We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History re-visited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carberry
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“History re-visited”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A very quaint castle ( boutique type hotel ) only 15 mins from Edinburgh and set in beautiful grounds. The history of this establishment goes back to Mary Queen of Scots who was detained here and all the rooms are named after various personalities of the time. Inside the public rooms, library and lounges are exquisite and furnished accordingly.
Bedrooms on the East side look over lawns but they are very small and tight to manoeuvre, the basin in the bathroom was a hand wash not a traditional sink. No curtains only wooden louvres that restricted air flow and the room was very warm and un-comfortable.
Breakfast was included in the B&B deal but was not up to much. No fruit at all and a very meagre sprinkling of cereals etc. Orders were taken for hot breakfasts and while offering a great traditional
Selection service was very slow.
Dinner was based upon a set menu only at £45 per head and we declined.
A great experience but they need to re-look the basics.

Room Tip: Get close to the public rooms the wifi is useless in the rooms and website access is restricted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Many thanks for your feedback on your visit to Carberry.It is always good to receive constructive feedback and we will look into your comments with a view to improve the way we deliver to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    156
    51
    22
    39
See reviews for
117
337
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinvurgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had our wedding here on Saturday 19th July 2014, the bridal and groom party stayed over on the Friday and Saturday night. We cant put into words how wonderful all the staff were during our stay and on the day of our wedding. We would highly recommend Carberry Tower as a 1st choice wedding location the grounds are beautiful and the staff go out their way to make your day and stay as special as possible. All our guest have spoken highly since our wedding about the venue and overall experience. So a thank you to all the staff once again the newly Mr & Mrs Allan

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chelleallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Allan

Wow thank you so much for the wonderful review you have posted following your wedding celebrations with us here at Carberry Tower. It was a pleasure to be part of not only the day but the build up to the day as well.

I am delighted to see that the staff were amazing Ambassadors for the venue and I will ensure that your comments are shared with them.

I do hope that you will find the time to visit us again and in the mean time I again wish you every happiness together and please do keep in touch.

Kindest regards

Douglas McCreadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights on 22nd & 23rd July. We booked a package from Travelzoo which included a 4-course dining experiences on the first evening. After a 4 hour drive from Manchester, we arrived to a warm welcome from the reception staff (thanks Alyssa) and were shown to our room. Our room, whilst basic, was adequate for our stay. After all, when you have two grand libraries and a music room; why on earth would you want to spend more than your 8 hours of sleep stuck in the bedroom! The building itself is amazing. We had a view of the beautiful rose garden from our room - and spent our evenings out here with a couple of drinks enjoying the weather.The function rooms are just as amazing - a snooker hall, library, music room, and an L-shaped lounge. All filled with board games and endless books (and of course, a snooker table). Our dining experience was truly that, an experience. We were greeted with a glass of bubbly, treated to some lovely canapés, and then led through to the dining room where we enjoyed a stunning 4-course meal. We would like to thank Ruth for her wonderful and friendly service our first evening! I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short, peaceful holiday! Only one fault comes to mind; and this is the 10% service charge added to the restaurant bill. It turns out this service charge makes it way straight to head office... not too sure what service they provided. We would much rather tip the staff directly, so this is exactly what we did!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elliotencore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear elliotencore

Just a quick response to say thank you very much for the well balanced review you have posted following your stay here with us. I am delighted to see that Ruth was again a great Ambassador for the venue. I will ensure that you kind comments are shared with her.

I do hope that we will able to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards

Douglas McCreadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My friend and I recently decided to treat ourselves and have a girly weekend in Edinburgh, no kids, no husbands (bliss). We had a lovely two nights in the City centre and decided to top it all off with a night at Carberry Towers. We were wowed from the minute we walked in. The Castle itself is stunning, it really does look like the picture. Infact the pictures do not do it justice. This beautiful building is set in 35 acres of lovely grounds. I wish we could have stayed longer to explore and enjoy the fantastic grounds. The interior of the Castle is sympatheticaly decorated and this works wonderfully well with a mix of old and some modern. Though Boris the Boar (a stuffed pig, not a member of staff) should have been left in his natural environment. You can not fault this place on cleanliness, its immaculate. The staff are fantastic all they want is for you to have a lovely stay and they go out of their way to make this happen. Ruth is the food and beverage manager, this young lady is an absolute credit to the hotel. Ruth should be very proud of herself for the fantastic job that she does. Infact every member of staff we came in to contact with were fantastic. Thank you everyone at Carberry Tower, we will never forget our lovely stay with you. Julie & Andria

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Julie M

Wow thank you for the fantastic review you have posted following you and Andria's stay with us. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to our Supervisor Ruth. I will ensure that a bottle of wine is passed to her with your compliments.

I am delighted that we made such a positive impression on you both and that you found us a fitting last night for your visit to the beautiful city of Edinburgh.

If you and Andria are visiting us again please do drop me a quick email and I will be delighted to assist in anyway I can to ensure your stay is enjoyable again.

Thank you again and kindest regards

Douglas McCreadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I was a guest at a wedding held here, and it was simply beautiful.
The staff at the venue were absolutely wonderful and very helpful and polite throughout the 2 day affair. We stayed at the venue, and the room was lovely. We didn't have a great view but the room was selected for us, so perhaps ask for a specific view if you want one. The bathroom was small, but functional. It only had a shower and no bath, but that was what we needed.

The whole arrangement of the wedding was flawless, everything was arranged and ready for everyone. The food was great and I could tell my friend had been able to add lots of small personal 'touches' throughout the venue.

The separate wedding room was small, and could probably use a few more flowers outside the window to make the view a bit prettier, but the buildings were gorgeous and the main tower absolutely beautiful. It was lovely to sit in the library and enjoy drinks and nibbles as the bride went and got pictures done.

As a guest, this place is great for weddings. Especially if you can stay at the venue!

Room Tip: Ask for a view... some rooms just look out over roof tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday2reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Holiday2reviews

Thank you for the well balanced and constructive review following your recent stay with us. I will ensure that your kind comments in relation to the staff are shared with them. It is great to see that yet again they have been great Ambassadors for the venue.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Carberry Tower again in the future where you can be assured a warm welcome awaits.

Kindest regards

Douglas McCreadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Was at a family wedding a week ago, it's a beautiful castle with loads of character. Stayed in a lovely single room ( 101) but saw lodges and others rooms, all nice. Third floor rooms in the eaves, my room bigger!
No dinner at night for guests but they had provided for wedding group. Breakfast good but could do with a but more style, good food but someone serving would add some class.
Friendly staff but bar seriously understaffed. Staff friendly and helpful all round. The venue do not normally supply dinner so factor that into your plans and the nearest nice resto won't be close!
If you want an ancient Scottish experience full or charm and character it's great.

Room Tip: Room 101 nice single, 303 very cramped double, lodges actually very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schemie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear TadgeHongKong

Thank you so much for the review you have posted following your stay with us. I do hope that you enjoyed the wedding as much as we did.

I am delighted to be able to say that following comments such as yours you have revisited our breakfast and have increased the choice on offer to our guests. I am sorry that you felt the bar was under staffed and this has also been addressed now that we have a new team on board.

Many thanks again for your review

Kindest regards

DouglasMcCreadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

my partner and i will never see 65 again , so one can imagine some of the nightmares we have had over the years.
Not for carberry towers, we found our stay wonderful from the moment we entered the property via the tree lined drive way,I have never gone on first impressions, but I could have with carberry towers,the hotel was wonderful , the staff so friendly and helpful , the rooms were just as good the lower end of the market,mind you we would have loved to have stayed in one of the named rooms, pocket allowing,the food was good had a wonderful fillet steak our first night, and the breakfast were very good, a good selection.
The hotel is close to Musselburgh and a short drive to Edinburg, also a good bus service from musselburgh ,
We would definitely recommend it and go back, peter and john

Room Tip: remember this hotel is not in musclebourgh but in carberry a few miles out of town all rooms seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank creespeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We are all very proud to be working here at Carberry, and it means a lot to have your feedback. Hopefully you will come back and visit and stay in one of our suites for your next birthday celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carberry
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
4.5 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,345 reviews
3.1 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Prestonfield
Prestonfield
#3 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,120 reviews
14.8 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,255 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate

Property: Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Address: Carberry, Musselburgh EH21 8PY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Musselburgh > Carberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate is a place of intimate grandeur. And to arrive here is to weave your own journey into a story that goes back to 1480 when our first foundation stone was laid. Since then, we have been a gathering place for Kings and Queens, Princes and Princesses and over the centuries the great and the good have also come to warm themselves by our fires and feast from our banqueting tables. And today, more strongly than ever, the banner that reigns over Carberry Tower continues to reflect the matchless values of excellence, abundance and grace - coupled together of course, with the very warmest of Scottish hospitality. Guests can dine in the Rose Garden Restaurant and enjoy a four course menu designed by Head Chef, commencing with canapes and a welcome drinks reception. Private dining for 2 or banquets can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carberry Tower Hotel Musselburgh
Carberry Tower Mansion House And Estate East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing