We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic "buckets and spades" holiday.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southerness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I'll be brutally honest, by the time we started packing for this trip, I was dreading it. I kept thinking about our last caravan park holiday, 4 years ago, and was wondering why we had gone back on a vow never to suffer that kind of holiday again (I should add that it was not a Parkdean holiday on that occasion). Still, times are hard and when we booked back in February this was all we could afford (and in fairness the customer service when we booked was fantastic). the sense of dread started evaporating almost as soon as we arrived. A warm and professional welcome at reception, immediate access to the facilities so the children could start straight on some well run craft activities before lunch and a swim. Then came the moment of truth, picking up the keys to the caravan. (It was the accommodation which caused the problem last time). On entering the caravan we were struck by the size, cleanliness and a faint smell of cleaning fluid - it was pristine and really well kitted out. This was a mid range caravan but it was new for 2013, the Esk model, and you couldn't ask for better. The site facilities are great, we ate in the restaurant a couple of times, decent value, well done pub grub and reasonable drinks prices. The pool is not huge but access is time limited on a wristband system, which stops overcrowding and the life guards seemed pretty switched on. The kids went to a couple of activity sessions which they really enjoyed, and saw one evening show, which was good fun. The entertainment staff work seriously long hours and they really graft - if the shows are occasionally a bit shambolic then it just adds to the fun, and is easily forgiven when you see how hard they work and how well they engage with kids of all ages (kids club is parent accompanied, so expect to join in, it is not dump n dash!). The beach is beautiful, worth a walk to the lighthouse, and fantastic for building sandcastles and suchlike. Be warned, the tides are fast though, these are not swimming beaches! The area around southerness is a bit of a hidden gem, some lovely coastline. In short, kudos to Parkdean for running a brilliant site, and restoring my faith in the good old British caravan park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghostlight05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Went here for the first time for 4 nights and loved it, my 7 year old son thought it was fantastic plenty for him to do tho was a bit smaller then expected, would definatly go back again. Loved the swimming pool and my son loved the night time entertainment and loved meeting Sid and Lizzy. Caravans were spacious and great to relax in on a night time. Food was delicious in the restaurant nd was handy having a little takeaway there too

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent three great nights at Southerness in a tweed three bedroom caravan ..our party consisted of five adults and three children ... the pool was great, the entertainment was fine and the restaurant was excellent ... the staff are very helpfully and friendly ...overall for the price we paid for eight people you couldn't ask for anymore ...we will certainty book another short break !

Room Tip: A car is an advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 11cat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked last minute for a week in a caravan with a sea view. On arrival the receptionist was helpful and even though we were 10 minutes early let us have the key after she checked the caravan was ready. Well, the view was amazing. We certainly had a sea view and could also so the Cumbria coastline it was stunning.

The caravan was fine. We opted for 3 bedrooms so they're quite small but the seating area was very comfortable.

We enjoyed the pool. It was quite large for a Parkdean site and the life guards were always helpful and friendly. The children enjoyed the evening shows although I have to admit that we;ve had better troups.

The local shop was fine and not as expensive as some reviews suggested. The park is very secluded and the nearest town is Dumfries some 17 miles away. You generally have to get in a car to get anywhere and you will certainly put some miles on the car. We did walk to the village and enjoyed walking to the lighthouse and along the coast line when the sea was out.

We would certainly go back to this park. It was peaceful and relaxing.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view. It's certainly worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I have been on numerous holidays with Parkdean over the years, and have always felt that they have consistently been the best all round compared to other companies. I am always surprised by the negative reviews that good caravan sites receive, until I see such reviews with photos (and can't quite see what the big deal was!). These caravans are built not built to last forever, and their furnishings do wear over time, but this is normal. Parkdean however, seem to update their caravans more regularly than others.

Anyway, we have just got back from Southerness. We were lucky to have no rain all week and even went in the sea as is was warm. I would recommend Sandyhills beach (a short drive along coast road). It costs £1.50 to park all day in a secure car park.
The beach at Southerness is a mix of sand, mud, rock pools and MILLIONS of shells.

Our caravan was budget 6-berth and was as good as any we have stayed in in this price range.
Lots of rabbits and other wildlife, and a lovely view of the Criffel hill in one direction and the sea and Cumbria in the other.

The facilities were good. The club was of decent size and Sid and Lizzie entertained the children.

We didn't use the pool because of making the most of the seaside, but it looked pretty new or refurbished.

We needed to call on reception for a new smoke alarm battery, and they sent a chap down within ten minutes! The young lady on reception seemed happy to help and professional too.

Overall, a very enjoyable and much needed holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris_chippenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Our second year of staying here. The location is amazing and the site is by the most beautiful beach. Really lovely scenery. It's very remote but that suits us.
The caravan was lovely although would say not cleaned as thoroughly as last year (found a box of raisins down the side of the fridge and debris under the bed). Comes with all you would need for a short break.
The kids entertainment is excellent. The team work really hard and there is daytime as well as night time activities. All great for 4-10 year olds. Kids also did the fun and float
session which was well worth the £6 we paid.
The prices in the bar are reasonable (£9 for a cocktail jug) as are the restaurant prices. Food and drink were fine.
The swimming pool was clean and had the slide for the kids. I thought it was a bit chilly. Kids were fine though.
Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dollywashers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here in June and were greeted by friendly helpful staff and we had a chance to upgrade the caravan we had booked. We had a frontline caravan overlooking the beach.
The clubhouse offers good value meals with different offers on each day of the week. the views across the Solway Firth are wonderful. There are walks in both directions and lots to explore on the area.accomodation was very clean.The weather was a further bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morgan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park

Address: Off Sandy Lane, Southerness | Dumfries, Southerness, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Southerness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Southerness
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover why south west is best...If ever a park was in a perfect spot, this is it. Set right on the edge of a beautiful beach, Southerness boasts stunning sea views over the Solway Firth... with lots to explore nearby from peaceful sandy dunes to bustlingmarket towns.But one of the biggest and best attractions is on the park itself! A 25m indoor pool with giant flume, amazing water sprays and a really relaxing spa bath. It brings a whole new meaning to 'soaking up the fun'. * A sea view park, right next to Southerness beach * On the wild and rugged Galloway coastline * Spectacular sunsets over the Solway Firth * 25m indoor swimming pool with flume * Fun for kids with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southerness Holiday Park Hotel Southerness
Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing