We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything fabulous about this place; worthy of ten stars.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carberry
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything fabulous about this place; worthy of ten stars.”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Carberry Tower, I cannot rate it high enough. The pleasant lady on reception made checking-in a pleasure. The next stop was our room (Strathmore Suite), if ever a room had the wow factor this was it. A very large room well furnished with a four-poster bed, it was 'L' shaped leading to a superb bay window further furnished with a table and chairs. The pleasant views overlooked the long driveway, expanse of lawns, and masses of beautiful trees. My wife and I in our young seventies, who have travelled extensively, agreed this was the nicest hotel room we have ever had.
The building itself was intriguing, as you explored the place the sheer history was tangible, you could feel it, a wonderful experience. We stayed for two nights without the necessity to leave the resort, we couldn't get enough of the magnificent hotel and its grounds.
The food and service was up there with the best we have received. Special mention for Ruth who looked after us a meal times, she was always pleasant and highly efficient, the restaurants appeared to revolve around her.
A special mention also for the hotel manager, always helpful and engaging with the residents, and would greet you with a smile every time he saw you. As with Ruth he is a credit to Carberry Tower. In fact all the staff, without exception, were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Strathmore Suite fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, it was a pleasure to look after you both while you were staying with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your "resting time" and wish you the best of health in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    156
    50
    22
    39
See reviews for
117
337
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england uk
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a one night stay at Carberry Towrr near Edinburgh. Everything was perfect and made all the better by the staff who all go the extra mile
We booked via reception and Alissa was very helpful.Kirsty was also great on arrival
In my experience of other grandeous buildings they have all needed a bit of TLC and quite often feel shabby, this is not the case at Carberry Towers. All furnishings and decor are immaculate and very on trend.
We booked the dining experience and were greeted by a very knowledgeable barman and champagne, he educated us regarding the area and history of the property with the royal family
Our canapés arrived and we were waited on by a lovely waitress who had a great balance of friendliness and professionalism . the meal was fabulous
We then attempted to walk to where Mary queen of scots surrendered but got lost, Elena kindly explained the directions for future reference
All in all we had a great time and Carberry towers and staff far exceeded our expectations
Thank you all

Room Tip: Room 205 was great but duvets a little too warm for our liking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy4718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear andy4718

Wow thank you so much for the review you have posted. I am so delighted that we met your expectations on this visit and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Please be assured that a warm welcome awaits you.

Kindest regards
Douglas McCreadie

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Carberry tower will be in my husband and I's heart forever, our wedding was truly magical, this was down to many factors. Firstly the staff, absolutely wonderful especially Ashley (events coordinator) and Douglas in management, so attentive and couldn't do enough for us and our guests. We had a BBQ on the Friday night for 20people which was delicious. Our wedding breakfast was superb and our guests raved about the food all through the day. The grounds are truly stunning, my photographer ended up giving us 440 photos to pick from after he just couldn't stop taking photos from the stunning surroundings! An excellent day at an excellent hotel with excellent staff looking after you every step of the way, thank you.
Louise and Barrie Rose

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Louise R

It was not so much a job as a joy for all of us to be part of your wedding. I am delighted that you have taken the time to post such a wonderful review and I have shared this with the staff. I would love to be able to see some of the 440 photos!!!!!.

Please be assured that should you wish to visit us again there will be a very warm welcome awaiting you. My sincere best wishes to you and Barrie for the future and haste ye back!

Kindest regards

Douglas McCreadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The Carberry Tower was the venue that we had always wished for.

The venue is stunning, the grounds are amazing and on the night the staff where professional and we could not have asked or reasonably expected any more.

However it wasn't all straight sailing, we had issues during the planning stages, as I am sure every wedding does. I would imagine that the main difference was that these issues were discussed, addressed professionally, sorted out and communicated.

If I was asked the question, if you could do it all again would you think about another venue ? The answer would categorically be 100% no.

It was the most special day of our lives and the venue and staff played a vital part in making that happen and without them it would be as special as it was.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Petersivell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed here for a wedding. I got a single room, which was absolutely tiny. The single bed was uncomfortable and the blinds were not effective at all. I woke up at 4:20am each morning due to the sunlight streaming in despite having the blinds all the way down. There was complimentary tea/coffee/hot chocolate which was nice. The wifi signal was not very strong. The grounds were beautiful and the staff were nice. The food was very good. It was a lovely wedding, but I wouldn't go out of my way to come here specifically.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BerraBy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear BerraBy

Thank you for the review you posted following your stay with us here at Carberry Tower. I am obviously disappointed at some of the content of your review. Since taking over a GM I have looked at issues such as those you encountered and ensured that we have rectified the issue.

I am most grateful that you posted the review as it gave me the opportunity to improve the service we supply.

Kindest regards

Douglas McCreadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our daughter and son in law got married at Carberry Tower in June and it was wonderful. The setting is beautiful and there was plenty of space for guests to wander and sit and chat. the rooms are amazing, very comfortable and well appointed. The organisation of the day was quiet and efficient. We never needed to ask what was happening next, there was always someone keeping the day flowing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was lovely and beautifully presented and nothing was too much trouble. we had a truly wonderful day that we will remember for ever.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Lovely place to visit to have a look at how the other half lived.
But to sleep and eat there while working is not the best.if u want to marry there that's great but that's it.and you need to have a car.and the lack of a gym and spa is a bit strange in a setting as it is. The lodges are not the best at all.

Room Tip: The logdes are not the best could do with a touch up and new carpets and lights repaired and automat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carberry
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
4.5 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,343 reviews
3.1 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Prestonfield
Prestonfield
#3 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,120 reviews
14.8 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,251 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate

Property: Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Address: Carberry, Musselburgh EH21 8PY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Musselburgh > Carberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate is a place of intimate grandeur. And to arrive here is to weave your own journey into a story that goes back to 1480 when our first foundation stone was laid. Since then, we have been a gathering place for Kings and Queens, Princes and Princesses and over the centuries the great and the good have also come to warm themselves by our fires and feast from our banqueting tables. And today, more strongly than ever, the banner that reigns over Carberry Tower continues to reflect the matchless values of excellence, abundance and grace - coupled together of course, with the very warmest of Scottish hospitality. Guests can dine in the Rose Garden Restaurant and enjoy a four course menu designed by Head Chef, commencing with canapes and a welcome drinks reception. Private dining for 2 or banquets can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carberry Tower Hotel Musselburgh
Carberry Tower Mansion House And Estate East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing