We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Eaglesham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

For the first moment we met Carolyn Stark we felt confident in her knowledge about holding our wedding. The day was just perfect from start to end. The room for our ceremony & reception was beautifully decorated & anything I wanted to include was done exactly as I asked. The food was stunning & all my guests commented on how good the food (and drink) was. Nothing pretentious, just good food done great. Our honeymoon room was beautiful & we were just gutted we couldn't spend more time in it!!
Overall I would highly recommend the Eglington arms & it's staff for a lovely dinner or your special wedding day. Can't wait to go back for our 1year anniversary. Thanks again to everyone at the hotel for our wonderful wedding day.
Caroline & roger Wilson

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peg79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thanks very much for your very kind comments, take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

I haven't been here for many years although my parents often go for lunch and rave about it. Eventually they took us as a treat and it was just that a real treat. There was a large choice of food, it was extremely well presented and most importantly delicious. There were six of us, we all had different things and everyone was delighted with their choice. Also excellent value at £130 for three courses for six adults. Just give it a go. If you don't know Eaglesham it is a lovely wee town for a stroll after dinner and plenty of parking at the hotel. What more do you need for a pleasant evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ACandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Booked a table for 10 for Father's Day lunch. Food was lovely but portions very small. Waitresses done their best and were very polite but understaffed. Service was very slow, an hour between courses. No excuse as all tables were family's and obviously booked in advance . Bad management. Atmosphere and decor was good. Just a pity about the long wait . Worth a visit if you have lots patience. Over three hours from start to finish .

Room Tip: Only in for lunch.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterthepainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to make your posting. I have discussed your comments with the staff concerned so please accept my apologies for the delay with your meal being served, but I am delighted to see that your enjoyed your lunch and I appreciate your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Headed here for a quick bit to eat last Saturday [7th June 2014] have been a few times previously when this was formerly Simpson’s and then when Best Western just took over. We didn't really know what to expect as we hadn't been for a long time, but to say we were impressed it some what of an understatement, yes there were a few problems but mainly with the service not with the standard or quality of the food. Service problems were probably down to a wedding was taking place and as you can expect all attention was focused on this, we had to ask for drinks and glasses to be cleared, just small things which make the dining experience go smoother, we were not asked if our meal was okay at any point during our visit. Arrived around 3ish entered through the bar area were met by waiting staff who asked if we had booked which we hadn't, we were told there may not be a table available, on looking throughout the restaurant it was empty, another gentleman approached [presume he was a Manager] he advised the waiter that the next booking was not until 7pm, which we would be plenty of time. After this initial confusion we were quickly seated, same waiter took drinks order and this arrived promptly, another member of the waiting staff arrived to take our food order, we opted for Cullen Skink, Fricassee of Mushrooms and Grilled Black Pudding to start, followed by Roast Supreme of Chicken, Slow ?Braised Steak Pie and Fish and Chips. My husband is a bit of an expert on Cullen Skink and often makes this himself so he has it everywhere he goes to compare, he said it was delicious, the black pudding was slightly "claggy" for me but tasty, the mushrooms were amazing. Main Courses arrived slightly slow and in our opinion had been left under the lights for a wee bit too long, the sauce on the chicken was starting to develop a film and the fish batter was turning slightly soggy, but none of these issues put us off the main taste of each dish, the steak pie was full of succulent chunks of tasty beef. Even though we were stuffed we decided to have desserts husband and daughter had Sticky Toffee Pudding to share this was enormous and gorgeous, I had cheese and biscuits, this is the first time I have been told if more biscuits were required just ask and ask we did. Price for lunch was around £70 for food and around £30 for drinks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjip_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you so much for your posting, I am delighted that you have returned to the 'Eg' and found us again and I am glad you enjoyed your lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

attended my sons wedding here,on sat 7th june the hotel is just fab.the food at reception fantastic same as the restuarant this hotel will take a lot of beating.but best of all are the staff.angela&barry and the rest of the gang where 1st class.the rooms are beautiful ..go for room 22.this hotel is a gem.

Room Tip: room 22.lovely big room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roblibbyfaescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We booked this as an additional night on a tour of Scotland we'd already arranged. We got an exceptional rate for bed and breakfast and we chose to have our evening meal there too. Both meals were excellent. Food and drink a little bit pricey but no more than other hotels. The hotel itself is tastefully decorated and has a really nice atmosphere. All staff were helpful and friendly. Handy for Glasgow being about 30mins away where we were headed for the next night. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eaglesham
11.9 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
700 reviews
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#5 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,432 reviews
3.2 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Newton Mearns
111 reviews
19.9 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel

Address: Gilmour Street, Eaglesham G76 0LG, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Eglinton Arms Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Renfrewshire > Eaglesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eaglesham
Price Range: £56 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1835, the BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel is an old coaching inn, privately owned set at the edge of the village green in the heart of the rural village of Eaglesham. Highly reputated locally and open for meals all day, the split level restaurant is tastefully decorated with feature fireplaces, tartan carpets and stag's heads with a nod to a Scottish country house hotel with a modern contemporary twist. The hotel has 34 en-suite rooms, comprising single, double & twin options as well as a banqueting suite catering for up to 120 for weddings & family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel Eaglesham, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing