We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome return visit”
Review of Open Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dirleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Open Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dirleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were delighted to return to this beautiful village and to the comfortable surroundings of this hotel. The staff were excellent and our host specially so, taking us up to our room and looking after us throughout our stay. This time we had a double room at the front with armchairs and a good view - the bathroom decor was a bit tired but in most areas the decor is wonderful; there are very comfortable sitting areas and the restaurant has been given a superb makeover in subtle colours. Parking is easy, there is pleasant walking, we were very well looked after and well fed from imaginative menus for dinner, for breakfast and for a light lunch. We hope to return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being at the front on this visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrAdamScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Excellent food, excellent rooms and excellent staff. Can't really find a fault though on a personal note, the conservatory dining is noisy because of the wooden floor. The library restaurant is lovely but has no windows.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal, was extremely well looked after - MUST do this place VERY SOON!
The staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much. The correct side of friendly & formal.
It is well worth the trip from Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Way better value than anything available in Edinburgh and the drive down via Gullane is just lovely. We stayed in room 7 which was large & comfortable. Great dinner menu resulted in the best meal we've had in ages and staff couldn't have been more attentive. Breakfast options were mind boggling; my wife's smoked haddock and poached egg choice looked fabulous.
Whilst there we took a walk round the castle and gardens trying in vain to walk off the effects of the large but brilliant breakfast. Definately going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kd31_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

A really nice and quiet place to stay in the lovely village of Dirleton. The hotel is much nicer than appears on the web site. It is located on the large village green of Dirleton opposite the wonderful Dirleton castle (you must visit).

The rooms are very spacious and very nicely furnished. The beds very comfortable. The communal rooms are also very atmospheric. The breakfast is excellent and served by friendly and professional staff.

A really nice two night stay, Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed one night 29-7-13 at The Open Arms with my two boys and two little dogs. It was a very nice experience. The room for us was no only specious, but we also had a garden directly accessible from the room. The restaurant is very good and the staf very friendly. And on top of that you CAN have free Wifi, not in your room but in a nice room close to the reception. We'll be back!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Juliette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were here for 3 nights in July as we had friends celebrating a birthday at nearby Archerfield House. We wanted to bring our dogs with us hence why we chose the Open Arms. We were very pleasantly surprised by the lovely room which was very spacious and the garden that was shared with other residents. We were made to feel very welcome and all of the staff had an excellent customer service ethos and were very warm and friendly. One of our dogs became ill during our stay and the staff could not do enough to help us sort out our arrangements at what was a very stressful time for us.
the food in both the library and the bistro was good but I would ask for more vegetarian options as when we stayed the veggie choice in both venues was the same, giving no choice for a three night stay. I would add though that a full veggie breakfast is available in the mornings!
The other minor gripe is that there is not WIFI throughout and this is important for us as business owners whilst we are away.
However, overall the hotel in a lovely village very close to North Berwick was lovely and we would not hesitate to recommend to others.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are lovely as you have access to a shared garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dirleton
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,320 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
321 reviews
1.6 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
211 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
362 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Dirleton, North Berwick EH39 5EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick > Dirleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dirleton
Price Range: £40 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned hotel in conservation village. Known for our friendly staff, good food, wine and comfortable lounges. Relax in front of a real fire during Winter weather and enjoy a good book whilst sipping the drink of your choice or sit outside in fine weather in the Courtyard and enjoy the sun. Golf available on the many courses surrounding the hotel and we are happy to arrange a package for you.The little shops in North Berwick, Gullane and Haddington are of interest whilst the Seabird Centre, Museum of Flight and Dirleton Castle are almost 'must do' visits.Return to the hotel to enjoy a pleasant dinner, a good night's sleep and look forward to our ample breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Open Arms Hotel Dirleton, East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing