We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B we have ever stayed in...amazing.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auchencairn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balcary Mews Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Auchencairn B&B and Inns
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best B&B we have ever stayed in...amazing.”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We found Balcary Mews on the internet and were impressed with the reviews so thought we'd give it a go...so very pleased we did as it turned out to be the most amazing B&B we had ever stayed in!

We were welcomed by the owner Pam who is the perfect person to be running an establishment like this she is warm and friendly and you are made to feel at home immediately. We were asked if we would like drinks and our tea/coffee was served in the fantastic garden room that has the most amazing views. The tray with our drinks arrived with a slice of lemon cake each,which started our stay off just perfectly.

We stayed in the Heston room which was a good size whilst also being very cosy. The en-suite was a good size and clean with lots of fresh towels, there was even a bottle of shower gel provided in the shower. Both the bedroom and the en-suite had windows and the views were breathtaking. We arrived in heavy rain and were impressed with the scenery then, on waking the following day the sun was out and the view was even better...it truly is the most tranquil and calm place that just makes you feel relaxed and happy.

Pam served an excellent breakfast that filled you up ready to explore this beautiful area. I am vegetarian and Pam included vegetarian sausages within the breakfast which is ceratinly not something that happens in all establishments. There is an information floder within the room that gives you ideas for restaurants and ideas of places to go and there is also free wi-fi!

Everything about this B&B is excellent and we will be returnning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
542 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Everything about our stay at Pamela's home was wonderful. She met us with tea, coffee and home made scones, which we ate in the lounge with an excellent view of the bay in front of us. The rooms were large and beautiful and had everything you could have wished for. Books, maps, glasses, telescope in the lounge, everything you could think of was there. We only wish we could have organised the weather better as we would have liked to sit in the lovely garden overlooking the firth. Breakfast was also very good, with all tastes covered for.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed with Pamela 6th to 13th July 2012. In a word the whole experience was wonderful. Couldn't believe the views, then were guided through a spotless house, no not a house a home that \pamela opened to a lucky few guests. We were looked after with lots of care and attention, happiness and laughter and were fed as if we were starving. If we can manage to get a booking we will look forward to visiting Balcary Mews again.

Room Tip: All three rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed for two nights in December in the Heston room. The house was beautiful, especially the garden room, what a view! The views are amazing. We were made to feel extremely welcome. Hoping to come back in the summer 2012 :-)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh19699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Myself and my husband stayed here i7th and 8th August, and found the B&B to be spotless. The Service at breakfast couldn't have been better and the views stunning. We had great advice to fill our days from Pamela the host and enjoyed our time at Balcary Mews. We will definitely be returning with the children at a later date.

Room Tip: They are all good room, as Sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2011

we stopped at the balcary mews august bank holiday weekend.and couldnt believe how a b&b could be so good everything from the views to the spotless rooms and very tasty breakfast.and the host pamela was a very cheerful person indeed i cant say enough about our stay but we will definately go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poolie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My husband and I booked two nights at Balcary Mews for our wedding anniversary and are so glad we did. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed, with thick fluffy towels in the ensuite bathroom. Delicious breakfasts with little extra touches such as English muffins on offer, and a wonderful quiet location with stunning views across the bay. Pamela the landlady is very friendly and helpful. Thank you, we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ask_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchencairn
4.0 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Farhills Farm Bed & Breakfast
Farhills Farm Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Auchencairn
22 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bluehill Farm
Bluehill Farm
#4 of 4 in Auchencairn
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rosemount Guest House
Rosemount Guest House
#1 of 4 in Kippford
132 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Balcary Mews Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcary Mews Bed & Breakfast

Property: Balcary Mews Bed & Breakfast
Address: Balcary Mews Shore Road | Balcary Bay, Auchencairn DG7 1QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Auchencairn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Auchencairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Balcary Mews Bed & Breakfast Auchencairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing