We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much better than Costa, though food choices better”
Review of Harris & Hoole Barnet - CLOSED

Harris & Hoole Barnet
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
642 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Not much better than Costa, though food choices better”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The coffee here was disappointing, no different than Costa which is quite average. I was expecting an upmarket coffee house. The staff are helpful and friendly, but not very organised (eg leftover plates, cups, etc all over empty tables). The food choices here are good for snacks or a small lunch, maybe something sweet. The food is fresh.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbieMegaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never going there again”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I went with a friend last sat afternoon, it was packed waited to order coffee and earl grey tea, paid for it and waited for our drinks, good 10 minutes and still our order was in the queue,so we decided to find a table and wait, eventually found a small table was so crammed in with other people hardly able to pull chair out to sit down, eventually managed to sit,table was filthy not cleared from previous customers,still waiting for our drinks now nearly 20 mins, twice had to ask where our drinks were and was told by a very abrupt staff our order is in a queue and our order is next......it was only coffee and earl grey tea I said not ordered cooked food surly that doesn't take long again was told have to wait as in the queue on their system, how rediculious was that, I was almost ready to ask for a refund and go to costa. Finally got the drinks asked for napkins was told ran out,spoons didn't have any so ended up using my hand to take sugar from the jar on the table but couldn't stir my tea, how disgusting for a coffee shop.My tea was very weak, coffee was very strong and warm,the most annoying unbelievable thing was dogs were allowed in the coffee shop,there were 3 in there it was very annoying as uncomfortable to sit where dogs were barking, I thought food places were not allowed to have dogs, never ever seen one in any coffee shops for food and hygiene purposes so why were dogs allowed in this coffee shop.....there were lots of yummy mummies with babies and toddlers surly to be surrounded by 3 dogs is not safe in a closed environment.I will never go there but would like to find out why were they allowed to have dogs in a place serving food and would be interested in why Barnet council gave permission? .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great coffee and food”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had a good lunch here today after a pleasant walk around the area. The food was excellent, and brought to our table promptly; my coffee took rather longer to arrive, but was very good when it did. The staff were all friendly and helpful, but the café itself was quite crowded. It seemed to be the place to meet for local mums - it was full of babies and toddlers. It seemed to be people who had been there for some time, so I suspect that arriving a little later for lunch might have been better (after 12.30, perhaps).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Filthy & noisy”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

If you like the sound of staff shrilling and screeching out names of customers at the top of their voices every two minutes then this place might be for you.

It also seems dogs are allowed into the coffee shop - 3 different ones trotted in with customers in the time it took us to finish our drinks. I don't mind dogs, but thought it was a bit off when the male barista gave one golden retriever a really good stroke but failed to wash his hands when he went back behind the counter to prepare and serve food!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_Neil_Dexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We went for coffee today and chose to sit near the window at a small table with upholstered chairs. However, we soon realised that the table, upholsterd chairs and the floor were filthy and one of the seats also had a badly torn cover. In addition, the queue moved forward incredibly slowly and when we finally got our coffee it tasted odd. We frequently visit coffee shops and know our coffee, but this was just not right.

The shop looks attractive from the street and the interior is reasonably appealing in design but the standard of service is disappointing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorisUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harris & Hoole Barnet also viewed

Barnet, Greater London
Barnet, Greater London
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing