We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff and food”
Review of Lauriston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lauriston Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardrossan
Certificate of Excellence
Ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and food”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Visited the Lauriston many times and always had a warm friendly welcome. The tribute nights are highly recommended. Great entertainment and lovely food.There are very few places to go for a good night out in the area but the owners and staff at the Lauriston are doing a brilliant job of changing this. Great place for a meal or drink at any time.

Big pat on the back for the owners and all staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyrshirePwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    40
    28
    15
    7
See reviews for
52
64
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
lanarkshire
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Wonderful experience overall!!! Staff food and presentation all excellent and great value for money. Made to feel very welcome by both staff and owners......lovely warm and friendly family atmosphere. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alistairhigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Came across this hotel by chance and had a fantastic stay. The hotel is perfect, staff all extremely helpful and always willing to help. Rooms were well laid out and extremely comfortable. Food at dinner was plentiful and extremely well cooked.Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillipe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Second event, this time staying, in 2011. Continue with the refurb a.s.a.p and bring it up to par with the friendly and efficient service folks and you will be providing something crucial in a town and area now otherwise stripped of decent homely hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErrigalLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilwinning
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I held my 40th birthday dinner in the Lauriston with all my family. my husband and i stayed the night. Fantastic service, rooms friendliness everything was super, the manager Kenny couldnt do enough for all of us will be back

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Lovely hotel. Couldn't do enough to help. Rooms were good, food was great, staff were brilliant. Would definitely stay again.
Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gifford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Stayed here for one night as I was attending a wedding nearby. It's in a great location by the sea although the weather wasn't the best when I stayed. Staff were very friendly and the service was great. Had a very nice meal in the restaurant, lots of things I wanted to try on the menu! Was told that the hotel was recently taken over. They've got the restaurant decorated very nicely, it had a nice atmosphere to it. Wish the new owners all the best!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paula l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardrossan
3.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,513 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
3.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
101 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,067 reviews
6.6 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauriston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauriston Hotel

Property: Lauriston Hotel
Address: 15 South Crescent Road, Ardrossan KA22 8EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Ardrossan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardrossan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lauriston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since being taken over in April 2011 the Family run, Lauriston Hotel boasts the highest levels of service, accomodation and menus to suit all tastes.The Lauriston retains an individuality of character and style, and offers a unique, memorable, and special Ayrshire hotel experience. Now with free Wi FiLocated in the town of Ardrossan on the Ayrshire coast, the Lauriston Hotel forms the perfect base to explore the renowned Ayrshire coastline with all associated attractions and amenities. Situated on the waterfront, the Lauriston Hotel also has wonderful views overlooking the Isle of Arran, reached by ferry from the nearby Ardrossan Terminal. The Ayrshire coast is famous for its beaches and seaside resorts and activities. Also well known for the Burn’s trail and a long historical and cultural heritage, you can follow in the footsteps of Scotland's most famous poet Robert Burns and visit many monuments, castles, and other historic sites. And there is of course the golf, for which Ayrshire has become rightly renowned. Turnberry and Royal Troon are just two examples of nearby world class courses and the choice from beautiful parkland courses to championship links golf is sure to keep any golfing enthusiast busy through some outstanding leisure golf and golfing services. Amenities and services at Lauriston Hotel are everything you would expect from such a quality Ayrshire hotel. Our five non smoking rooms offer well presented comfortable accommodation, all with en suite, some with stunning sea views. Dine at our popular restaurant where excellent home cooked dishes are the order of the day and relax in our bar with a drink or our sun terrace of a beautiful summer’s evening. At Lauriston Hotel we cater for private functions, weddings, events and conferences. Our Arran suite holds up to 200 people for your event and our attentive and professional staff will ensure the smooth running of your event and fine-tuned services tailored to your exact requirements ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Lauriston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauriston Hotel Ardrossan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing