We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many happy returns”
Review of Dirleton Gallery

Dirleton Gallery
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Dirleton
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Many happy returns”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We used to be at the Gallery almost every week when we lived in the area. Now that we live in town, our visits are a little less frequent, but whenever we are out on the East Lothian coast we try to call in.

This weekend we enjoyed wonderful coffee and scones in the lovely courtyard garden. Everything was just as good as ever: friendly waitress, delicious crumbly scones, plenty of butter and jam. Huge jug of hot milk with the coffee (something that many cafes either forget altogether or serve in a teeny little jug) and generous free top-ups.

Dogs are welcome in the courtyard, which is especially attractive in the summer as it's a real sun trap.

Victoria Knight's paintings were looking good too!

We'll continue to visit the Dirleton Gallery whenever we can.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sconeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Visited this place for lunch choice one soup and 2 different filings for the sandwiches/panini. Ham not good quality bread with soup stale butter hard. Place looked messy dust and cobwebs around. Would never go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fred h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe for lunch in a beautiful village”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We only had a light lunch - soup with bread followed by coffee. We each had different soups and found them excellent, as was the bread. Coffee was great too! The menu of specials was very interesting and we would have had more to eat if we had not been going to have afternoon tea at the Open Gardens event! Prices were very reasonable

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renfrewshireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Respite”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stopped in for coffee and a snack after visiting the Castle. Lucky for us it was a sunny day and sitting in the garden was perfect. The coffee, scone and gingerbread were very good.

Nice display of local artisan merchandise for sale.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlohaTravelerOahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Closed!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Several boards set up around village extolling the Gallery and Cafe with the legend "OPEN". We found where it was, parked the car, anticipated coffee and cakes and (you've guessed) it was closed "for the weekend due to family celebration" it would have been kinder to change the sign boards

Helpful?
1 Thank BurmeseDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dirleton Gallery also viewed

 
North Berwick, East Lothian
Dirleton, North Berwick
 

Been to Dirleton Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing