We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stair Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stair Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stair B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed on several occasions, warm friendly atmosphere. Owner generally behind bar in evening, and cooking breakfast too. Very nice resteraunt appeared full whenever we stayed. Nice lively friendly bar. Warm clean comfortable bedrooms. Wonderfully location. What more can I say.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrightphilips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    33
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
59
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed at the Stair Inn while visiting family in the area. We had a very comfortable room and were very happy with the quality of the accommodation. We were the only people staying for the two nights we were there and as a result had an excellent breakfast cooked to order.

We ate dinner in the restaurant during our stay and were pleased to find that it was easy to get a table at the time we wanted, even though the Inn was obviously busy. The food was extremely tasty and there was a good menu choice.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

A very good option if you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosiepDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balsall Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Enjoyed our two night stay, and staff very accommodating about evening meal times to fit in with our late arrival.

Varied choice of good local produce well cooked and presented. Decent pint of real ale as well.

Rooms very clean and comfortable and friendly landlord.

Well worth a visit

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Forresters6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Was offered a lovely room. The food was lovely, really top class and good value. With drinks for 2 it only came to £56.00. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The owner Davie was also present and chatted to all patrons, myself included as if we were all old friends. Really nice chap.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klawrence1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We frequent the Stair Inn and the food is excellent as are the portions. I cannot fault the beautiful settings or the friendly bar staff esp. Caroline. BUT could you please, please change the menu. I only eat beef and chicken and find I now have been going else where as I have no longer a good choice. I will always go back for the friendly atmosphere but find I first go further afield for food first. PLEASE change the menu, and I will give you a lot more custom. Oh, and the sweets are gorgeous too. I did not stay here as I only stay a very short distance away, but the overall place is beautifully clean and kept to a very high standard.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecatsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumnock
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

we decided to treat ourselves to a nice dinner at the Stair Inn after recently moving to the area and after a heavy day of painting. Different menu from what we expected, but thorougly enjoyable dinner. The restaurant was very quiet, but it was a Thursday. Didn't stay over at the Hotel so cannot comment on the quality of rooms. The young woman who served us was very pleasant. Would recommend it.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank audbodCumnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

just arrived home from 4 days at ayr for the races. Stayed at the stair inn and would highly recommend this place to anyone. Food excellent spoilt for choice, rooms spotless, owners and staff couldn't of made you more welcome. Would definately be returning

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debs2462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stair
0.0 mi away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Stair Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stair Inn

Property: Stair Inn
Address: Stair KA5 5HW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Stair
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stair Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stair Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stair Inn Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing