We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxed break.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balcary Bay Country House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Auchencairn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balcary Bay Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auchencairn
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely relaxed break.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Lovely relaxed break.

Our room was large and very comfortable with glorious views over the bay from the armchairs in the bay window.

Despite arriving on a motorbike we were made to feel most welcome.

The evening meal was one of the best we have ever had!

Room Tip: Bay room = Bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    64
    24
    14
    13
See reviews for
41
231
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberfoyle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Six of us have just returned from a three night break at the hotel. Everything was perfect and there is not one thing with which we could find fault. The quality of the food in the dining room was outstanding - all locally sourced, freshly cooked and delicious. We had a different menu each night and the choice was excellent. The public areas are all freshly decorated and very relaxing. The views from our bedrooms were wonderful. All staff were friendly and efficient. We would be very happy to recommend this hotel. The owner is very hands on and clearly runs a tight ship. All his hard work is paying dividends.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room - costs a little extra but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stewartandkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Visited in May for husbands 65th birthday treat and what a treat!
Unbeatable views from deluxe room windows,perfect weather, beautiful food and lovely ambience.
Visited Threave, both gardens and castle(seperate places!) via little boat-delightful.
Really hope we can visit again soon. Well done all staff and owners.

Room Tip: Twin room3 has amazing huge bathroom Double room 8 huge bay window Both rooms amazing unbeatable v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micklethwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whithorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Since our visit last year the lounge & bar area have been decorated & refurbished. It is now even more enjoyable than ever. Elegant rooms, wonderful restaurant. The beautiful location is very quiet and peaceful, the perfect place to unwind in luxury.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but not all have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Now dont get me wrong wonderful place fantastic food but no way is it worth the money you pay for it we were not planning on staying over so did not pack fancy outfits DONT JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER i have my own business and earn plenty i had jeans on as did my hubby and the staff looked down on us the other guests were fab tho. There was lipstick on my water glass at evening super so i asked politely and quietly for a clean one the serving lady treat us like some thing she scraped off a shoe after this i wont go back

Room Tip: When they ask for a garden window or bay window they mean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a wonderful small hotel.The food is marvellous and the service is first class.The setting ,right on the shore,is beautiful.This is a great place for a relaxing holiday with good walks starting at the hotel car park.
MRS

Room Tip: Choose a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRS941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stocksfield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have recently returned from a holiday break in South West Scotland and booked an evening meal at the Balcary Bay Hotel. The meal was very good, the service first class and the location of the hotel stunning - the views across the bay are stunning. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auchencairn
8.6 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
14.1 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
4.2 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dalbeattie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
19.0 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
22.9 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcary Bay Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcary Bay Country House Hotel

Property: Balcary Bay Country House Hotel
Address: Balcary House Shore Road, Auchencairn DG7 1QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Auchencairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auchencairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Balcary Bay Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Balcary Bay Country Hotel
Hotel Balcary Bay Country
Balcary Bay Country House Hotel Auchencairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing