We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! Cold & Unfriendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carberry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Can't help but be suspicious of the groupon reviews, however this is an honest account of our mid week break. first impressions were bad, entrance gates closed, (see pictures) eventually found another way in after negotiating a bad bend on the main road, we ended up on a dirt track with pot holes the size of Bomb Craters, We drove in past the Edinburgh Lodges (which have a six foot fence erected around them) nice view ? ( this is miles away from Edinburgh and not on a bus route) Prayed we wouldn't be put in there. Arrived at reception and waited at least 10 min before anyone arrived to greet us (thought we were the only ones in the hotel). Room was clean but in need of a fresh coat of paint some missing tiles in the bathroom it was small, but adequate (NO TV OR WIFI) sorry but this must be unusual it's 2012.There is a tv room & wifi is available here I think. We wandered to the bar (a broom cupboard under the stair) poor selection of drinks and quite pricey, the evening meal was just okay, the dining room felt cold with no atmosphere,breakfast was better with 3 other guests and an over eager member of staff clearing the tables before people had finished. I had the cornflakes Hubby had the cooked breakfast no complaints. The sunken garden is beautiful but please pick up the ciggie butts at the door and the empty glasses and crockery. Couldn't help but feel the rest of the gardens have been spoiled with (PRIVATE) signs everywhere and I mean everywhere. (see picures) There is strange white markers on the grass, we were told these were boundary pegs. We weren't sure where we were allowed to walk. Personally I go to the country to enjoy the outdoors ,if I wanted six foot enclosures and private signs I would have stayed in town. There seems to be alot of background noise (Heavy machinery and reversing peep peep peeps,) at the pond area, on further investigations we were informed this is a new recycling centre which is due to open shortly. Sadly Carberry Tower didn't do it for me it felt cold & unfriendly with no atmosphere at all.

Room Tip: Don't book the Garden Rooms ( Edinburgh Lodges) no out look
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
50  Thank scotlass508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

Loved are room, food was amazing. Negatives no TV and only found out after reading the other reviews that they had Wi Fi as wasn't informed of this as no information available in our room. The gentlemen in the suit spoiled what was impeccable service on our last breakfast Friday by clearing the table as I was still eating. How Rude! Oh and dodgy tiling in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank north021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I bought a groupon voucher for Carberry Tower. The company was called Amazing Retreats, now I know why! It was absolutely amazing! When I booked I was told there were no groupon rooms left, but I could upgrade to a sovereign room for an extra £30. This was money well spent. We were put in room 207. We later learnt that this was the room in which the Queen Mother stayed when she visited her sister Mary who owned the Tower. It looked onto a rose garden which the Queen Mother gave to her sister as a wedding gift. The room was amazing. The staff were very helpful. The cooked breakfast was lovely. I would definately recommend for a romantic break. It was a bit out of the way but we were able to really chill out, it was so relaxing. Will certainly return. Overall an extemely enjoyable experience

Room Tip: Room 207 was massive with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CATHY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Looking at the other reviews it would appear that I must have been staying at another hotel.
I found the service poor, the room was very small and the linen was dirty, Two single beds pushed together. The food was also cold. The room didn't even have a TV. Staff could not speak english. The atmosphere was cold and unfriendly. When I raised a complaint with the General Manager (Mr Simon Down) his attitude was shocking . I had enough I decided to walk down to the local pub (Dolphin Inn) where I had a lovely meal and chatted with the locals.
To add insult to injury on leaving the hotel I damaged my car on the exit road. This road is more sutable for tractors or tanks. I would not back. You would be better satying at the Premier Inn just 5 min down the road.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank Will186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Dear Sir,

I note your complaint and would like the opportunuty to discuss in detail the problems you identified during your stay. Whilst you believe that you have spoken to me I know that we have not. My contact details are 0131 665 3135 or simon@amazingretreats.com and I would be delighted to talk to you.

I would be very interested in identifying which member of my team you spoke to as this is the first time I have become aware of your complaint.

We have excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and I would be only to happy to discuss with you each of your points raised.

In the meantime please accept our apologies for any perceived short comings in terms of service or standards as this is far from the norm for Carberry Tower.

Yours faithfully,

Simon Downes,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I am currently staying here and would like to add a few comments which may improve the stay for guests.
Myself and partner stayed for two nights under the groupon deal and was pleasantly surprised on arrival, the tower is full if history and the people are very helpful. The building is currently being painted and some of the rooms and areas are tired (I assume they are next to be done). The food is amazing. We caught the train yesterday into Edinburgh from wallyford station and cost 3.70 return this took you into princess street which is great for shopping. We found this information from someone at breakfast and it would be nice I have information like local restaurants and things like this in the rooms. You do need to drive everywhere as the location is out of the town of Musselburgh, though can be located by taxi. The quay on Musselburgh harbour a brilliant place to eat and very reasonable. No televisions in the rooms currently but free wifi so it wasn't all that bad with an iPad. All in all we would recommend and will be back xxx

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olwen101265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and i stayed at this hotel (like many others) by using a Groupon Voucher for £89 for 2 nights. On booking, they didn't have dates available that i wanted without upgrading, but even the extra £40 charge was worth it.
Absolutely beautiful building, with loads of old character, and decoration very much to suit the age/style of the place.
Staff were all very friendly, polite and would do anything to help.
Our room was 202, which had views to the front and side of the hotel, and ensuite was up a small set of stairs - exactly as those 2 rooms would have been laid out forever!! Room was very spacious, and had lovely fireplace, and 'older' furniture in keeping with the room.
The only food we had in the hotel was breakfast, but this was to die for - buffet table for cereals, juices, fruits, with waitresses bringing tea/coffee/toast to the table. Then full Scottish Breakfast as hot option.
If i had to mention any negatives, it would be that our double beds was actually 2 singles zipped together - makes a difference! And although there was a tv and dvd in the room, you can't watch any tv channels - but the lounges are wonderful, and have tv in - this to us actually turned out to be a bit of a bonus on this occasion!
We would both love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on the Groupon offer so did not expect much for the price we paid but nicely surprised when we pulled into the driveway of Carberry Tower, this is a beautiful hotel both inside and out. The staff were friendly and made us feel welcome, we arrived early and taken to the lounge where we were provided with complimentary tea and coffee both freshly brewed. We ate in the restaurant both evenings; the food was fabulous we could not fault it or the service. The room and en suite were small but decorated well and clean. We ventured into Edinburgh on our second day and the hotel arranged a taxi ride which we shared with 2 other couples so it only code £3.50 each for a 15 minute taxi ride to Edinburgh! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a Highland getaway and with it being 15 minutes from Edinburgh this is the perfect location. The only thing missing from this great hotel was information in the room on the service available but this is something easily fixed and did not affect our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room (an actual large double bed) overlooking the rose garden with beautiful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anane_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carberry
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
1,009 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh
11.7 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate

Address: Carberry, Musselburgh EH21 8PY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Musselburgh > Carberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carberry
Price Range: £74 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate is a place of intimate grandeur. And to arrive here is to weave your own journey into a story that goes back to 1480 when our first foundation stone was laid. Since then, we have been a gathering place for Kings and Queens, Princes and Princesses and over the centuries the great and the good have also come to warm themselves by our fires and feast from our banqueting tables. And today, more strongly than ever, the banner that reigns over Carberry Tower continues to reflect the matchless values of excellence, abundance and grace - coupled together of course, with the very warmest of Scottish hospitality. Guests can dine in the Rose Garden Restaurant and enjoy a four course menu designed by Head Chef, commencing with canapes and a welcome drinks reception. Private dining for 2 or banquets can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carberry Tower Hotel Musselburgh
Carberry Tower Mansion House And Estate East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing