We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balcary Bay Hotel is superb”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Auchencairn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balcary Bay Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auchencairn
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Balcary Bay Hotel is superb”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Traveller from Loughborough, GB




Date of stay


14th November 2013




Location


5 - Excellent




Cleanliness


5 - Excellent




Facilities


5 - Excellent




Service / Staff


5 - Excellent




Would you recommend this property to other travellers?


Yes




Comments about this property


Balcary Bay is a superb hotel in terms of comfort, service and above all the quality of the dining experience. The location is outstanding and the hotel is an excellent centre for exploring the Solway coast.




Tips for other travellers


Solway Coast is full of natural attractions for walkers and explorers of nature.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    66
    27
    14
    13
See reviews for
46
242
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at Balcary Bay Hotel in October and vowed we would make a return trip in 2014. Our room was large and comfortable with stunning views of the Solway Firth. The food was excellent and the dinner menu changed each day. My only slight criticism would be that the furniture in the lounge looked a little tired but this didn't detract from a most enjoyable experience.

The area surrounding the hotel is ideal for walkers and towns such as Kirkcudbright and Castle Douglas offer visitors attractions such as art galleries and National Trust gardens. Being a keen golfer I decided to play Southerness Golf course. Greens, tees and fairways were all in excellent condition and it can accurately be described as the Muirfield of the Stewartry!

Room Tip: It is well worth paying a little extra to secure a room with a view across the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYRSHIRE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel is in a wonderful location, being two miles down a single track road going nowhere, and on the shoreline of Balcary Bay. All rooms are beautifully appointed and very clean, but having a Bay View Room brings the additional delight of simply relaxing and watching the ebb and flow of the tides.
There is a smart casual dress code (no jeans/denims) for dinner which brings an ambiance to the dining room which compliments the superb food; add to that an excellent wine list, and a friendly, courteous service and you have all the ingredients for a really memorable break.
This is a place to stay if you enjoy wonderful scenery, walking (cliff walks nearby require boots), golfing and visiting historic sites and gardens; all of which lie at or within a short drive of the hotel. The town of Dumfries is also within an hours drive.
In summary, this has to be one of the best places to stay if you appreciate life at a more sedate pace, accompanied by good food, wine, a wonderful attentive staff, and, for what we had, value for money.

Room Tip: Bay View Rooms bring an extra dimension---especially rooms 3 and 10, but all rooms are beautifully a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Hotel is in a wonderful location, our room looked across the bay and having arrived in the dark it was a lovely surprise when we opened the curtains.The staff were very helpful, friendly and courteous. The cleaning ladies were lovely and helpful, It is one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in for a long while. The food was so tasty and well presented. This hotel is just that 'extra bit special'. We would love to return. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunmanby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our room (Room 3) was wonderful, with fantastic views over the Solway from three big windows. So spacious and a great bathroom with plenty of shelf space (often a rarity) and good lighting. The food was superb every night and the little extra touches - canapes, petit fours, coffee all included - were lovely. The staff were delightful and the service was outstanding. I have no idea how the kitchen was organised, but it must be a miracle of efficiency to produce such wonderful food so quickly. Many compliments to the chef and kitchen staff, whom we didn't see. Don't even think of eating anywhere other than here!
We enjoyed drinks in the lounge each evening - again a lovely welcoming room. No canned music anywhere.
If it's important to you, the clientele were certainly older and the dining room may seem rather formal at first, but as it fills up and everyone's chatting, it becomes very relaxing.
One of the best hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the bay, though the gardens are also pleasant. Some ground floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missoula20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I recently stared here, this was our second visit (the first being 10 years ago) but nothing had changed. The food was still excellent, the staff friendly and extremley helpful.
The views are absolutely stunning over the Bay and Solway Firth. We will definitly return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whithorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Having stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions, it is the first time that everything was not absolutely wonderful.
The room, beautiful, the food, outstanding, unfortunately the restaurant staff fell short of the usual high standard. Leaning across in front of you, not knowing what they were serving.After the meal,
in the bar we were served a brandy in a tumbler. A bit of training neaded.

Come on Graham, this is not what people expect!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchencairn
8.6 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
14.1 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
4.2 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
22.9 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
18.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcary Bay Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcary Bay Country House Hotel

Property: Balcary Bay Country House Hotel
Address: Balcary House Shore Road, Auchencairn DG7 1QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Auchencairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auchencairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Balcary Bay Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Balcary Bay Country Hotel
Hotel Balcary Bay Country
Balcary Bay Country House Hotel Auchencairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing