We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”
Review of Archerfield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dirleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Archerfield House
Ranked #1 of 3 Dirleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bliss”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We attended a wedding with friends at Archerfield. Welcome drinks were held in Archerfield House, which was just sumptuous luxury- roaring fireplaces, secret doors, a throne for a loo- just gorgeous (the bride and groom slept here, and their room was huge and also luxurious). The reception was at the waterfront, and it was also an excellent venue, though not quite as polished.

We stayed in one of the "Lodges", and that was really a treat- such a pity it was only one night! These huge houses are magnificent, with plush carpeted bedrooms, large bathrooms (there are several!), and an amazing living area and kitchen. The whole place is like a big country house, and just so lovely. There were complimentary muffins, fruit, bread and condiments on the kitchen bench (great as an afternoon snack before a big wedding evening), and when we got home we discovered excellent cheddar cheese in the fridge- perfect late night snack!!

Staff were all lovely, and we also visited the spa the next day. This was my first spa experience, and it has possibly set the bar high! The sauna, steam room, relaxation room, and lovely garden views were of course nice, however the real treat was how well designed and thought-out everything was- your own large change room with shower, loo, every toiletry and necessity you can think of, plush towels, robes and slippers, complimentary welcome drink and snacks, and then a wonderful lounge space with huge sofas, fur rugs, stone walls, chilled music and a very Nordic, relaxed feel.

I would definitely recommend the entire of Archerfield as a retreat destination. And if you're a golfer, this is the only course I've ever seen, where all the balls at the practise areas and tees are arranged in perfect pyramids- the attention to detail at this place is amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grummitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    26
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
38
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

I attended an event at Archerfield for 2 days and was lucky enough to experience most of the facilities on offer.
The only way to describe this venue is Outstanding. There are so many options for accommodation from incredible pine lodges to very grand Pavilion rooms and then of course the Mansion House and there's not enough words for me to describe that.
The service from absolutely every member of staff, from the golf club and spa to the house and estate was world class and they clearly enjoy delivering it.
There are so many options available here, all amazing in different ways so its worth visiting the web site to learn more.
All i can say is, it's a rarity to find such a joyous experience - and no i don't work there :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smudla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed here for a wedding and everything about Archerfield is superb - the setting, the facilities, the staff....we can't praise it enough. Each room is luxurious and the (complimentary) food and drinks provided in the house are great. We had an army of staff for the wedding and each one was 100% helpful no matter what you asked for and when. The catering at the wedding (at The Boathouse - same estate) was second to none.

Before wedding: relaxing in room with G&T (bottle of gin in the room), after wedding: light snack from the fridge downstairs, glass of wine from the rack, day after wedding, waking up looking at the window over the golf course and to North Berwick with Nespresso coffee. We didn't want to leave - stay here whenever you can!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShonaReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temse, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I stayed at Archerfield House for one night during a business trip, on invitation of a business partner. However, the place has absolutely nothing of your run-of-the-mill luxury business hotel, because the approach of the whole place is far too personal for that.

From the very moment you come in, the staff do as much as you can to make you feel at home, with a warm and kind smile and the kind of discreet presence you expect from intimate luxury lodges.

And then there is the house itself. The whole place has a wonderful, very authentic old England charm about it without degrading into kitsch. The word 'luxurious' does not suffice to describe just how opulent the decoration of the rooms is and how much grandeur the whole of it breathes.

I had had a very long day when I arrived and booked a massage in the Spa. I must say that the whole Spa area is beautifully decorated as well and that the people who work there are even more heart-warmingly kind than those in the House.

I can only advise you to try Archerfield House for a private holiday. It is a wonderful, wonderful place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AutoBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dirleton
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
2,228 reviews
1.0 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
2.5 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
204 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
344 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archerfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archerfield House

Property: Archerfield House
Address: Dirleton, North Berwick EH39 5HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick > Dirleton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dirleton
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Archerfield House Dirleton, East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing