We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food let down by staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Eaglesham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice food let down by staff”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I have ate here 3 times in the past month as well as the odd visit in the past (once every few weeks) Both on our own and also with the kids. The food is more than decent and presented well.

But, although we enjoy the food we both agreed as we left the restaurant on Saturday nigh that it would be our last visit. Every time we have been in we are unfortunate enough to have at least one time where the most dour and unpleasant female would serve us.

Older lady with short, dyed blond hair should really learn to crack at least a smile and understand that manners are the cheapest thing going. On Saturday past there was 2 younger version working with her who seemed to be motivated by her attitude and was similarly disinterested and unhappy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GottaBeSure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
First of all, that you for taking the time to post your observations and your kind comments concerning the food. I was very disappointed to learn about your experience with the staff however, as most have been working here for years and enjoy their job, generally going the extra mile to ensure an enjoyable visit. We failed on this occasion and for this I apologise and I would be delighted if you could contact me to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    131
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
180
200
18
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My wife booked the Eglinton Arms for my 60th birthday party on the strength of the lovely experience we had when dining on our anniversary night last October. A further, highly enjoyable, Christmas Day Lunch ensured that we had made the right choice of venue for my big night.

We weren't disappointed! Carolyn and her staff were kind, helpful, efficient and very responsive to our needs and made the whole experience a worry free and memorable night. We used the resident DJ, James, who accommodated all our musical choices and our guest's requests.

The buffet was original and a great success with all. The fish & chips were talked about by everyone who had them. Breakfast was similarily delicious with a good choice for all diets.

We stayed over in the 'Honeymoon Suite' and would recommend it, not only to newlyweds, but to anyone who wants to have a special pampered evening. The feedback we have had from many of our guests that stayed over was also very enthusiastic, everyone commented on how lovely their stay was.

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It is by far the best for many a mile and will be used by us for special occassions and whenever we want a special dining experience. Do join us!

Room Tip: All the rooms have rcently been refurbished, so you can't go wrong. Honeymoon suite is pure fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North-East Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Haven't visited here for a good 10 years but it was convenient for visiting friends in the area, it's had an overhaul since then, and has a really nice warm feel of a far more expensive hotel. Check in was seamless, room was as expected but very clean, had a lovely skylight with electric blinds. Slightly noisy overnight, walls could be a bit thicker, and I think there were children in the next room who were boisterous (as children tend to be!) in the morning.
Breakfast in the morning was a bit limited, not many cereal options, and there was one yoghurt... Service good.
Would go back for the price and convenience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bevdc823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The following email was sent to reception@eglintonarms.co.uk on 23/02/14 and still no response..

Earlier today I visited the Bar Grill at the Eglinton Arms with my wife and two children (7 and 2). What was essentially a pleasant experience was tainted by the meal provided for one of my children in particular.

We ordered Tomato Pasta for one of our children and when it arrived what was presented was an adult size portion of spaghetti drowning in tomato sauce. What appeared to be the restaurant manager was serving us and he immediately apologised about the size of the portion. We then stated that had we known it was spaghetti we would not have ordered this for our two year old daughter (in our experience a menu usually makes a distinction about spaghetti rather than other pasta). Again the man serving us immediately apologised and said that it had previously been pasta but for some reason had been changed.

Our 2 year old daughter was unable to eat very much of this meal and at the end the same man came to clear the table. He immediately apologised again and said that he could not understand why this had been changed from normal pasta especially as the chef had two young children himself. He said he had spoken to the chef and that the old style pasta would be brought back on the menu as soon as possible. He once gain apologised and said that our comments would be passed on to the chef. However, despite all of this we were still charged the full £5.95 for a meal that we obviously weren't expecting, the man serving us didn't expect to be providing to customers and quite frankly even if we had been expecting spaghetti was actually covered in far too much tomato sauce.

I feel I should bring this to your attention because what was in general an enjoyable visit was somewhat diminished by the Children's Menu and would certainly question us bringing our children.


....We didn't even mention that they forgot the beans for my other child! Just can't believe they haven't even responded. It is a nice place but it let itself down during or visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ayrshireblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you taking the time to tell us of your experience - for the 2nd time! Customer feedback is invaluable to us to hopefully improve the service we offer our guests, including the youngsters.
Having now spoken with chef, shaped pasta will be served in future with our new children's menu rather than spaghetti - which should be much easier for them to eat. Apologies for not replying to your email immediately - no excuses there and I will be contacting you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tayport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary and our experience could not have been better. Staff were attentive, helpful and friendly, the room, newly decorated, was a delight and the evening meal and breakfast could not be faulted. Overall a wonderful stay and one which I would highly recommend.
We had mentioned in passing that our stay was for our wedding anniversary and on our arrival we found we had been given the 2nd best room in the hotel (the best is the Honeymoon Suite, so no complaints at not being given that room!). Also, a wedding anniversary card had been left for us, which was a very thoughtful gesture.
We would have no hesitation in staying and dining at this hotel again.

Thank You!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themcmanii1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Quiet mid week 'pre theatre' / 'early dining' meal. Nice choices. Starter of poached pear salad with blue cheese & walnuts was tasty but disappointing in the minutely small amount of cheese lost in a bed of rocket. Main courses were tasty but again the chicken served with mushrooms and leeks on potato fondant was lacking much in the way of veg though succulent. Desserts were BIG though the sticky toffee pudding had to request extra caramel sauce as a little dry. Bottle wine was a bit overpriced making a nice quiet midweek evening meal unreasonably priced (compared to many other establishments)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beverley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Fantastic one night stay at this hotel. It's not massive, but it offers great service and really good food. Everything was well presented and the staff were really polite and would do anything to make sure the guests were well catered for. Will definitely stay and/ or eat here if I'm in the area again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostTourist07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eaglesham
11.9 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
605 reviews
3.2 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Newton Mearns
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
676 reviews
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
5.0 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel

Property: Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel
Address: Gilmour Street, Eaglesham G76 0LG, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Eglinton Arms Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Renfrewshire > Eaglesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eaglesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1835, the BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel is an old coaching inn, privately owned set at the edge of the village green in the heart of the rural village of Eaglesham. Highly reputated locally and open for meals all day, the split level restaurant is tastefully decorated with feature fireplaces, tartan carpets and stag's heads with a nod to a Scottish country house hotel with a modern contemporary twist. The hotel has 34 en-suite rooms, comprising single, double & twin options as well as a banqueting suite catering for up to 120 for weddings & family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel Eaglesham, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing