We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sick after dinner”
Review of Lauriston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lauriston Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardrossan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Went here for dinner had prawn tempura to start and salmon kebabs when we first arrived one of the chefs was behind reception on computer very unprofessional next day I was in bed with sickness and a runny bottom I would advise all to steer clear and just go to the chip shop I have heard their rooms are ok

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Byron238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed here in March 2013 for 1 night and had a lovely time. We had a family room which was huge. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. Lovely restaurant for dinner with excellent menu and a lovely breakfast the following day. Fantastic views and a wonderful sandy beach with a great childrens playground across the road. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnB213002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Just recently had an overnight here before using the ferry to cross to Arran-we were made to feel very welcome by the staff and the meal we had that night and the breakfast the next day was lovely.The room although slightly tired was very spacious and the bed itself gave a good nights sleep.The Hotels location was excellent as it was directly on the prommenade and within easy walking distance to the ferry if you are a foot passenger.

Room Tip: Room 1 overlooks the front to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorralex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

On a sunny afternoon in February, we chose to sit outside on the decking area at the front of the Lauriston hotel and have afternoon tea. Afternoon tea for two was £10.95 and was good value for money. The array of cakes on the stand were beautifully presented and tasted wonderful. The down side of the large variety of cakes was that there were only two fingers of sandwhich each. For my taste, i would have prefered a balance between the cakes and sandwhiches. The tea was standard and there was no option of speciality teas on the menu. The service was good and prompt and overall we had a great afternoon tea at the lauriston hotel. I would definately recommend this for a nice wee relaxing afternoon tea and if the weather isn't nice there is a large conservatory to sit in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Just been for a fabulous lunch at the Lauriston Hotel. The food was amazing and the service friendly and efficient. Will definetly be back for a visit very soon. Plently of onsite parking spaces which was also bonus .

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We went to the Lauriston for the first time last month and it was great. We were served by a young lady with specs who was very good. Went again more recently but waitresses we had were not so great - didn't get the drinks, then 2 lots turned up, wrong potatoes etc. Ahoy! Aforementioned young lady appeared and a waitress that sounded East European also good. Shame as food was nice but not all staff of a similar standard.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Knockrivoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We are local and have eaten out often at the Lauriston Hotel, the staff are friendly and the chef and his staff produce consistently great quality food.

For anyone reading this review who may not have visited before, the location is just off the beach, has plenty of parking and you can dine in either the bar or conservatory, with great views across the bay.

There are a variety of dishes on the menu with something for everyone and always at an incredibly reasonable price.

We enjoyed a fabulous new year dinner recently and wanted to express our thanks and appreciation,for all of the effort which the owner and staff put into the planning and presentation of a very special menu with food of exceptional quality and great entertainment as well.

My party were full of praise for the staff whose warmth and attentiveness to our needs throughout the evening, was flawless and I would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy good food, in a warm friendly atmosphere.

Thank you all, for making our evening memorable, pleasurable and ...special.

Jim and Sue McHarg

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardrossan
3.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,591 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
310 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,138 reviews
14.7 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
782 reviews
14 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauriston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauriston Hotel

Address: 15 South Crescent Road, Ardrossan KA22 8EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Ardrossan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardrossan
Price Range: £60 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lauriston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since being taken over in April 2011 the Family run, Lauriston Hotel boasts the highest levels of service, accomodation and menus to suit all tastes.The Lauriston retains an individuality of character and style, and offers a unique, memorable, and special Ayrshire hotel experience. Now with free Wi FiLocated in the town of Ardrossan on the Ayrshire coast, the Lauriston Hotel forms the perfect base to explore the renowned Ayrshire coastline with all associated attractions and amenities. Situated on the waterfront, the Lauriston Hotel also has wonderful views overlooking the Isle of Arran, reached by ferry from the nearby Ardrossan Terminal. The Ayrshire coast is famous for its beaches and seaside resorts and activities. Also well known for the Burn’s trail and a long historical and cultural heritage, you can follow in the footsteps of Scotland's most famous poet Robert Burns and visit many monuments, castles, and other historic sites. And there is of course the golf, for which Ayrshire has become rightly renowned. Turnberry and Royal Troon are just two examples of nearby world class courses and the choice from beautiful parkland courses to championship links golf is sure to keep any golfing enthusiast busy through some outstanding leisure golf and golfing services. Amenities and services at Lauriston Hotel are everything you would expect from such a quality Ayrshire hotel. Our five non smoking rooms offer well presented comfortable accommodation, all with en suite, some with stunning sea views. Dine at our popular restaurant where excellent home cooked dishes are the order of the day and relax in our bar with a drink or our sun terrace of a beautiful summer’s evening. At Lauriston Hotel we cater for private functions, weddings, events and conferences. Our Arran suite holds up to 200 people for your event and our attentive and professional staff will ensure the smooth running of your event and fine-tuned services tailored to your exact requirements ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lauriston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauriston Hotel Ardrossan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing