We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Value For Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ellangowan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Creetown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Have been going to the Ellangowan for years family have a house just across the road. Other reviews have clearly had a go at the place but, this review is not about it as a place to stay more all about the quality of the food. Like all places to eat in Galloway that I have visited the Ellangowan is fantastic. Great prices and one of the best steak pies I have ever tasted. A lovely old building (again I haven't stayed in it so can't comment on previous reviewers comments).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank neil34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

We were struggleing to find a place to stay in the area 'on speck' so ended up here. We had a big room, which could have been made quite spectacular with a bit of imagination. there was none here...the carpet was dirty, there were stains on the bed spread and the funiture was a time warp from the 70's... the absolute worse thing for me was the lack of soundproofing between the rooms, or the lack of thought given when deciding where to place the bathrooms... I do not want to hear complete strangers 'peeing' in the middle of the night!!
The resturant lacked atmosphere, but the food was good.. breakfast was basic and ok, and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

My friend and I recently enjoyed a short weekend break at the Ellangowan Hotel in Creetown. We decided to stay here as it was central to a few locations we wished to visit - Gatehouse of Fleet, Newton Stewart, Stranraer and Port Patrick. All were within easy driving distance and it turned out The Ellangowan was the perfect place for us to relax after our day trips. The staff were very friendly and accomodating and offered excellent tips on places we could visit. The meals were delicious, i particularly enjoyed the chicken and haggis. The restaurant was cosy and homely with beautiful paintings adorning the walls, and we felt very comfortable having our dinner with a chilled glass of wine while being tended to by the courteous staff. We sat in the bar for a short time and the locals were happy to chat with us too. Our room was very clean and fresh with a lovely view over Creetown main street. The beds were so comfy i had one of the best nights sleep in a long time and i didn't have to miss out on my programmes as we had all the freeview channels. We enjoyed a lovely stroll around the town too and visited the Gem Rock museum on our last day. I must say i left feeling utterly refreshed and rejuvinated. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the coast but the Ellangowan was the perfect Home from Home. Thank you to Billy and his staff for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquishyAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

We booked this hotel after looking at it's website. It's claim to fame is that it was used in the filming of the 1970's film, 'The Wickerman'. However, it seemed like that was probably the last time that it was cleaned or decorated. The rooms are in a very poor state of repair and are FILTHY. I really can't stress enough how bad the place is. The furniture was old and worn, the whole room and toilet was covered with horrible marks so much so that the toilet was unusable. The room was also draughty and damp. Our room also had part of the wall hanging off leaving a hole into the loft space. We checked in but soon realised that we couldn't spend the night in the place. I have stayed in many places over the years and this was definitely the worst. I would have much rather stayed in a tent. It would have been cleaner and warmer. The owner was also unhelpful. A disgrace that this place should be allowed to trade.
I real disappointment... Avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WickermanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Ellangowan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellangowan Hotel

Address: St. John Street, Creetown DG8 7JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Creetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Creetown
Price Range: £49 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ellangowan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you've got time to let the world pass you by... give a thought to the Ellangowan Hotel in Creetown. If you want a night or two away without breaking the bank, book a stay at The Ellangowan Hotel. Situated in the picturesque hamlet of Creetown on the beautiful Solway Coast, just off the main A75 Dumfries - Stranraer trunk route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ellangowan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ellangowan Hotel Creetown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing