We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“SUPERB PROPERTY AND LOCATION”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Salty

Inside the main room, looking toward Mousehole
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Inside the main room, looking toward Mousehole
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Inside the main room, looking toward Mousehole
Shower room with underfloor heating, electric shower and heated towel rail
The seating cushion when made up in to a single bed
The Victoria Inn, an award-winning pub.
The local beach at Perranuthnoe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Perranuthnoe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suziebabe...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SUPERB PROPERTY AND LOCATION”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a superb stay at Salty we had a week of glorious sunshine, yes we were lucky. The view is beautiful, and the location is good. Quality crockery furniture and linen. I would recommend absolutely. My only negative for me personally was the bed could feel every spring, but we are used to memory foam . The front decking gets wall to wall sunshine and sea breeze absolutely perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and property
Liked least: The bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Hi, thanks for the review. Glad you had a great stay and good weather. As for the bed that's what you get when you only spend £600 on the mattress!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scorpio21...
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely property, amazing location”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Wow! what a view. We have stayed in a lot of holiday lets in Cornwall, but this has to be by far the best location. Amazing views across the bay to St. Michael's Mount, peaceful yet only a short walk to the beach and local cafes and pub.
The Salty is very well equipped, and is ideal for couples, very comfortable with the log burner if nights get a little chilly
Booking is very easy, and the owners left us some lovely welcome treats!
Certainly one we will be returning to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location and View
Liked least: Underfloor heating thermostat set a bit low?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea-shell...
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Me, my boyfriend and our dog Max stayed at The Salty for a week in early October and I can honestly say it is the best holiday we have ever had. The Salty is the ideal base for exploring the entire area. The Salty has the most spectacular views of St Michaels Mount and the sea, you can see Marazion, Penzance, Newlyn and Mousehole all from the decking out the front (at night it is just as beautiful). The Salty is the perfect balance of comfort and convenience not to mention stylish! It has everything you could possibly need and more! It's so nice you really don't need to go out of an evening!! We enjoyed 2 BBQ's during our stay and a Chinese takeaway from Dynasty's round the corner and ate it in front of the fire pit.

We explored all of Cornwall, The Salty is so well located it's all just a short drive away. For convenience there is a Tesco & Morrison's less than 10 mins drive away near Penzance but even closer is a farm shop which has a fantastic selection of produce and larder items.

The bed is comfy and cozy, the shower is awesome and the lounge/dining area is beautiful. The entire place is immaculately clean and well finished. I also fell in love with the kitchen and it's easy to use facilities.

Colin and Jane have thought of everything at The Salty and it is clear to see there is a lot of thought and heart that has gone into this place, if you're thinking of booking I promise - you will not be disappointed!

We will certainly be going back soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the location and the The Salty itself is Five Star!!
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gosborne9...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic long weekend”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A 65th birthday treat for my partner. The weather was fantastic and The Salty was a wonderful place to stay. The views were amazing with the sun shining on the water around St Michael's Mount. We walked with the dogs, we ate fantastic food at the Victoria Inn in Perranuthanoe and Godolphin Arms at Marazion, and ice-creams at Newlyn and relaxed .....
The bed was so comfortable, the cream tea on arrival and Prosecco most welcome and the attention to detail at The Salty was great especially the wood burner fire making everything so cosy when the evenings got cooler Thank you Janie and Colin for a lovely weekend - we can't wait to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mix of old and new, the fantastic views and the location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxineday...
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday, perfect location”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at The Salty for a week and it was perfect. The weather did help as it was wonderful but it just added to the fantastic views from the panoramic windows. Beautiful restoration of the barn and perfect location for visiting the South coast from one end to the other.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoPochett...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
6
people found this review helpful

The Salty is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the great Cornish outdoors.

The view is simply amazing - right on the cliff top over looking the beach and sea. Mount St.Michelle is just on your right and the beach is a short walk away - you can easily hear the waves rolling calmly at night.

The photos really do not do justice to this place.There is private parking right outside the front door which makes easy unloading luggages or any gear you may have with you (bikes, surf boards etc.).The back entrance is perfect to keep the place clean when coming back from a hike (with a nice little alcove for coats and muddy boots). The living area / kitchenette is very well kept and tidy not to mention that is extremely cosy. The massive glass window/wall allows the area to be stunningly lighten and the guest to enjoy the view. Double(maybe triple) glazing, a modern heating system and a fireplace make sure the space is kept comfortably warm.
The place is brand new and this is well reflected in the bathroom - which features a powerful shower and spotless sink/toilet. A big bedroom and a lovely garden with patio and outdoor fire pit complete the space.

Although already a wonderful accommodation what really makes this place stands out is the attention to details that the owners have put into it. There is a warmth to this little house that really makes you feel looked after.

The locally sourced food that welcomed us on arrival, the toiletries, the fluffy white towels, the maps and books of the local area stashed in a trunk in the leaving room and the original art pieces scattered around the house really adds up making this place a wonderful little oasis of peace.

The area is full of interesting things to do and see - in case of any doubt just ask Colin's wife and she will be happy to provide you with plenty of wonderful suggestions.

We personally recommend to go for a nice hike up to St.Ives, have a least one meal at the Peppercorn cafe' and visit the St. Ives Tate modern. We also had dinner in a fantastic seafood restaurant full of character a little drive away - We highly advise it!
Here is a link to their page:
http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g186235-d1734677-Reviews-The_Wheel_House-Falmouth_Cornwall_England.html

All in all we had a wonderful time and we will be definitely coming back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to details
Liked least: Absence of wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing