We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting-toilets/showers are really bad!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southerness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disgusting-toilets/showers are really bad!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

I am staying here at the moment in the touring park. I have been here one night and got 3 more to go and seriously considering leaving! The toilets and showers are absolutely disgusting, in fact I'd be cleaner if I didn't bother showering at all. Ladies, if you don't wash your hair every day make sure you take a shower hat as you have no choice but to get your hair wet. The showers are either freezing or burning hot and the shower cubicles are so small you will have no where to run once the water either freezes you to death or gives you 3rd degree burns!!
They also have poster every where about there new £2 million pound swimming pool, I think they should of saved there money and spent a good £10, 000 on the shower and toilet blocks! And for the record the swimming pool has no way had that all this Money spent on it! The list is endless. I will never return! I wish I had read these reviews before I booked!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank loveweekendsaway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    171
    64
    27
    19
See reviews for
314
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kentallen, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Have stayed at Parkdean holiday parks for the last 3 years, different one each time, and love the way their parks are run and the friendliness of their staff. Was slightly concerned after reading some reviews on here but as we were meeting friends here, went ahead. So glad that we did ! Had a fabulous time, park is lovely, staff their usual friendly and helpful selves and Parkdean's caravans superb value for money and well maintained.
Setting is great, loads to see and do for kids roundabout- don't miss Mabie farm park or Dumfries aviation museum if you have kids with you.
Evening entertainment great, Sid & Lizzie are heroes(!), restaurant one good meal,one bad. Pool complex superb, was a little cold but we are used to quite a warm pool, kids play areas excellent and best of all - Parkdean don't rip you off !!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llhigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Just back from a weekend in a three bed top end caravan. Wouldn't normally do this sort of holiday but had a surprisingly great time. Great for families with young children and entertainment crew really work hard to ensure everyone enjoys themselves.
Caravan had very spacious living area and extremely clean.
Food was quite good in Coast bar and excellent in the local pub nearby.
Don't understand the complaint about Sid and Lizzie from other visitor as all kids i witnessed seemed to adore them and follow them around.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AberdeenGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

our family of 4 stayed at the park recently and had a great time the evening entertainment was superb for both children and adults alike. For the kids sid n lizzies disco was a hit along with all the games and prizes and for the adults one of scotlands premier bands 'Waterfront'. the food in the coast bar was reasoable for the price and very fast which was great, the menu could hav been a bit more varied however. A great time was had by all and we are returning during the school holidays.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AyrshireCaz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

basic caravans, unprofessional staff, holes in linen...awful

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjhylton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

We have had several stays at southerness but usually slightly out of season. As always, the park had listened to us when we asked for a caravan near the facilities due to my partner's mobility problems and the caravan itself was absolutely fine.

We went to the show on Friday night which was pretty good.

We ate in the coast bar on sunday and the meal was fine. These holidays are geared towards families and, as a couple, we recognise that but still enjoy ourselves. The staff are fine.

Those are the positives. The negative is the toilets. Both the coast bar and show bar toilets are totally vile. I couldn't even begin to describe the contortions i had to get into to try not to sit on the seat but also not to let my trousers touch the floor! I have never experienced such filth in my life. Given the number of children using these and knowing they will have little accidents,there should be someone cleaning these every hour

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnemch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Just back from southerness holiday park. we had a great time , the swimming pool has been done up, brand new one with a flume , very nice. my daughter enjoyed all the activitie on offer. we had booked a forth caravan but their was mold on the curtains and as my daughter has ashma we felt we could not stay and went back to reception and they moved us to a nicer caravan with heating.
we cooked in our caravan but got a brillent steak pie from the shop at lighthouse leaisure next to caravan site, they supply from a butchers, best i have tasted in a good while.
night time entertainment was kids dancing , bingo,kids bingo then different acts etc, prices are normal for a caravan site, bit cheaper than haven.
only down fall was my partner has left his bergos jacket in changing room and came out to give me our daughter and when he had went back someone has taken it. did ask if anyone had handed it in , but the way the world is today their was no chance we are getting that back. bad day when someone can,t hand in a jacket. !!!!

reported it to police

Room Tip: see reception if you have a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southerness
13.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
9.9 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
23.4 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
8.3 mi away
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
3.3 mi away
The Old Shop
The Old Shop
#22 of 51 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park
Address: Off Sandy Lane, Southerness | Dumfries, Southerness, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Southerness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Southerness
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover why south west is best...If ever a park was in a perfect spot, this is it. Set right on the edge of a beautiful beach, Southerness boasts stunning sea views over the Solway Firth... with lots to explore nearby from peaceful sandy dunes to bustlingmarket towns.But one of the biggest and best attractions is on the park itself! A 25m indoor pool with giant flume, amazing water sprays and a really relaxing spa bath. It brings a whole new meaning to 'soaking up the fun'. * A sea view park, right next to Southerness beach * On the wild and rugged Galloway coastline * Spectacular sunsets over the Solway Firth * 25m indoor swimming pool with flume * Fun for kids with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southerness Holiday Park Hotel Southerness
Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing