We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what it is”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southerness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive for what it is”
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed in June but as I was a single mum, I didn't feel very comfortable being in the bar, a little rough.
The only good thing about this park is the childrens entertainment. Paula and her staff seem to run all the entertainment in the complex, they all work very hard, its a shame the rest of the staff let them down.
Bad service in the coast bar and couldn't always get a swim.
On site shop was well stocked and the staff were friendly. It needs to be as the camp site is miles away from anywhere.
Sorry but I won't be going back .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    186
    72
    28
    22
See reviews for
342
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Me and our extended family stayed for 4 nights here. The sun was out all of the week which was a plus considering it was scotland. The site is very clean and my kids loved it.
The pool was nice and warm the entertainment was good the kids loved multi and maxi.
I think the bingo was fixed tho!! lol. the beach is okay plenty of crabs and shells to look at.
the food was nice to in the complex. also the kids play area was good however it suits under 6's better. I would defo come to this site again we stayed for £150.00 which was a bargain the caravan was beautiful no complaints at all. There is not much in southerness would reccomend dumfries for a day out a bus outside of the site takes you straight there. and brings you back of course.
Will come back!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Great park good entertainment and surprisingly good food definatley go again, but take your car cos there's nothin in southerness itself sugest Dumfries .great for kids

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6inarowFTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

My family and I have just returned from a week long break at Parkdean Southerness and if I had to sum it up in a few words they would be "tired, run down and very disappointing". We had booked 3 caravans on site and we were on holiday with a few other family members. We stayed in a 2 bedroom Tay caravan. On arrival check in was very smooth and we found our caravan very easily. On entering the caravan I was extremely disappointed to find it smeeling very stongly of cigarettes, I guess the numerous cigarette ends littering the ground outside the van should have been a clue! After trying to contact reception several times someone eventually answered the phone and advised they would send housekeeping round which they duly did armed with an air freshner!!! The caravan had seen better days and the facilities and equipment in the caravan were basic! Thank goodness we were with a larger group as this meant we only had to spend a minimal amount of time in our own caravan! The double bed had been very well slept in and had seen better days, it was extremely uncomfortable and I dreaded having to retire to bed each night.

As for the other facilities on site Parkdean fail to mention that the swimming pool is the size of a postage stamp and can only accomodate 25 people at a time which is on a firs come first served basis and not as we were advised when we booked, we were told then that you booked a session!! The staff all seem less than happy to be at work apart from a select few who seemed a liitle more enthusiatic and willing to help! The coast bar was comfortable however it failed on meeting smallest of expectations such as clean glasses!!! ON one occasions I returned the glasses and asked for clean ones which were just as bad!!

My family and I did enjoy our break and tried to make the most of it but we will not be returning to Parkdean Southerness and could not recommend that anyone else give it a try!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annlou1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

i was at southerness last week it was meant to be for four nights but only stayed two this was thanks to a family threatning us from the glasgow/cumbernauld area my partner was assaulted and sadly i didnt get the last names of the people but all i can say was one was called david the other dannielle and there was 2 others in the group one a 28yr old aunt with a big mouth on her she was shouting out threats outside the caravan with my 6yr old in it and we were all terrified . please note i have stayed at weymss bay and tummel valley they were both good or very good but sorry southerness was a nightmare i thought id never expierence alot of very rough families stayed there i noticed .never again had to flee back up to the north of scotland with no sleep at 3am thanks to that thugs

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ccg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shetland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We booked a 3 bedroom Non smoking pet free caravan as our little boy has asthma.
When we arrived & took in all our luggage we noticed thet there was a lot of pet hair over the floor & seating area. Our little boys eyes started to water. We then went up to reception & asked if something could be done? They said that when you book online that you cant be guaranted a pet free caravan and They sent the cleaners in with a hoover! I thought that should have been done before our arrival?? A lot of the dishes had been put away dirty & had to be washed before we could use it! So overall the cleanliness could have been much better. I would have thought that should have been checked before the next lot of tennents move in.
The entertainment provided was quite good but it was quite expencive on the complex.
AVOID the coast bar! On the night before we left we ordered food at 5.50pm & it still had not arrived by 7.30pm so we ended up getting our money back. It was not that busy but we were not the only ones in that position! In my eyes quite unacceptable especially when you have 2 hungry childeren!
The costcutter shop on site was very good though & there staff very friendly!
The Laundry provided had 3 washing machines & tumble dryers £4 to use washing machine, they also had 3 irons but none of them worked the whole week.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corinna77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Have just returned from a long weekend break at Parkdean Southerness.

On arrival the site looks welcoming enough, and the reception lady was good, explaining where everything was on site.

The caravan was lovely, very clean, and modern with plenty of space (we had a two bed model), loads of storage, and a great shower!

The facilities we used on site were ok, a well stocked Costcutter shop, and a nice bar with outside area. We ate on site twice, and both times the food was lovely, reasonably priced, and much better than we’d anticipated. We ventured into the cabaret bar once, and promptly turned on our heels and went back to the quieter bar. The act that was on was DIRE!! I can imagine this would be the place to be in if you have younger kids, but it really wasn’t good.

Southerness on a whole is just golfing clubs and the holiday park – the remainder of the ‘village’ is the land that time and taste forgot. VERY dated, and mainly residential chalet type homes.

The ‘beach’ – and I use the term loosely – advertised on the Parkdean website is a little misleading. As the park is located on the Solway Firth do not go expecting a lovely sandy beach, this is shingly, kind of smelly, and the sand is more like clay. If you travel further on down the coast road it does get a bit better, but it is basically a very long stretch of mud flats!

For what we paid – this was a Sun Holiday – it was adequate, but I wouldn’t be paying peak prices. The area is lovely with plenty of things to do, but I would chose to stay somewhere other than the Parkdean site.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southerness
13.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
7.8 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
117 reviews
8.7 mi away
Solway Holiday Village
Solway Holiday Village
#3 of 3 in Silloth
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Old Shop
The Old Shop
#17 of 49 in Dumfries
43 reviews
8.3 mi away
Stanwix Park Holiday Centre
8.7 mi away
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park
Address: Off Sandy Lane, Southerness | Dumfries, Southerness, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Southerness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Southerness
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover why south west is best...If ever a park was in a perfect spot, this is it. Set right on the edge of a beautiful beach, Southerness boasts stunning sea views over the Solway Firth... with lots to explore nearby from peaceful sandy dunes to bustlingmarket towns.But one of the biggest and best attractions is on the park itself! A 25m indoor pool with giant flume, amazing water sprays and a really relaxing spa bath. It brings a whole new meaning to 'soaking up the fun'. * A sea view park, right next to Southerness beach * On the wild and rugged Galloway coastline * Spectacular sunsets over the Solway Firth * 25m indoor swimming pool with flume * Fun for kids with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southerness Holiday Park Hotel Southerness
Parkdean - Southerness Holiday Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing