We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday in peaceful location with fab kids entertainment”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southerness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Our second year of staying here. The location is amazing and the site is by the most beautiful beach. Really lovely scenery. It's very remote but that suits us.
The caravan was lovely although would say not cleaned as thoroughly as last year (found a box of raisins down the side of the fridge and debris under the bed). Comes with all you would need for a short break.
The kids entertainment is excellent. The team work really hard and there is daytime as well as night time activities. All great for 4-10 year olds. Kids also did the fun and float
session which was well worth the £6 we paid.
The prices in the bar are reasonable (£9 for a cocktail jug) as are the restaurant prices. Food and drink were fine.
The swimming pool was clean and had the slide for the kids. I thought it was a bit chilly. Kids were fine though.
Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dollywashers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here in June and were greeted by friendly helpful staff and we had a chance to upgrade the caravan we had booked. We had a frontline caravan overlooking the beach.
The clubhouse offers good value meals with different offers on each day of the week. the views across the Solway Firth are wonderful. There are walks in both directions and lots to explore on the area.accomodation was very clean.The weather was a further bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morgan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

hi went to parkdean southerness in april for our 19 wedding anniversary the park is so peaceful and relaxing we went monday to friday weather wasn't perfect but just wanted to unwind for a few days and you can do that here the caravan we had was perfect the clubhouse was quite new but the walk on the beach every morning certainly got rid of the cobwebs and if you collect shells theres millions would recomend for a nice break from the hustle and bustle of work

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duncankeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Arrived after a 3 hour drive, booked two caravans for us and extended family. Staff very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately both caravans were filthy. We spent two hours on each caravan getting these clean, not what you want for the start of your holiday. Hot water and central heating not working, cobwebs everywhere and several lights not working. Asked for a bed removed for a travel cot and the room carpet was filthy with food from previous guests still on the floor.
The Hoover in the tweed isn't a plug in but we complained and received a proper Hoover and mop bucket but again you shouldn't have to clean your own van whilst on holiday. Shower was filthy!!
Called maintenance out at least 10 times for various snags on the van. Pipes leaking, both caravans smelled mouldy (Tweed caravans) and these were apparently 3 years old but looked more like 10!!!
Reception staff you cannot fault and facilities were very good.

Entertainment was Butlins style but the kids loved it. They were disappointed to be leaving. Had the caravans been clean we would have been very happy.
Takeaway bar poor as is the restaurant but Paul Jones pub, 10 minute walk away, serves excellent food and have a varied menu at the same price. Kids disco and themed nights were good and interactive. Pool was clean and wristbands are a nuisance as asked to leave even though the pool was quiet. Simply asked them if we could stay in and they were fine with this. Second day asked for longer bands and given two hour bands!! We booked for a party of 4 adults, 4 kids and an infant. Whilst not allowed you could easily have stayed in one van and the infant didn't need a pass!!
Mixed crowd of people but for a cheap break that the kids enjoyed it was well worth it. Just remember to take your cleaning stuff!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank One_thats_not_taken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We arrived after a very long drive through some very scary lanes and had to queue to be given our pitch number and passes for our stay.
We was shown a map and told to pitch out tent on the numbered pitch, We got out tent up and quickly realized that the pitch was through route to the toilet/showers.
By this point I was tired and just wanted to relax so just left it. We needed supplies so sent my daughter to get some bread,milk and a little sweet from the onsite shop, she soon came back as the £5 I gave her wasn't enough!! I decided I wasn't paying that so jumped into the car and fired up the sat nav, only to find the nearest supermarket was 35min away.

On arrival back at the site I had to use the loo. it was a block of 4 cubicles of which 3 had showers in, They where dirty and smelly. It looked like they only got cleaned once a day.

Next day we ventured to the pool at 2pm for afternoon opening so the kids could have a splash and a go on the flume. We were given wristbands as we went in. The flume was closed so I asked if it was opening and told yes it opens at 3, I told the kids they would have to wait a bit so they played and where getting excited. At 2.45 they called for our bands to exit the poor much to the disappointment of the children (our youngest actually crying).
I asked the life guard if we can come back it and was told yes but i'd have to get dressed and go out to the lobby again.

Later that evening we went for a meal in the restaurant in the clubhouse, this was very reasonably priced and came out as went large portions. 2 of the kids had fish and chip buckets that came with a spade and a sticker on the bucket with the park characters on. The waitress came and tried to take them away until I said I thought they got to keep them.

The entertainment was bland and tacky. The kids quickly got bored and asked to play cards back at the tent instead.

OVERALL
The pitch was very reasonably priced but check your pitch before unpacking.
The shop was extortionate so bring food with you as you pass through Dumfries.
Food and drink was well priced and enjoyable in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

After experiencing a caravan park holiday with a different company, we vowed never to try another and the only reason we ended up booking a caravan was because it was last minute, good price and we wanted to return to the area.

The caravan was basic but clean.

The complex was clean and all the staff were friendly, helpful, and polite.

The kids club was really good, we had to stay as our youngest was under 8 but I was impressed with the troopers and the activities it offered.
The kids entertainment was great as was the evening entertainment. All the staff, especially the Troopers worked really hard. There was bingo which I don't usually like but ended up having a couple of goes and of course an arcade area but it wasn't overbearing,
The swimming pool was lovely and well staffed.

The food was priced ok but was of a high quality. The shop was expensive but not unexpected.
The chip shop and Hotel down the road were also good as an alternative.

There is loads of places to visit in the surrounding area although a car is essential. We actually didn't see half the things we planned as we spent time on the complex.

A great family holiday and would be happy to visit again although would pay extra for a bigger caravan.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickieboouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Just arrived back today from a fantastic family holiday at Southerness Parkdean . Check in was easy lovely friendly reception staff . We stayed in the Eden Caravan and all I can say is WOW this caravan is perfect if you are a large family so much space and a beautiful decking to sit out on if you get some nice weather when you are there. We were a party of 4 adults 1 teenager 2 kids and 1 infant and we found the caravan very comfortable and furnished to a very high standard.The little Nisa shop on site is great for your everyday needs. Paul Jones Hotel just up the road from the park is great for lunch food is delicious. Coast Bar on site has lovely food as well. Entertainment in the evening was brilliant for the kids and adults the Parkdean Troupers work so hard and do an amazing job ..overall we had an amazing holiday and are planning our return already. Do not hesitate in booking this park it really is fantastic.

Room Tip: Eden Caravans Are Spacious Beautiful And Well Worth The Money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraCee90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southerness
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,074 reviews
7.8 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
128 reviews
13.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
499 reviews
8.3 mi away
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
13.3 mi away
The Old Shop
The Old Shop
#15 of 52 in Dumfries
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park

Address: Off Sandy Lane, Southerness | Dumfries, Southerness, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Southerness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Southerness
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover why south west is best...If ever a park was in a perfect spot, this is it. Set right on the edge of a beautiful beach, Southerness boasts stunning sea views over the Solway Firth... with lots to explore nearby from peaceful sandy dunes to bustlingmarket towns.But one of the biggest and best attractions is on the park itself! A 25m indoor pool with giant flume, amazing water sprays and a really relaxing spa bath. It brings a whole new meaning to 'soaking up the fun'. * A sea view park, right next to Southerness beach * On the wild and rugged Galloway coastline * Spectacular sunsets over the Solway Firth * 25m indoor swimming pool with flume * Fun for kids with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southerness Holiday Park Hotel Southerness
Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing