We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding venue?Don't be fooled by its beauty our experience was extremely ugly!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carberry
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wedding venue?Don't be fooled by its beauty our experience was extremely ugly!!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A beautiful hotel but don't be fooled! My husband and I had our wedding reception here and from start to finish we experienced the staff to be both unavailable and when reaching them unhelpful. Leaving us frustrated and upset during this special time. The evening of our reception was spent with myself and my husband having to guide guests upstairs to the event leaving some guests confused and unsure where to go. The bar consisted of lengthily queues and complaints of expensive drinks not to mention the bar running out of lager! The room although beautiful in decor proved uncomfortable and cold resulting in no sleep.
On returning from our honey moon we were met by a bar bill that looked like my husband had told all the guests it was a free bar (it wasn't) is was eventually resolved but in no hurry! 2 months on and I am still left dumbfounded, shocked and upset not to mention waiting on a phone call regarding missing items!! Please do not be fooled with its charm and beauty you will find its just the opposite!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Evonne U U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    148
    48
    21
    39
See reviews for
108
329
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a lovely afternoon enjoying the excellent afternoon tea service. As part of our anniversary celebration we were hoping for something really special and the Carberry delivered on all fronts. Amazing setting in the centuries old tower building, steeped in history and set in lovely grounds. The afternoon tea served was a wide selection of finger sandwiches, pastries, scones with cream and jam. Even a small cup of soup and haggis and sausage rolls! Enough to last all afternoon and no room left for dinner. Very friendly and courteous service, and we were left in peace to enjoy in the beautiful drawing room overlooking the drive and gardens. Just fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CameronsFaePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Visited here on an Itison deal for afternoon tea. Whilst the setting is amazing and the interior excellent there were a few issues with the tea. Firstly the cream was missing to have with the scones not a major problem but to be told only one pot of tea available with the voucher deal is to say the least rather mean and did not leave us with a good impression.
The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyholidaymakers49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

A chaotic shambles of a wedding reception with a General manager John not dissimilar to the blinkered captain of the titanic failing to recognise issues as they appear and oblivious to peoples distress as this once beautiful ancient relic sinks beneath the murky depths of despair.

I appreciate all the positive comments some other kind folk have left on this hotel however this was not how we experienced it on our wedding reception. I travel a fair bit for work as a sales director and I know good service when I see it and I thank people for it, but not here – it was dreadful. 2 words.. poor management.

Where shall I start , how about just trying to book the event, after numerous phone calls and messages I heard myself saying to the wedding event organiser `Katie, do you actually want our business as we do have other options ?!’. They just didn’t seem interested or even appreciate we would be spending the best part of £3000 with them – unbelievable blasé attitude. As everyone knows trying to organise a wedding event is stressful and it was made so much worse by not being able to talk to the wedding event organiser throughout the process – the one person you really need to speak with never gets back to you AAAAAARRRGH!!!!

We paid for the most expensive room in the hotel the Royal suite lovely room, shame the bed was impossible to sleep on due to big sag in the middle. it was like trying to settle 2 people on a polo mint you just kept dropping into the centre.

The day of the event..where was the staff ?? myself the groom was organising the arrival of guests and guiding them around the building to where the champagne would be served and running up and down the stairs with wedding gifts until finally the manager offered to help – what the hell was going on ? I was staggered with the chaos it was like it was their first wedding event.
It further descended into farce when the manager announced to me our 100 thirsty guests would not be getting 2 bars as promised just 1 tiny bar downstairs ! With sky high drink charges our guests were looking forward to at least a reasonably priced pint of lager on tap - nope the lager stopped working and the manager was nowhere to be found as usual. The result most of the night myself and the guests spent all night queuing for a drink .…unbelievable.

After returning from our honeymoon the battle with this hotel really began when a massive systems and procedures blunder on our big day meant 2 large financial losses were made apparent. One I can talk about the other is in the hands of the police. Lets just say the systems in this hotel just don`t work even on a basic level, how can guests not be asked for any i.d or signature and start drinking under the bride and grooms room number ??!! yes it realy did happen an unauthorised drinks bill of over £100 was billed to my room. It took the best part of a month to finally get them to refund me..still waiting for an apology to this day.

In short once beautiful venue let down by inept management and staff who are not interested in you, just get in and get out and hand over your money...and don`t bother calling management as you will never get through to anyone

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank luckymonkeymagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Visited as a wedding guest and I was impressed with how smoothly all of the wedding events ran; having just been through my own wedding a year ago, I remember how all the tiny details will hang you, but the venue had everything down to a T and if there was ever anything amiss, at least the guests didn't know it!

Wedding breakfast was of high quality. Breakfast the next morning was delicious but service could have been more attentive.

Our room was gorgeous; we booked one of the smaller suites and it was quite massive, with a spacious sitting area, work/dining table, and four-poster bed. The mattress was extremely firm, to the point of being uncomfortable, so if you prefer a softer bed it might be worth getting an extra duvet and using the existing duvet as a mattress cover for a little extra softness.

Lots of nice thoughtful touches including drinking water jugs left by the sitting area, and heated towel rack.

Wi-fi did not work at all in our room-- we had to go to the common areas, which was not really a hardship, but if you are expecting to get any work done or absolutely must stay connected to te outside world, you may want to request a room closer to the common areas/on a lower floor where the wifi might work better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a lovely wedding venue, Full of olde worlde charm and atmosphere. The gardens are beautiful and fortunately the weather was superb for our friends' stunning wedding. The venue is clearly geared up to functions, food was very good and the event ran smoothly. However the evening prior to the wedding was a disappointment as the bar menu was extremely limited and staff appeared to be in need of more training, Craig however saved the day and was still on duty two days later for Sunday breakfast which was delicious, We stayed in the budget room in a lodge in the grounds. Clean and perfectly adequate although a little tired. But beware lodge owners are refused a Tab at the bar and are therefore made to feel a little inferior to those residents with rooms in the hotel,

Room Tip: Budget lodges are excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bydandbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great castle building and grounds in peaceful location 8-9 miles from Edinburgh. Double room fairly small for the price, with almost unusably small bathroom. A friend had another room which was billed as a double but had a very small bed, queen size or smaller. Food wasn't great and bar service slow; skipped breakfast because looked rotten. Very difficult to find any members of staff when you needed them, and when you found them they were run off their feet / grumpy. I'd think twice about paying the quite high price again.

Basically, it's got the looks but not the substance.

Room Tip: Some rooms were billed as doubles but had very small beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank greenfish45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carberry
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#4 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate

Property: Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Address: Carberry, Musselburgh EH21 8PY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Musselburgh > Carberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate is a place of intimate grandeur. And to arrive here is to weave your own journey into a story that goes back to 1480 when our first foundation stone was laid. Since then, we have been a gathering place for Kings and Queens, Princes and Princesses and over the centuries the great and the good have also come to warm themselves by our fires and feast from our banqueting tables. And today, more strongly than ever, the banner that reigns over Carberry Tower continues to reflect the matchless values of excellence, abundance and grace - coupled together of course, with the very warmest of Scottish hospitality. Guests can dine in the Rose Garden Restaurant and enjoy a four course menu designed by Head Chef, commencing with canapes and a welcome drinks reception. Private dining for 2 or banquets can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carberry Tower Hotel Musselburgh
Carberry Tower Mansion House And Estate East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing