We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely. Dog perfect!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trigony House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Closeburn
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely. Dog perfect!!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel on the last night of our honeymoon in Scotland and thought it was absolutely brilliant!!

The hotel is beautiful and grounds are lovely, it truly is dog friendly with every doggy aspect being considered, even doggy towels and shampoo available in the lobby. Dogs were also welcome in the bar area meaning we didn't need to leave our lab in the room or car.

Lovely big bed in the room and lovely bathroom which felt luxurious!!

The food was superb!! Good variety on the menu and very tasty and good quality. Breakfast was delicious and served until 10.30 which was great for us to enjoy our last day.

Will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RESW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    93
    24
    10
    8
See reviews for
89
376
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We booked our stay with rather heavy hearts having been forced to cancel our annual trip to Cornwall due to my husband's recent surgery. Our spirits raised the minute we saw and then set foot inside the hotel; a warm welcome and a cafetierre of coffee was placed before us in the cosy sitting room. We were greeted by one of the family dogs - finding somewhere that accepts dogs is not easy and we have a Border Terrier Max who travels with us. Our room was very clean and most comfortable. Max had his own welcome pack which included copies of walks in the area (walks also in the house grounds and beautifully tended gardens). In the evening drinks were served either in the bar area or the sitting room where by this time there was a fire glowing in the grate. Dinner in the dining room was faultless as were the breakfasts and the service was professional with a personal touch. We met like minded guests in the bar (together with their canine companions) and card games were played until bedtime. We all look forward to our next visit.
'There is an emanation from the heart in genuine hospitality which cannot be described, but is immediately felt and puts the stranger at his ease' Washington Irving 1783-1859

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Trigony House beats by a long mile every other allegedly dog friendly hotel we have ever visited around the UK. From the first sweep into the lush gardens where you can see in the distance the dog bin with provided (free) bags, to the note addressed to the dogs in the luxurious bedrooms telling them where the local walks are, this hotel exceeds expectations with its mix of luxury with friendliness for guests and pets. Home made biscuits in the room for us, and biscuits for the dogs as well - wonderful! Come hungry - the food is excellent, and every dish is worth trying if you can stay here for long enough. Our two border collies had as much fun as we did.

Room Tip: I think all rooms will be as good as each other!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

stayed here for one Friday night in October. Had a nice night, with fairly good food (I wouldnt say it was amazing- good home cooking). Ate in the bar area rather than the dining room which lacked a cosy feel. The bar area with its log burning stove was much nicer. The hall/stariway and entrance to the hotel is lovely, but the rooms don't have the same luxury boutique feel. They are fairly average, and we stayed in much more luxurious, characterful places for less money in the same area on our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ps-hale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have just returned from The Trigony house hotel. We had a short break there and took our 2 Chocolate Labradors. The staff made us feel very welcome. This hotel is excellent for somewhere to take your dogs to, there are plenty of nice walks around the grounds for you to exercise your dogs, the owner even provide clean towels in a large wooden box at the entrance for you to wipe your dogs down. On arrival we were met by the owners Golden Retriever called Roxy who is a lovely friendly girl. The staff made us feel very welcome and nothing was to much trouble, our room was very comfortable and the hotel provided 2 comfortable beds for our dogs and some welcome treats for them. Our room also had a nice en-suite with a large bath and shower. The food at the hotel was lovely and well priced. We feel that the owners have got just right with this hotel. Even if you have no dogs this hotel is relaxing and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Had a brilliant weekend here with the family. The hotel is traditional and perfectly reflects its relaxing country location. The service was fantastic and the rooms were comfortable and clean with some really nice wee touches like the home made biscuits in the room. We also had dinner and drinks here which all went down really well.

Pro's
> Top service
> Great country location
> Good food

Cons
(none)

All in all great country hotel I would recommend to others

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Scotzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marches
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We've stayed twice, both times long weekends when touring - it's conveniently sited on a beautiful tourist route. The staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful - but what really makes this place worth a stay is the food - absolutely wonderful!
If you're touring in this area or passing through - a stay here is thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soul-chaplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Closeburn
5.6 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
12.5 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
298 reviews
16.0 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
11.9 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trigony House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trigony House Hotel

Property: Trigony House Hotel
Address: Closeburn DG3 5EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Closeburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Closeburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trigony House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trigony is a relaxed laid-back country house hotel in the heart of south west Scotland. With an ideal location to enjoy exploring this hidden corner of Scotland, from the dramatic Solway Coast to the rolling hills of the southern uplands. Our award-winning rustic cuisine, open log fires, beautifully landscaped gardens and friendly local staff all combine to create the perfect holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trigony House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trigony House Hotel Closeburn, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing