We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good,service slow”
Review of Stair Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stair Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stair B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Went to stair inn for quiet meal. Busy wee place. Seated within 2 minutes. Chairs not so comfy. Service was slow and we waited 10 mins for someone to take the plates away once we was finished. Really great food. More mash than meat tho which was a let down. Would return.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muddyfox2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Stair Inn this weekend. Itbwas our second stay and we were delighted to return. Dave's smokehouse food is outstanding. The pulled meats are to die for. This is a hidden gem and is a must visit. The staff could not be more friendly and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed.

Thanks Dave.

Ian and Jill McAdam

Room Tip: Go for the kingsize room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely evening meal with smoked salmon starter followed by a melt in the mouth steak. Friendly staff, good wine choice.
Will come back again however next time we will sit bar side as the dining chairs were a bit hard for us. Other than that, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A couple of days away in a cosy little country inn was just what we needed. The place was clean, tidy and welcoming. The room, although small, had everything you need. The bar was well stocked (including a good variety of whiskies!) The unexpected element was the quality of the food. Wonderful barbequed meats (courtesy of the Big Green Egg - has to be seen) and fish smoked by the chef himself. Add this to the excellent made to order breakfasts and you have a recipe for a very relaxing break!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Avril5_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We visited the Inn whist walking the River Ayr Way, so we had little choice of accommodation. My view of the place may have been coloured by staying the previous night at a much better and cheaper Inn.
The rooms were very small and tired, the shower was cramped and lacked pressure. £70 for a single occupancy was very expensive for what was provided.
The food was good and well presented, and did not lack quantity. Breakfast was excellent and set us up for our days walking.
I certainly would not return to stay but would probably eat here again

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank strawberrypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Enjoying the second of our two night stay. Location peaceful and within easy reach of busy places if you want them. Enjoyed our time in Mauchline visiting the Old Kirk Yard and the museum. Our bedroom 3 was lovely and spacious. Food was great both breakfast and dinner. Staff really friendly and helpfull . Owners likewise, enjoyed chatting with Davie. Would recommend you visit.

Room Tip: King room is lovely lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaygirlforever61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here for the weekend to explore some of the Ayrshire coastline and countryside and we were very pleased with our choice. A relaxing atmosphere, helpful and friendly staff and fabulous food. We had breakfast twice and the bacon was like 'real' bacon which is quite unusual these days! Both evenings we ate in the bar (why go anywhere else on the 2nd night), the food was absolutely delicious and it is true about the sticky toffee pudding....cheese cake was great too! Also would recommend calling here for lunch or evening meal on the way to/from a day trip to Ayr - we'll definitely be doing just that :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caldervalleylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stair Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stair Inn

Address: Stair KA5 5HW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Stair
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stair
Price Range: £93 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stair Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stair Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stair Inn Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing