day Saturdays and bank holidays, and £1.50 Sundays.

Then you can buy a Travelcard for £8.90 which gives you unlimited public transport all round London (or free of course if you have a pass).

For those without a car, a cab to and from the Tube station is just £5 each way.

Do come again next time you are down this way !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

my wife & i stayed at west lodge which we do quite often.our family joined us for dinner that evening. as usual the staff where pro & friendly,the rooms/ facilities great,food varied & tasty, in general another relaxing & enjoyable weekend.

barrie & wendy jacks

Room Tip: all seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank barriejacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, Owner at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for your kind review of West Lodge Park,

I am so glad you enjoyed your dinner at the hotel - how lovely to have all the family over too !

We are open for breakfast, morning coffee, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner seven days a week, and never close.

Next time you are down from Holland-on-Sea, do pay us another visit !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just returned this morning after staying on a Groupon, Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal. The Hotel, rooms and grounds are nice, but bar drinks extortionate - £12.50 for vodka, coke and a pint of Carlsberg! The waiters were cutting bread without a cloth on to hold it whilst cutting, just using bare hands, unhygienic! At breakfast, a customer spoke to the breakfast supervisor about whether there was something to hold the bread with to cut it and she said, don't worry about it, we just cut it as is, so not good that loads of people are having to touch the bread with bare hands that other people have to eat! Our table for dinner was booked for 8pm, we turn up at 7.50pm and told to sit at the bar, even though there were loads of empty tables for two that were ready to sit at, we were not asked if we were ready to sit down to eat, even though we were only 10 minutes early and we sat till 8.10pm at the bar and had to go and find someone so we could go and sit down. The evening meal was not great, very average and there shouldn't be supplements on certain dishes, should just be the one price, end of! Breakfast was again average, should be served fresh to order with table service, not having the food sat there for however long, considering the cost for a full English breakfast is £16! The guy serving, instead of taking the plate from you, was serving poached eggs across the other food to put it on your plate, hence water dripping into the other food that was there and he needs more etiquette in placing food onto the plate, like not throwing baked beans onto the mushrooms! Upon checking out, the receptionist said we had some extras, which were supplements from our dinner the night before, we said we had no supplements and she said ok then, fine - seems to be happening quite a lot with customers trying to be charged extra for things they haven't had - needs to be more accuracy taken from staff, as they know exactly what they served us for dinner, yet we were trying to be charged extra, not good! This is our first experience of staying at the hotel and in all honesty has put us off returning - definately needs improvements made and bring down your prices of bar drinks!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Kay480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B, General Manager at West Lodge Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I think you have some valid points, however I don’t agree with others.

Firstly, you suggest the staff are knowingly adding supplements to people’s bills – you are wrong with this and I refute your comments. Our staff are honest, and if you had extras on your bill that you didn’t have this was a genuine mistake.

I believe that with a menu priced at £16.00 per main course, which is very good value, it is perfectly reasonable to have a supplement for quality ingredients like fillet steak or scallops.

The drinks prices are in some instances too high, this is being addressed as we have done a full price review and the majority of prices will be coming down in September.

Our policy always has been to have the bread covered whilst it is being cut, I am not sure why this didn’t happen and have addressed this.

Chris Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnet
1.9 mi away
Royal Chace Hotel
Royal Chace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enfield
632 reviews
7.4 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
667 reviews
4.5 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Travelodge London Whetstone
Travelodge London Whetstone
#500 of 1,077 in London
406 reviews
6.1 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
3.1 mi away
Holtwhites Hotel
Holtwhites Hotel
#4 of 5 in Enfield
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Park Hotel

Address: West Lodge Park Cockfosters Road, Barnet EN4 0PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Barnet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnet
Price Range: £89 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Lodge Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Park Hotel is a beautiful country house hotel set in 35 acres of grounds on the edge of North London. It has been owned and run by three generations of the Beale family since 1945 and now has 59 bedrooms, the Mary Beale Restaurant and Terrace Bar, 8 stunning banqueting rooms, and plentiful free parking. The hotel is located just a mile from Cockfosters Tube station where there is a large car park and frequent trains on the Piccadilly Line to all the sights of central London. Around the hotel is the magnificent Beale Arboretum, with over 800 species of trees from around the world, 2 national collections of hornbeams and swamp cypresses, and plentiful hard paths and interpretive signage. The hotel is also home to the Edward Beale collection of Old master paintings, most of which have been painted by the ancestor of the family, Mary Beale, who was Britain's first professional woman artist, painting at the time of Charles II. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to this beautiful hotel. Andrew BealeManaging DirectorBeales Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Lodge Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Park
West Lodge Park Hotel Barnet, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing