We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Eaglesham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kegworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We checked in really late due to attending the commonwealth games, the night porter was helpful and friendly and although there was a loud wedding on when we got to our rooms we couldn't hear a thing.
Breakfast was cooked to order so was lovely and fresh, staff were really friendly.
Just a shame we didn't get here earlier to enjoy the hotel more!
will definitely be staying again if we are in this neck of the woods!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bear11031986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    126
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
178
197
18
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel in order for us to attend the Commonwealth Games. The room only rate was probably a lot more due to the Games being on, and our room was quite a small double with very little space to put our luggage, but that's a minor thing when your only using the room to sleep in! It was spotlessly clean and well decorated. There was a good choice of food at breakfast, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Overall, excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, thanks for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Went here for a meal with the family, to meet relatives that live in the area.
Reserved table was ready when we arrived and orders were taken quickly, with the meals coming out together, so no-one had to wait.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

More impressive than the pictures! Arriving late the restaurant was closed but they still went out of their way to at least make us a sandwich each - it was amazing! The rooms were fab and followed on from the swish decor throughout the main areas of the hotel. Enjoyable stay and every team member was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was also outstanding. I have nothing to fault what so ever!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband & I returned home yesterday after a week at this hotel.This was our 6th visit in just over a year,I think this speaks for itself.!!
The Eglinton is not the biggest hotel ,or the highest star rated hotel I have stayed in but is streets ahead of the rest.
The management & staff are wonderful,each and everyone of them,they can't do enough for you & go way beyond their remit.After so many visits they are like family to us.
.
The food is superb,service great & always delivered with a smile.
Rooms are spotless & beds super comfortable,tea & coffee in all rooms,loads of plugs to charge phones etc and in fact something I have never had in another hotel is a 24hour plug,which is great if you want to charge a Ipad or the like you can leave it plugged in all day & its ready when you return.

I just want to mention something else about the housekeeping staff.I was over last November for a important family occasion,I had major spinal surgery just 3 weeks prior to my visit and was still in a lot of pain.Each morning when I went down to breakfast those girls went in & serviced the room so as I wasn't disturbed again if I needed to lie down .They were amazing.

I actually hadn't planned to write a review on this visit as I have already reviewed it three times & there's not much more I can praise about my "perfect" hotel,but I was incensed when I read a recent review about not getting a refund when checking out early.Surely this person must know if he is so well travelled that all hotels have to follow policies and if he had booked knowing it was non refundable,what did he expect.Coming up to the Common Wealth games all local hotels have to stick to their policies & the Eglinton are no different.If he doesn't want to visit again because of this it's his loss.

Personally I can't wait to return.!!!

Room Tip: I normally have one of the rooms with velux windows,but if you would prefer not to have one of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishpat49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Date stayed 28th June 2014

Myself and my wife were attending a wedding here and decided to book a room for the night. The room as huge and spacious, very well decorated and very very clean.

The room had everything we needed and more, the beds are so comfy we never wanted to get out of them. The skylight was a nice touch to the room, with the controls to operate the window and blinds were on the wall next to the desk.

Breakfast was OK, for the amount I paid I was hoping for a little more however it was enough. A bit more choice would have been good.

Staff nice and friendly, if I asked for help with anything, it's was never a hassle for them. I couldn't have asked for a better stay.

Take care, and thanks for a great stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolynStark, Manager at Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to your breakfast, we feel we offer a wide selection with haggis, haddock & smoked salmon options offered in addition to the full Scottish breakfast items with a choice of starters from the buffet table, and I would be delighted if you could suggest additional items we could offer in the future?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Friendly welcome yet again by the staff, clean comfy rooms, beautiful decoration. Meal in restuarant - the chefs special was faultless, you could have paid twice as much for it and it was delicious, duck breasts cooked perfectly slightly pink. The only complaint I have is the coffee at breakfast is so weak, it would be much better if they used cafieres or served it stronger.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eaglesham
11.9 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
5.0 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel

Property: Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel
Address: Gilmour Street, Eaglesham G76 0LG, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Eglinton Arms Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Renfrewshire > Eaglesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eaglesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1835, the BEST WESTERN Eglinton Arms Hotel is an old coaching inn, privately owned set at the edge of the village green in the heart of the rural village of Eaglesham. Highly reputated locally and open for meals all day, the split level restaurant is tastefully decorated with feature fireplaces, tartan carpets and stag's heads with a nod to a Scottish country house hotel with a modern contemporary twist. The hotel has 34 en-suite rooms, comprising single, double & twin options as well as a banqueting suite catering for up to 120 for weddings & family events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow South Eglinton Arms Hotel Eaglesham, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing