We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Kouloura”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Southerness, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sedgefield
Reviewed 19 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Inverness
Reviewed 22 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matlock
Reviewed 7 December 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kendal
Reviewed 18 August 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marcus H
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 12 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This was a wonderful holiday, hardly in keeping with the other review which seems to have stayed at another location. My wife, son and I stayed here and it is a lovely little cottage with a great garden for dogs in a nice area. Yes there is a caravan park next door but we stayed in August and there was no noise or trouble but why should there be? Unless you are prejudiced against such places of course. The beach was great for exploring the rock pools and the tide was sometimes in and sometimes out. This is called nature! The owners of this cottage go out of their way to make sure you have all relevant information wether it be the cottage itself or the true beauty of the surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mac55_12
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“we lasted two days”
Reviewed 27 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
2
people found this review helpful

the description of the area in my opinion was totally inaccurate. This was described as the scottish rivierra ............ if you like to be in the middle of an estate with a large caravan park overlooking your garden and beaches you cannot take your dogs on as they are covered in shells and rubbish then this is the place for you. We were told the beach was a short walk away however when we tried this we were told by one of the local residents we would have a way to go before we hit sand and the tide was in anyway so we could not get around. Next we drove to the visitors centre (approx 4 miles away) and were told to follow a path for 10 minutes and would arrive at the beach after walking along a very boggy and muddy path for 25 minutes the beach was no where in sight. We gave up after this and decided to head home. None of the ammenities in the village were open and when we questioned this with sykes we were told we should have researched the area before we arrived. This place is totally geared up to the caravan park when it is opened. When we tried to complain to the rental complany that the description was totally inaccurate and we would like a refund of some of our money we were told no an that the descriptions was accurate. I do not think of myself as a fool but could honestly not find this beach which was the sole reason we went with our dogs. If you do decide to rent this property please reseach it carefully to make sure it is what you want. We have been to many cottages in scotland and this is the first we have had problems with and i was shocked at the lack of consideration from sykes who were totally unwilling to even consider our side of the story. The cottage itself is ok but the area is a different story and the description given is totally inaccurate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: nothing
Liked least: location
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2012
Thank you for your review and we were sorry that you were disappointed with your holiday in this beautiful location. After having left the property without first consulting the owner or ourselves, we have since discussed the issues raised with you at considerable length.

As you are aware, when you arrived late in the evening at the property, a day later than expected, the owners gave you detailed information about all the nicest places to go, supplied you with a large scale OS map and welcomed you with a bottle of wine and fresh flowers.

The online pictures show a very pretty beach which is sandy and stony and accurately described as a short stroll away with easy access. There are long stretches of sandy beach in both directions, which are clearly visible and within very easy walking distance of the property. You also informed the owners that you had played on Southerness championship links golf course previously - a long sandy stretch of beach with 20ft high sand dunes is quite visible from and, in fact part of, the golf course, as is the caravan park at the back of the village.

We have had no negative comments whatsoever from any of our previous guests, either regarding the property or the local area, and indeed the advantage of the close proximity of the beach is regularly commented on. We are sorry that you were unable to see the beach when the tide was in.

We are very disappointed that you did not take the time to enjoy the beautiful area, the lovely hotels and restaurants, and friendly village. The owners are genuinely at a loss to understand what more they could have done to give you a more enjoyable visit to their delightful property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$62
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing