We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ellangowan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Creetown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We did not stay in the hotel but there is nowhere to review the restaurant but here, and it is definitely worth mentioning.
The Ellengowan now has a new chef, Roy Herries, previously of The Laird's Inn.
Fabulous food!
We ate here 3 times during our visit to the area and the meals were faultless on each occasion. Prompt and friendly service from Connor, our waiter. We tried several of the starters, mains & desserts and really enjoyed them all. The Aberdeen Angus Beef burger was wonderful, the best I have eaten. Tasty Tomato & Chilli soup, Whitebait, all excellent. We visit the area every year and it is so good to have a great place to eat.
You MUST try it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Glossybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for The Ellangowan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

From out side hotel looks v old and a bit run down. Bar is nice, friendly staff and full if locals!
Hotel rooms a bit run down and odd mix if wallpaper, but our rm was big and comfy. Nil wifi could only get it in bar, I fact no phone reception at all! Breakfast was nice and staff v helpful!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heather682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

being big wicker man fans, we did our own film tour around the area. this pub was one of our stops. very nice pub and staff. we didn't stay here, just went in for a drink and a look. it was very busy, but we were served quickly. there are lots of wickerman photos everywhere, which was nice to see, inc. more recent of Edward Woodward visiting the pub. god bless his soul.

lovely place in all. it would be worth staying there some time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faedensmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Room is refurbished. Clean. Good bed, tv, wifi ok, lots of space. Village is poor. The bar is a real bar, not for families. Bathroom is old.fashioned. price is reasonable. Very quiet street. Good for a short stay.

Room Tip: We had nr 10 on the front side lots of light.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omega563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just returned from a three night stay in the Ellengowan and really enjoyed the experience. Although Creetown is hardly a centre of life and laughs, this is a good base to visit a beautiful area. The double I stayed in was beautifully decorated, well looked after and very clean. The breakfast and dinner were both good value and served with a smile by a very helpful and attentive waitress. I would certainly recommend the Banoffee pie. The staff couldn't do enough for us, and at the price charged it was excellent value. There was a slight issue with payment initially - the computer system does not seem to work well as they failed to take a deposit when I booked - but they were more than happy to sort it for us. We were there as fans of The Wicker Man, but it was much more.

Room Tip: Room 10 was beautiful and spacious, although the double was two singles pushed together.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burttheswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here in a family room the first week in July and paid thru expedia. My husband didn't know I had already paid so he gave the staff cash for the room upon checkout. They didn't check to see if the room had been paid for and appeared to be in a rush, only one person seemed to be on hand and was having to serve breakfast (which was late). Realizing the mistake two days later, my husband called and was told the money would be refunded to Visa but that has not been the case. We also have sent two emails and called an additional four times without success. We are told each time the proper person is not there and emails were never returned. Their website is currently down due to non-payment. Not very reassuring!
No wifi in our room. We had to ask the extremely busy staff for the code twice. They had a new waitress on duty and everything was quite disorganized. Wifi was working in the dining room.
I liked that this building was the filming location for the Wickerman scenes and that is why we stayed here. It is a pity we ended up paying double for our room, it wasn't worth it. I hope the management can get their act together.

Room Tip: The floor is very creaky. I don't know if they have second story rooms( we stayed on the third f...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violet38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

First the positives: staff extremely helpful and friendly, Beds: comfy. Quietness: excellent. Nearness to Gem and Rock Museum: very nice. Museum is worth a visit, we were amazed, never seen so many stones and rocks in my life: We slept very well. Breakfast: OK, but rather slow. However, there are a few negatives. Doorknobs almost fell off. The whole place is being done up, but, whilst doing so, the price charged per night is way beyond proportion. For much less we had a perfect room in Carlisle and for just a few pounds more, we had a 4-star elsewhere. WiFi is very,very poor, keeps dropping out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zwerver45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creetown
7.9 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
84 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
139 reviews
8.1 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
282 reviews
5.6 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
658 reviews
12.7 mi away
Brighouse Bay Holiday Park
Brighouse Bay Holiday Park
#2 of 7 in Kirkcudbright
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellangowan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellangowan Hotel

Address: St. John Street, Creetown DG8 7JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Creetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Creetown
Price Range: £47 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ellangowan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you've got time to let the world pass you by... give a thought to the Ellangowan Hotel in Creetown. If you want a night or two away without breaking the bank, book a stay at The Ellangowan Hotel. Situated in the picturesque hamlet of Creetown on the beautiful Solway Coast, just off the main A75 Dumfries - Stranraer trunk route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ellangowan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ellangowan Hotel Creetown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing