We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal ”
Review of SOKO

SOKO
Ranked #29 of 123 Restaurants in Barnet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely meal ”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Went with a friend on Sunday night. Perfectly happy with everything. Staff are happy, super smiley and attentive. We had 3 starters. Lamb and steak with 2 sides for main. Absolutely lovely. Fabulous bottle of wine and came to £37 per head. Very happy with both the service and lovely food. Will be back soon. Food is delicious!

Helpful?
Thank EmmajL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    4
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a shame!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have had two wonderful meals at Shoku in the past and I was so looking forward to our visit last Saturday 1st February. We ordered dishes that we had had in the past: Grilled asparagus, grilled prawns, pea and asparagus rice and tried sea bass for the first time. The dishes that arrived bore no resemblance to what we had eaten on our previous two visits. The asparagus starter was OK - the asparagus was steamed rather than grilled and covered with a thick sauce which wasn't as nice as previously, but edible. Shoku seem to have one melange of vegetables that are served with the main courses (broccoli, peas, asparagus, and red peppers) which was served with the sea bass and the prawns. Lazy cooking and the red peppers weren't shown on the menu (I can't eat red peppers). The prawns were no better than those from a mediocre Chinese takeawayand the asparagus and pea rice was unrecognisable from our previous visits. What has happened to this place?

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Triona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Adequate food, poor service”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We booked a table for 8.00 pm on a Saturday. We arrived at exactly 8.00 to find the restaurant completely full. The waitress told us that we would be seated upstairs "which was much nicer".

The room upstairs was cold - in fact there was a noisy fan heater blowing into the room from the doorway. The seats were very uncomfortable - basically wooden benches with no cushions and no backrests. We should have just left at this point and gone somewhere else. During our meal only one other couple were seated upstairs, so the room was totally devoid of atmosphere.

The food was adequate, and slightly expensive for the quality. Whilst the waitress who served us was friendly and polite the service overall was poor as we seemed to be forgotten about and waited an unacceptably long time between courses.

We will not be visiting again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeithB887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“unique combination of tastes”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Accidentally stumbled upon this elegantly modern restaurant. It smelt very Asian, very aromatic, the warmth added to its cosy and personal atmosphere. The food gave my taste buds a new perspective to japanese food. The customer service very kind, quick, and to the minimum as required.

We had caramel green tea, and 4 starters. Tempura prawn, Asian garlic mushrooms, a tofu dish and chilli asparagus. All exquisite. This came to around £30. Absolutely worth it.

Apologies but the food is half eaten in the photos.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A real find”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Went In Here on a whim with a friend and was not disappointed. Delicious food and good service. I will be back, almost wish I could go here every day, the best local I have been to in a long time!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JacquiG383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SOKO also viewed

Barnet, Greater London
Barnet, Greater London
 
London, England
Barnet, Greater London
 
Barnet, Greater London
 

Been to SOKO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing