We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super hotel”
Review of Open Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dirleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Open Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dirleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is a superb base if you are visiting the East Lothian area perfectly placed between North Berwick and Gullane and is therefore in the middle of golfer heaven.

The hotel is extremely welcoming providing beautiful rooms, excellent service, good food and a great location

The village of Dirleton is well worth exploring with a nice castle,a pretty church and if you can drag yourself away from the hotel a nice pub at the top of the village green.

This was our third stay at this venue and no doubt further ones will be had.

A real gem

Room Tip: I had a ground floor room at the back of the hotel but I suspect it doesn't matter given the qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just had an overnight at the Open Arms. Frst time and recommendations were accurate in nearly every respect. Room was superb (turns out we were upgraded since the room was empty and why shouldn't we use it. A v nice touch.) and could easily have stayed 'en suite' if the weather had beenn poor.
Dined in the Bistro which v busy for a monday night and together with a birthday party in their private dining room this put a little strain on the staff. That said they were attentive and very helpful
Food was good without being great with just a couple of small errors. The mussle and onion stew had been constructed (Onion, cream sauce and mussles heated together rather than being cooked together. It was good but it could have been superb.The terrine had been frozen and the texture sufferd accordingly, the veg with my excellent steak pie had been lying in state under hot lamps with the carrots burned and the red cabbage dry. The latter was also over sweet.
Puddings nothing special but adequate.
Breakfast this AM was excellent. Was it a different chef or just the more leisurly pace? Much lighter touch and we were well set up for the day.
Al in all a very good stay and we will be back but watch need to the small details.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look out onto Dirleton Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlfieC15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Have just spent a few nights here as part of a golfing group of 11 on their annual tour. Without doubt this was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. Friendly and welcoming staff, wonderful rooms and service, and the quality, choice and presentation of the food in Deveaus could not be faulted. Very convenient for the golf courses that we played at, with plenty more to choose from. Highly recommended for both golfers and those who are just seeking a nice evening out with wonderful food. Thanks to Chris & Lyn and their excellent staff for all their efforts in looking after us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bishopmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The restaurant at the Open Arms was recommended by an administrator at our daughter's study abroad school in Edinburgh, so we planned to start our afternoon with lunch there. Our daughter said, "Fiona likes GOOD food" ... and we were not disappointed! Lunch specials include 2 or 3 course meals, with options to combine a starter, main course, and/or dessert. I started with a mussel soup, cream based - absolutely marvelous! The main course I chose was haggis stuffed chicken wrapped in bacon, roasted turnips, and a potato dish with a choice of gravy on the side. My teenaged son declared this meal the best on our whole trip. Other dishes included a beef pie with assorted sides, and a spring risotto. The desserts (chosen instead of the starter by 2 in our party) were equally enjoyable. Only those with a big appetite could manage all 3 courses, I think. The staff were friendly and attentive without being annoying, and the whole experience was wonderful from beginning to end.

In addition to the dining room (with windows along an entire wall), they were also serving tea and coffee and desserts in small seating groups in the next room. This is the way coffee should be served in the States! It was so homey, it made me want to come back here sometime and stay in the hotel.

Other reviewers have mentioned that they went golfing, so I just want to mention that what brought us to Dirleton was the hiking. After lunch we walked a mile or two out of town to the beach looking toward the Fidra lighthouse, then proceeded to hike along the John Muir Way over to North Berwick (?). It was a wonderful and relatively flat hike, right through a wheat field at one point. We had purchased a round trip bus ticket Edinburgh-North Berwick, and just got off the bus early at Dirleton on the way out. If you stay at the Open Arms, you could easily just get a ticket from North Berwick to Dirleton.

After such a wonderful meal, we were glad to have some activity to walk it off a bit!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank KBT1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just spent 4 days at this great hotel in close vicinity of some of the best golf courses. Lovely freshly cooked breakfasts and superb evening dining. Attentive v. friendly staff. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We enjoyed a family get together in a separate room. The service was faultless and the room was excellent. We were a party of 7 and were together to help celebrate a very special relative's special birthday.
Our meal was of a very high standard and could not be questioned. It really was a wonderful occasion and the staff helped make it so.
Oh so tiny question - trifle really did not need to be so heavy with the cream especially for the 'older folks' in the party.
Absolutely great - sincere thanks

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were 4 golfers and stayed 2 nights at the Open Arms. Owner Chris and his staff could not have been more attentive and welcoming. The hotel itself is very comfortable, the food good, and all very fairly priced. We will be returning !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maccaandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dirleton
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,389 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
328 reviews
1.6 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
213 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
530 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Dirleton, North Berwick EH39 5EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick > Dirleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dirleton
Price Range: £40 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned hotel in conservation village. Known for our friendly staff, good food, wine and comfortable lounges. Relax in front of a real fire during Winter weather and enjoy a good book whilst sipping the drink of your choice or sit outside in fine weather in the Courtyard and enjoy the sun. Golf available on the many courses surrounding the hotel and we are happy to arrange a package for you.The little shops in North Berwick, Gullane and Haddington are of interest whilst the Seabird Centre, Museum of Flight and Dirleton Castle are almost 'must do' visits.Return to the hotel to enjoy a pleasant dinner, a good night's sleep and look forward to our ample breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Open Arms Hotel Dirleton, East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing