We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our wildest expectations...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carnbooth House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Clarkston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Me and my wife had our wedding reception at the stunning Carnbooth House on 14th June 2013. Everything from our initial conversations to our demands for the day (there were plenty- sorry!) were handled with the upmost courtesy and professionalism.

The day itself can be summed up in one word- wow! Everything from the beauty of the marque to the quality of the canapes was beyond anything we imagined. On the latter, one of our guests who suffers from allergies was given her own plate of nibbles, unprompted and without us asking. That summed up perfectly how good the staff were. They could not do more if they tried. The rooms were out of this word, the food was outstanding (the best they've ever had at a wedding, according to some guests).

I could go on and on and on about how brilliant James, Ron, Alana and staff are but I would soon run out of superlatives. Needless to say we would without doubt recommend Carnbooth House as the perfect wedding/special occassion venue. A real gem. Go see for yourself!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jach1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

The recent wedding reception held here was faultless. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating, the food was of an excellent standard and the area where the reception was held was beautifully lit in the evening - all just perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthSomersetMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Was not feeling my best, so my Mum took us out for lunch instead of me cooking.
We went to the Carnbooth , and on arrival, were greeted by a lovely young Lady, who took our coats and showed us through to the cocktail lounge.
The young Team supervisor came to take our drinks order, and on noticing my sour throat, offered to get me a honey and lemon drink to sooth it! What great service!
The food here is exceptional, I had ordered the braised beef, but as there was a problem with it, the waiter offered the rib eye steak instead, it was utterly delicious ! I can't recommend this hotel enough! The food is wonderful, the staff are polite and attentive , and the setting is just to die for! Will return again and again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This is a gorgeous country house hotel, full of character and charm and unlike a lot of older properties it wasn't tired or dated. We stayed in the Hazel room which was sumptuously furnished with the biggest bed I have ever slept in! Equally the bathroom was huge and immaculately clean.
We had dinner in the restaurant which was very well presented and very tasty and the service was second to none. Breakfast was acceptable, possibly cooked en mass ready to be plated as some of the items were only lukewarm but it was plentiful and filling.
For us the real stars of the weekend were the staff who could not do enough to ensure we had a perfect stay. From opening doors to topping up wine glasses to directions to local attractions, nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were so friendly and welcoming, they are a real credit to the hotel.
We will definitely be returning to Carnbooth

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I'd read previous reviews of this hotel and restaurant so I was fairly worried. We were going for my father-in-law's eightieth birthday celebration long (!) lunch. It had to be done just right. The other reviews had warned about going when there were big other functions on and I knew a wedding reception was due at about the same time as our 'do' in a private dining room. Oh dear.....TOTALLY WRONG- everything was done professionally, smoothly, without fault. Excellent reception, homemade birthday cake was whipped away and represented when we wanted it, the welcoming and bar staff were great and the meal was both well presented and scrumptious. We seemed to have at least two staff assigned to us throughout the meal, ready to take orders for more wine(v. good wine list, short but varied and the prices were OK). And yes there was a large function on at the same time but our service was not affected. This was a spiffing place which I would use again. And. again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Having just stayed at this wonderful location , have to say it was nothing but bliss. I treated my fiancée for a surprise for her birthday on a group on deal. On arrival I knew this place was going to be special, the charm and character of this building is lovely, we stayed in the mulberry which was brilliant four poster bed and a great bathroom with roll top bath. On the deal a three course meal was included on the first night, couldn't fault this at all as also the breakfast on each morning, the egg benadict was delicious, all in all this place has the lot and will be returning again, special mention to the hard working staff, sasha,holly, and Alana who are a credit to there management.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We were given a two night stay at this beautiful country house as a gift which was purchased through Groupon. When we arrived and were pleased with the external look of the Hotel, the general warmth of the welcome and our accommodation which was in the Sycamore room with views of the garden in front. The room was spacious, nicely decorated, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was also spotless with a choice of overhead or hand shower over the bath. Towels were fabulous; large, brilliant white and very fluffy! The interior of the hotel is full of charm with lots of dark polished wood and comfortable furnishings. The small lounge bar looks out over the garden and we were lucky enough to spot some of the wildlife while having cocktails and some wine!! We found the staff offered excellent service and attention to detail at all times and were a delight to deal with. Food was generally very nice (would personally recommend the Ravioli!) however it was let down slightly by the breakfast which is said to be cooked to order but we felt it was mainly the eggs which were cooked to order with the rest being already cooked and waiting to be plated. This meant that some of the other breakfast items were a bit hard (bacon) and luke warm.A small gripe in an otherwise very enjoyable couple of days. If looking for somewhere to be well looked after that is quiet and relaxing and in close proximity to Glasgow then Carnbooth House should certainly be considered.

We would suggest a small sign in the village of Carmurnock (where the Sat Nav takes you to if you enter the Postcode for the Hotel) which would be extremely helpful as we had to find a local to ask for directions! It's straight on through to the end of the village and right at the roundabout then first left!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thebairds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarkston
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
817 reviews
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 93 in Glasgow
919 reviews
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Macdonald Crutherland House
#5 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,476 reviews
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnhouse
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnbooth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnbooth House Hotel

Address: 80 Busby Road, Clarkston G76 9EH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Renfrewshire > Clarkston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clarkston
Price Range: £125 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnbooth House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Carnbooth House Hotel Clarkston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing