We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Atmosphere”

The King's Arms Harvester
Ranked #91 of 123 Restaurants in Barnet
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: At The King's Arms Harvester in Barnet food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Relaxed Atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My family and I have dined at this restaurant twice now, whilst travelling to the Borehamwood area, once in July and again last week 30th August.

The restaurant itself is easy to find, and has ample car parking.

Inside it is very big and spacious, and has a lovely warm friendly
atmosphere, this comes from the staff who are very friendly, but also very professional at the same time.

The Salad Cart was well looked after, very clean and regularly being replenished.

Main meals were very generous portion sizes and piping hot.

I have noted several comments from previous reviewers regarding the toilets smelling, in my honest opinion on both my visits
they were infact very clean and presentable, but a slight smell of urine was noticeable, nothing that some bleach or
toilet cleaner used regularly would not rectify.

Already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thelma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The King's Arms Harvester, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Kings Arms Harvester. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    42
    36
    41
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disaster”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Went for a family meal and the waiter was rude and then proceeded to pour four glasses of drink over my elderly nan who was expected to sit there the whole meal soaking wet, we was then expected l sit at a wet table as nobody came to clear it up. Absolutely disgusting

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank An D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The King's Arms Harvester, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to The Kings Arms. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“good value for money”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

this was a family lunch comprising five adults and a nearly one year old baby. we booked and the reservation was there when we arrived and got to our table straight away. we were served by an excellent waitress who looked after us very well throughout our meal. she was very helpfukl even to the degree of warming up the baby's food which we had brought with us. we all had main courses with salad. the salad bar was just right with an excellent choice of dressings. I had the full rack of ribs which had been cooked just right with a baked potato and corn on the cob. all was tasty and the price paid gave excellent value for the money. It is a fairly noisy restaurant so therefore is very family friendly. I would not hesitate to eat there again and will recommend others to as well

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The King's Arms Harvester, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Many thanks for leaving your comments about your recent visit to our restaurant. We are delighted to hear that your visit was an enjoyable one.
Kind regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Cheap nasty frozen rubbish”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

So...........you arrive knowing you've pre-booked a table for a large family......only to find that they have somehow forgotten about your booking and so you need to wait just one hour for another to be free. OK minor set back.........onwards and upwards - the food. Well it was so busy we had a hard time even ordering any! still we ordered all was going sorta well until they brought us someone elses food, twice! It also took them half an hou to get me a coke! HALF AN HOUR! They needed reminding I was so fed up I almost went and got it myself. They had a habbit of forgotting parts of our order, not bringing sources and dips and even cutlery. I can't recommend this restaurant I'm so sorry at least not at peak times anyway. The food wasn't even all that, under cooked, over cooked, you name it. Avoid!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The King's Arms Harvester, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to a Harvester Restaurant and we will reply to you personally about this.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap and nasty”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The menu seems to be steak, burgers and spit roast chickens all with chips. Steaks are a bit pricey for what is a low class place. Other items though are cheap and I guess people go for these.

Buffet salad bar but it looks a bit rancid, to be honest. Terrible service. Takes an hour and a half from time you enter the place to food on your table. I think its a mix of not enough staff and waitresses forgetting your order.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanC505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The King's Arms Harvester, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback following your recent disappointing meal at our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The King's Arms Harvester also viewed

Borehamwood, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The King's Arms Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing