We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tentastic southerness”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southerness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Just been and camped at southerness and have to say was very surprised and happy. Stayed in a tent on there pitches,all tent pitches include elec hookup and on flat well draining area with lovely clean facilities.price is for upto 4people and includes use of facilities like swim pool which by the way is also v.good, and clean. There is plenty for kids to do with play areas an amusements. You can pay for extra things like fun and activity classes for the kids but u realy dont need to as there also plenty of shows an entertaiment going on everyday and park an play areas. Theres long sandy beaches as well as shells and little rock pools on the campsites own access beach.which if you walk eitherway you get fantastic views and lovely inns along the shore. One of which is the steamboat inn which is a brill little establishment with real fires.ale and good food. back to southerness, well the facilities were clean and hot water in the showers which had no time limit and no extra charges, dishwashing area again fantastic and clean,and value for money. To sum up a great place for family hols even tho slightly out the way being about a 15min drive from dumfries but well worth the drive for the sea views alone. And as a couples holiday place its also great and very romantic with the awesome views an soft sandy beach walks with the waves lapping. Well worth a visit and will again. Ps the service wasnt bad either contrary to other reviews id read here and also must say mark is realy helpful friendly chap who operates the tent area of park. So with or without kids its well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank chorleycakeWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is our second visit in 2013 to Southerness and on both occasions we have had a great time, we have booked again for Easter 2014.
Very clean site, caravans and grounds well maintained. We book the same caravan which was a new caravan for 2013 (The Findhorn), located in Sea View with uninterrupted views across the Solway Firth and beside a play park and entrance to the beach. Highly recommend this caravan type.
Cannot fault the caravan, clean and has everything you need including a utility room with washing machine as well as decking with table & chairs.
The Venue entertainment area is typical of a holiday park, although the swimming pool is a good size and the children loved the flume. Needs better showers at the pool though.
The Coast Bar food is very basic and wouldn't eat there again, head 5 mins along the road to The Steamboat Inn at Carsethorn, it is excellent.
The Entertainment team work hard and are great with the kids, my 2 go for Sid & Lizzie and they never disappoint! Starlanders was good fun with Gareth, DJ Danny and Alex working very hard.
In all an excellent park for a short break (best we have been to) and will return next year, hope it is the same entertainment team!

Room Tip: Choose a caravan with Central Heating. Findhorn is a good choice, located in Seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed here with my father and little brother in the month of August. The stay was ok although I have stayed in better sites with nicer staff. Don't get me wrong some of the staff were excellent one of the lifeguards in particular was very nice, he was very friendly and looked after my 4year old brother!! Thus my little brother becoming rather fond of him! This was reassuring. Lunch and Dinner within what I remember as "The Complex" and not "The Venue" was ok but rath overpriced for certain items. Overall an average stay, nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I'll be brutally honest, by the time we started packing for this trip, I was dreading it. I kept thinking about our last caravan park holiday, 4 years ago, and was wondering why we had gone back on a vow never to suffer that kind of holiday again (I should add that it was not a Parkdean holiday on that occasion). Still, times are hard and when we booked back in February this was all we could afford (and in fairness the customer service when we booked was fantastic). the sense of dread started evaporating almost as soon as we arrived. A warm and professional welcome at reception, immediate access to the facilities so the children could start straight on some well run craft activities before lunch and a swim. Then came the moment of truth, picking up the keys to the caravan. (It was the accommodation which caused the problem last time). On entering the caravan we were struck by the size, cleanliness and a faint smell of cleaning fluid - it was pristine and really well kitted out. This was a mid range caravan but it was new for 2013, the Esk model, and you couldn't ask for better. The site facilities are great, we ate in the restaurant a couple of times, decent value, well done pub grub and reasonable drinks prices. The pool is not huge but access is time limited on a wristband system, which stops overcrowding and the life guards seemed pretty switched on. The kids went to a couple of activity sessions which they really enjoyed, and saw one evening show, which was good fun. The entertainment staff work seriously long hours and they really graft - if the shows are occasionally a bit shambolic then it just adds to the fun, and is easily forgiven when you see how hard they work and how well they engage with kids of all ages (kids club is parent accompanied, so expect to join in, it is not dump n dash!). The beach is beautiful, worth a walk to the lighthouse, and fantastic for building sandcastles and suchlike. Be warned, the tides are fast though, these are not swimming beaches! The area around southerness is a bit of a hidden gem, some lovely coastline. In short, kudos to Parkdean for running a brilliant site, and restoring my faith in the good old British caravan park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghostlight05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Went here for the first time for 4 nights and loved it, my 7 year old son thought it was fantastic plenty for him to do tho was a bit smaller then expected, would definatly go back again. Loved the swimming pool and my son loved the night time entertainment and loved meeting Sid and Lizzy. Caravans were spacious and great to relax in on a night time. Food was delicious in the restaurant nd was handy having a little takeaway there too

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent three great nights at Southerness in a tweed three bedroom caravan ..our party consisted of five adults and three children ... the pool was great, the entertainment was fine and the restaurant was excellent ... the staff are very helpfully and friendly ...overall for the price we paid for eight people you couldn't ask for anymore ...we will certainty book another short break !

Room Tip: A car is an advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 11cat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked last minute for a week in a caravan with a sea view. On arrival the receptionist was helpful and even though we were 10 minutes early let us have the key after she checked the caravan was ready. Well, the view was amazing. We certainly had a sea view and could also so the Cumbria coastline it was stunning.

The caravan was fine. We opted for 3 bedrooms so they're quite small but the seating area was very comfortable.

We enjoyed the pool. It was quite large for a Parkdean site and the life guards were always helpful and friendly. The children enjoyed the evening shows although I have to admit that we;ve had better troups.

The local shop was fine and not as expensive as some reviews suggested. The park is very secluded and the nearest town is Dumfries some 17 miles away. You generally have to get in a car to get anywhere and you will certainly put some miles on the car. We did walk to the village and enjoyed walking to the lighthouse and along the coast line when the sea was out.

We would certainly go back to this park. It was peaceful and relaxing.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view. It's certainly worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park

Address: Off Sandy Lane, Southerness | Dumfries, Southerness, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Southerness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Southerness
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover why south west is best...If ever a park was in a perfect spot, this is it. Set right on the edge of a beautiful beach, Southerness boasts stunning sea views over the Solway Firth... with lots to explore nearby from peaceful sandy dunes to bustlingmarket towns.But one of the biggest and best attractions is on the park itself! A 25m indoor pool with giant flume, amazing water sprays and a really relaxing spa bath. It brings a whole new meaning to 'soaking up the fun'. * A sea view park, right next to Southerness beach * On the wild and rugged Galloway coastline * Spectacular sunsets over the Solway Firth * 25m indoor swimming pool with flume * Fun for kids with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southerness Holiday Park Hotel Southerness
Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing