We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carberry
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Truly amazing!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I recently stayed here for a couple of nights, and it truly become my home away from home. From the warm welcome I received at reception, I knew I would love the hotel. And then I was shown to my room! I was lucky enough to stay in one of the suites, which had an amazing bathroom in my own little turret! I was truly sad when I had to leave.

The grounds were beautiful, and the driveway really is a grand entrance!

I would definitely recommend this hotel and I hope to return in the future!

Room Tip: I upgraded to an executive suite, and it was outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissVLC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    152
    48
    21
    39
See reviews for
111
330
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Went to my brothers wedding here at the weekend. It was fabulous!! The venue, meal, staff were outstanding. We also stayed over in the lodges, they were immaculate. Thank you from all the Mackenzies xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I attended a friends wedding here and loved the day. The facilities were amazing and everything was well placed for the complete wedding package. Staff were brilliant, every one of them were very happy and keen to achieve the best in service. No less should be offered and they were all up to the task and they helped make the event an event, not just a special day. They tirelessly gave their all and it was very much appreciated by all the guests that I spoke to.
The only real let down was the cost of the drinks, £7.50 for a Jack Daniels and Coke. This was the only bad part of a great day. I don't mind paying a little over the odds for a beautiful venue with the environment and amazing staff, what I do object to is the over pricing of drinks due to the greed of the owners. Never have I been charged this for a Jd and coke and look at this £9 for a glass of wine. I was almost sick at paying this for a drink at a friends wedding, it is abhorrent.
The hotel and the staff are amazing with all other aspects of the entire day faultless. But the cost of the drinks totally detracted from the day and it was the thing that we some about the next day and not the wonderful day that we should have been talking about.
A wedding should be all about the day and everything associated with the bride, groom and the marriage, not the anger of the guests at the prices at the bar, unfortunately this will be my memory of my friends special day, bittered by the exorbitant pricing, which it didn't have to be.

Room Tip: Get one of the larger rooms, as the smaller ones are tiny. Double? Really more like large single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DylanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Amazing venue, the real experience from reception to bedtime. We had the the best reception friendliest greeting in a long time, and we are well travelled.
From the magnificent driveway, tree lined entrance, you feel like royalty,even the recommended taxi firm R &J's comment and say they love the drive, the comments they get when arriving with new guests in awe of how spectacular it is, and when we had been out at night, the drive was lit up coming back to Carberry Tower.

It was a treat for my husbands birthday so we pushed the boat out, when I looked this hotel up,it gave an opulent feel with grandeur so I surprised my husband when booking, as he is a secret 'downton abbey fan' and this is as beautiful.
The history in this building is real, this shows with the extensive library where we relaxed and browsed a couple of books, the pictures on the walls show how the building once was and is very interesting.
This is a beautiful setting, and easy to get around, the rooms seem to glide in to each other, and the staff are happy for you to ask anything about the building.
We had the dining experience which we loved, the food was good, the delivery was personal.
We had a full Scottish breakfast, for the whole experience but there was plenty of fruit and cereals if you wanted.
We walked around the charming grounds, through the lovely rose garden onto the lawn, and further down beyond the lawn is a rustic haven of wildlife, including pheasants, then late afternoon the rabbits run across the lawn playfully, we watched this whilst having our evening meal from the first floor restaurant.
Think I left the best till last, the bedroom 'we had the royal suite' OMG, fabulous, the bed was so comfortable, we sank into it, the pillows soft and fluffy! It was lovely, the bathroom was warm, with the towels soft and warm for when my husband got out of the shower, I had a bath with the luxury bath/shower products and didn't want to get out!. The room was spacious for us, with TV and nice sofa to relax on. The furniture was very beautiful, very tastefully decorated. I was a bit cheeky and asked if we could take a look at some of the other rooms on our floor so when we go again if we have to have another room at least we know what they are for real! Internet is good but real is real, if that makes sense, they were of the same good standard and decor was lovely, can't wait to go back, a real gem of a find. as I say we had a real good walk around and proper nosey, loved it, sorry if I bored you, but can't say how much we enjoyed the stay, still raving now we are home. So fab staff, fab bedrooms, fab food. Yes it was amazing!

Room Tip: Royal suite was very good room 208, but if you want a separate lounge from the bedroom choose anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaP237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

If you are looking for that perfect venue, then this is just that!!. We had been looking for some time to find our perfect wedding venue and Carberry did not let us down. Nothing was too much for all of the staff, so friendly and the food was just perfect. All of our friends commented on what a wonderful day they all head and this was very much down how, well organised and helpful Stacey and her team were. Good job Carberry you made a special day very special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWGrosvenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We went to view as a wedding venue. Stacey who showed us around was rude and abrupt and not very open to any of our ideas. She then said she would email us prices the next day...a month on we are still waiting! Even though I emailed to ask what was going on. A young couple written off as soon as we got in,clearly because they thought we couldn't afford it. Lucky we have now found a place,were the people seem to care!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank freddy3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your comments which I have taken on board and have addressed in a constructive manner. Disappointingly that there was no communication from your initial showround and please be assured that we are happy to show all couples around our amazing venue with a view to them booking our wedding with us. I can only sincerely apologise you didn't receive the service and courtesy that is consistently delivered at Carberry. I hope you have a wonderful wedding day and best wishes for your future together.

Kenneth Buchanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Went to view Carberry Tower as a potential wedding venue. Stacey who showed us around was not the most helpful,she was abrupt and monotone. She then promised to email the prices the next day...a month on still waiting! A young couple written off because they obviously thought we couldn't afford it!! Would not recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank freddy3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carberry
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
949 reviews
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#4 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,105 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate

Property: Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Address: Carberry, Musselburgh EH21 8PY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Musselburgh > Carberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate is a place of intimate grandeur. And to arrive here is to weave your own journey into a story that goes back to 1480 when our first foundation stone was laid. Since then, we have been a gathering place for Kings and Queens, Princes and Princesses and over the centuries the great and the good have also come to warm themselves by our fires and feast from our banqueting tables. And today, more strongly than ever, the banner that reigns over Carberry Tower continues to reflect the matchless values of excellence, abundance and grace - coupled together of course, with the very warmest of Scottish hospitality. Guests can dine in the Rose Garden Restaurant and enjoy a four course menu designed by Head Chef, commencing with canapes and a welcome drinks reception. Private dining for 2 or banquets can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carberry Tower Hotel Musselburgh
Carberry Tower Mansion House And Estate East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing