We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”
Review of Open Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dirleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Open Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dirleton
Certificate of Excellence
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the end of January and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. There was a huge, roaring fire in the lounge which encouraged the guests to sit around and chat. The room was a bit cool early in the evening but warmed up later on. The menu was good and, apart from one hiccup, the meals were excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    63
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
135
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Friends were staying at this hotel so we joined them for an evening meal in the Library.
Friends were happy with their room. Our meal was fine, and the service friendly. The library has limited number of tables, and is a comfortable internal space. There is a bistro with views over the green, but it can be drafty if you sit near the door.
Our meal was nicely presented, but some food was lukewarm despite the piping hot plates, and the sweets were a slightly disappointing, with one being returned as not meeting the description on the menu.
All in all a pleasant experience which could have been excellent with some more care from the kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImacGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We [6 of us] decided to spend a weekend at this old hotel.The rooms were comfortable and clean,our room had the front bay window and we used this for a few drinks before dinner.The food was good and wholesome and a good selection of wine [not too expensive] and we had coffee and after drinks in the large open fire lounge.
We all enjoyed the stay and would certainly return.

Room Tip: The large room with the bay window overlooking the the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel is excellent in every way-- very comfortable-- good food-- top notch staff-- not forgetting the lovely log fires. We shall return! The hotel is in a quiet village surrounded by wonderful golf courses and near the delightful resort of North Berwick. Right opposite is Dirleton Castle which has stunning gardens in the Summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidpollock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

You know you are in for a pleasant experience when the Hotel keeps its restaurant open for you after arriving on a late flight from London. My daughter had chosen the Hotel for her wedding reception and we were lucky enough to get rooms. Its a small hotel, but the standards of cleanliness, furnishing and hospitality are truly excellent and I haven't started on the food yet!

From an ample full Scottish breakfast to an excellent Scottish steak dinner the food was just magnificent. There was even a menu choice for the wedding reception meal instead of the usual "eat what you get" arrangement. The Hotel was beautifully decorated, and the trouble taken to accommodate the reception guests was first class. We are now looking to find an excuse to go back in the Spring. A word of warning to those wedded to their mobiles and web browsing. There is no signal in the hotel but that can be a blessing. We got a mobile signal in Dirleton Castle just across the road from the Hotel and well worthy of a visit. All in all a wonderful weekend, a wonderful hotel and top marks to Management and staff for their efforts.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

What a fantastic place! The Open Arms exceeded all my expectations by being one of the cosiest, friendliest and most comfortable places I've ever visited. Not only that, the food was absolutely superb - with every single dinner and breakfast being packed with flavour. I'd heard it was going to be good, but I hadn't realised just how good it would be! Loving that North Berwick gin too...

At this time of year, the Christmas decorations added an extra cosy element to the hotel and really got us in the festive spirit, but I definitely intend to return during the spring/summer months and see what this fantastic hotel - and the picturesque village of Dirleton - are like at that time of year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have just had a very enjoyable 2 day break at this Hotel, all beautifully decorated for Christmas.

Our bedroom had a huge bay window looking over to the castle.

First night we had Dinner in the Deveau Restaurant and the Library the second night.

Excellent choice of food on both Menu's, all meals nicely presented on piping hot plates.

If you are looking for a cosy hotel for a relaxing Winter break, I would recommend Open Arms.

Sit and toast your toes at the open fire with a nice glass of wine and be looked after by friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dirleton
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,225 reviews
1.6 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
1.9 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
204 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
343 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Arms Hotel

Property: Open Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Dirleton, North Berwick EH39 5EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick > Dirleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dirleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned hotel in conservation village. Known for our friendly staff, good food, wine and comfortable lounges. Relax in front of a real fire during Winter weather and enjoy a good book whilst sipping the drink of your choice or sit outside in fine weather in the Courtyard and enjoy the sun. Golf available on the many courses surrounding the hotel and we are happy to arrange a package for you.The little shops in North Berwick, Gullane and Haddington are of interest whilst the Seabird Centre, Museum of Flight and Dirleton Castle are almost 'must do' visits.Return to the hotel to enjoy a pleasant dinner, a good night's sleep and look forward to our ample breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Open Arms Hotel Dirleton, East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing