We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee and food”
Review of Harris & Hoole Barnet - CLOSED

Harris & Hoole Barnet
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great coffee and food”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had a good lunch here today after a pleasant walk around the area. The food was excellent, and brought to our table promptly; my coffee took rather longer to arrive, but was very good when it did. The staff were all friendly and helpful, but the café itself was quite crowded. It seemed to be the place to meet for local mums - it was full of babies and toddlers. It seemed to be people who had been there for some time, so I suspect that arriving a little later for lunch might have been better (after 12.30, perhaps).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Filthy & noisy”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

If you like the sound of staff shrilling and screeching out names of customers at the top of their voices every two minutes then this place might be for you.

It also seems dogs are allowed into the coffee shop - 3 different ones trotted in with customers in the time it took us to finish our drinks. I don't mind dogs, but thought it was a bit off when the male barista gave one golden retriever a really good stroke but failed to wash his hands when he went back behind the counter to prepare and serve food!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_Neil_Dexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We went for coffee today and chose to sit near the window at a small table with upholstered chairs. However, we soon realised that the table, upholsterd chairs and the floor were filthy and one of the seats also had a badly torn cover. In addition, the queue moved forward incredibly slowly and when we finally got our coffee it tasted odd. We frequently visit coffee shops and know our coffee, but this was just not right.

The shop looks attractive from the street and the interior is reasonably appealing in design but the standard of service is disappointing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorisUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesswhite27
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great coffee & very child friendly.”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

It is a bit of a mum magnet but H+H is really convinient place to meet & really easy if you have a little monster in tow. Drinks & snacks are good & prices fair. Staff can really vary from the great to the not so great, pot luck really

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jesswhite27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“asking for help”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I went to Harris and Hoole in High Barnet around midday today and at some stage needed some help, I was offered the best customer service ever by Susan Toelkemeler. I asked her where she got her good customer service training from she explained that it was her first day in this coffee shop. She could teach a thing or two to her colleagues and I would not be surprised if she was managing one of the branches soon. Well done Susan and good luck in your new job.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jaccede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harris & Hoole Barnet also viewed

Barnet, Greater London
Barnet, Greater London
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing