We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Busby Hotel(Clarkston)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redhurst Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bruce Hotel(East Kilbride)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Torrance Hotel(East Kilbride)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveller rating
557
144
25
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
557
144
25
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suiteexcellent hotelwedding receptionhigh standardfull scottish breakfastlovely decorbusiness tripfirst classstaff were amazinghaggisfunction roomhome from homemany thanksfrom start to finishsteak piewedding venuewould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 750 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I got married here last month. From when we started planning our wedding, the staff were fantastic. Carolyn and Russell ensured our day went without a hitch. In fact, it was no issue for reception when I changed the table plan at 10pm the night before out wedding! The food was fantastic which I think was a credit to them given we had 90 guests. One of our guests had the veggie option and said it was the best vegetarian meal they had ever had!
The hotel is beautifully decorated and very well maintained. The function suite is lovely and just the perfect size, it felt really intimate without being cramped.
Lots of our guests stayed overnight and were all really pleased with their rooms. The Honeymoon suite is absolutely gorgeous and fantastic for photos too!
The wedding package they have is, in my opinion, fantastic value. The only thing I thought was a bit expensive was the flowers. I had to put money towards the table centres and they were pretty basic but I should maybe have asked the florist for an example.
All in all, myself and my husband and all our family and friends had a wonderful day! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillianbeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We recently got married at the Eglinton arms and have to say it was an amazing day. Carolyn and Russell made our day perfect and have to say all went without a hitch. We loved the hobeymoon suit and really was happily surprised for the personalised gift in the room. The only thing I would comment in is the room charge of £3.00 if you want something brought to your room. All my guests really enjoyed their meal as did we. Thank you again for making it and amazing day

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorna1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I got married here in July 2013. From the get-go, all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Carolyn was more than happy to accommodate us and our 'brew dog' themed table decorations and favours. The Eglinton Arms was the perfect size for our wedding and the private bar provided the extra space we needed for people to have a breather from all the dancing. The honeymoon suite is absolutely beautiful and we were able to take some fabulous photos in there after the meal (would definitely recommend doing this to future brides and grooms!).

The day before the wedding, Russell (out master of ceremony) reassured us by being the epitome of calm and taking care of the last minute bits and pieces.

We got married in the Church across the road and held the reception at the hotel. Everyone commented on how stunning the hotel decor is, we loved all the stags heads. Our tables had been decorated beautifully and exactly how we wanted them. They had even printed our table names (our favourite brew dog beers) with photos of the beer bottles on them. The food was great and the service was perfect. Everything went to plan and seemed seamlessly organised. The dance floor was a good size for dancing to the band;it's not too big and so felt bustling all night. The ceilidh dancing was a bit of a tight squeeze which just added to the fun!

Russell seemed to think of everything to help us enjoy our day; left over bacon rolls from the buffet were kept for us to munch on at the end of the night and he collected all our table decorations for safe keeping! We had asked for our table flowers to be kept to give as gifts to some relatives and again this was done without any complications.

Overall we were extremely impressed by the service provided by all the staff at The Eg. They are always keen to help, no matter what the request! We were particularly impressed by Russell- he is awesome!

Thanks so much for helping us, our families and friends have an amazing day which we will never forget!

Mr and Mrs Scally xxx

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

If you are looking around for a wedding venue and considering the Eglinton Arms then just book it - you won't be disappointed.

We got married here on 5 October and were so happy with our choice. When considering the venue we just liked the location, set up and friendliness of staff so went ahead with our booking. Not the most important aspect for us but have to say that it was excellent value too,

So, onto the big day. Well everything we had asked for and co-ordination of the day was just perfect. Carolyn and Russell did an amazing job with the preparations, managing the day and just going out of their way to make sure we were happy. The ceremony was set up as requested and looked a perfect setting. Then, out for photos, and when we returned the tables had been set up for the reception and looked fantastic. When it was time to serve the food, service was amazing and all of a sudden staff appeared to make sure everyone had their food at the same time. The turnaround for the evening reception was again swift and the setting for the evening was just perfect.

Our friends and family all commented about how impressed they were about the food, the quality of the rooms, the customer service from the staff at the hotel and the general relaxed surroundings of the hotel which enhanced the whole day.

For us, the icing on the cake (pardon the pun) was all of the little things that the hotel did such as the gifts in the honeymoon suite, help and suggestions with the table place settings, flexibility with the menu structure and coordinating the evening entertainment (we had 2 casino tables and the hotel staff thought it would be a good idea to set this up behind a curtain to surprise our guests).

So food, rooms, venue, staff all 5 starts from us. The Eglinton Arms was the best choice we could have made for our wedding venue and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone else. Save yourselves the time of looking round and just book this place. You won't be disappointed!

Thank you to all at The Eglinton Arms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m1ster_wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We recently got married at the Best Western Eglinton Arms and had an amazing day with our guests thanks to everyone who works there. From the minute I was ready, I felt relaxed knowing everything was taken care of under the watchful eyes of Carolyn and Russell. All myself, my new husband and guests had to do was to enjoy every minute!

From the moment we booked the venue, every detail was taken care of and we both feel we had a very personal service all the way through the process and at no time were we made to feel like it was just another wedding. Wee touches like having our honeymoon suite decorated by the hotel and a congratulations card from Carolyn and Russell were lovely and appreciated.

The food was outstanding and although my dress was very fitted, I did manage to make room to enjoy it! Guests loved the meal as well as the rolls and bacon in the evening -although my dad complained he only got one!

Any requests I had eg arranging for our photographer to set up a slide show for our evening guests and a sweetie table were welcomed by Carolyn and co-ordinated prior to the wedding day where best to set up in the function room to ensure everything went smoothly.

Staff on reception were fab arranging room bookings, even arranging adjoining rooms for myself and bridesmaids the night before the wedding. They were happy to help with any room reservation changes and were always friendly and welcoming on any dealings I had with them.

The rooms were well appointed, clean and nicely decorated as was the hotel throughout.

Everyone who works at the Eg work hard and do an amazing job. We must say a special thank you to Carolyn for helping with the planning, preparation and giving us a gentle nudge if we overlooked organising something! Another special thank you to Russell for guiding us through the day, watching over everything and for out-bantering my dad!

Our guests still comment now about it being the best wedding they attended in a long time and we couldn't ask for anything more.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Googles82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews