We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unnecessarily worried by negative reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Duke Of York

The Duke Of York
Ranked #48 of 119 Restaurants in Barnet
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unnecessarily worried by negative reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Some of the reviews had me a bit worried, but it was my friend who had chosen the place so I went along. As it turns out, I needn't have worried at all. The place is very family friendly, the staff were very nice, helpful and accommodating in every way they could. The food was a bit pricey, but then it was really quite good quality pub food. I would certainly go again.
Oh, and the beers were very good indeed.

Helpful?
Thank bobanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    17
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice food very pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch today with a friend. Our drinks took 25 minutes after ordering to arrive after we complained. When they arrived the waiter was apologetic and said they were on the house. I had the only pie on the menu that was lovely and filling. My friend had the fried battered haddock that was nice but portion a bit small for the price. £13. 95. The garden is superb with lots of evergreens surrounding it and this really is lovely for summer and winter. The inside is lovely with various different parts of the pub to choose from.... So this is exactly what were paid for. A pie with mash and cabbage, a fried haddock with chips and one sticky toffee pudding. £34.00 drinks were free. Expensive for a pub lunch in Potters Bar. But having said that i love the whole surroundings and large parking and grandness that I excuse the price but lots wouldn't. Service needs improving and they need some kind of uniform as they were all casually dressed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katerina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, even better service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Went their for a birthday and had a lovely relaxed night. The service was friendly and helpful. Had the scallops to start which where superb and a good size, followed by the Cajun chicken salad which was full of flavour and spice. The pub was busy but food arrived with no delays, a great evening all round.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KelleyM772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very poor experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked a table for 9 of us for a Saturday evening. However when we rang on Saturday lunchtime to request two bottles of champagne to be put on the table, we were informed that there
Was no booking in our name!
Eventually they overcame this problem and gave us our own private s pace - which was great!
However the service was appalling. We ended up waiting two hours for our main course.
We waited over an hour for starters!
What a shame this lovely venue let itself down.
It was an expensive evening for our family and we would never go there again.
None of the food was particularly good or tasty and the service was just BAD.
What more can I say !!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mojon68077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a shambles!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Went for lunch with a group of friends, the table had been prebooked..it was over an hour before our food arrived, even then we were one meal short. Chaos and confusion reigned over the bill until the very good manager intervened and did his best to make amends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duke Of York also viewed

Barnet, Greater London
Barnet, Greater London
 
Barnet, Greater London
Barnet, Greater London
 

Been to The Duke Of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing