We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stair, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

elaineand...
Coupar Angus, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 11 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

What a beautiful cottage. Set in idylic surroundings, The Barn is just perfect as a base for exploring the surrounding attractions and wonderful scenery. A real home from home with everything to hand, we settled in immediately. I was visitng Ayrshire with my elderly parents and the cottage was immaculate when we arrived. We were met by the owners who were extremely friendly and helpful. Mind you, despite living next door, we didn't see them again until just before we left! They were there however if we'd needed anything - which we didn't. Lots to see in the area and a pleasure to return to the tranquility of The Barn with its enclosed garden, flatscreen TVs and Wi-Fi. Glass of wine inside or out, depending on the weather. What more could you possibly want???

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace, tranquility and cleanliness.
Liked least: Weather - although it could have been worse!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RG123088
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic property in tranquil location”
Reviewed 17 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We loved our stay in The Barn at Daldorch! The barn is a delight to behold. Bathrooms & kitchen are superb, whilst the bedrooms & lounge are extremely comfortable. The quality of all fixtures & fittings make the Barn a real home from home. The location is very tranquil & secluded, though everything you need is close at hand. Bar meals, take aways & shopping are barely 10 minutes away. Ayrshire & Ayr itself are easily accessable from the Barn. We saw the lovely owners occasionally, but we were left as much to ourselves as we wanted to be. We arrived to find a comprehensive pack in the kitchen, so don't worry about your first breakfast. It's on the house

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality & comfort provided
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bjrFife
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top hotel finishes with country cottage charm”
Reviewed 7 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

First impression - wow! Having stayed there for 3 days - Idyllic! Knowing it was recently refurbished for holiday lets, we expected it to be fresh and clean but were blown away by how luxurious it felt. The quality is on par with a good quality hotel but the finishing touches give it a lovely homely feel. The rooms are spacious and there is a lovely fenced garden area which our toddler enjoyed running around. The kitchen is the best equipped I have ever seen in a holiday let and the generous welcome pack let us settle straight in without wondering where to get the basics. The setting is beautiful too, set in a valley between farmland and forest. It feels remote as, apart from the owners house, there are no other properties in sight. However, within a few minutes, you can be on a main road on your way to the many attractions in the area. Really loved this place and the friendly owners really seem to have thought of everything.

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxurious but homely feel
Liked least: Poor mobile signal (but there's not much the owners can do about that)
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.