We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic wedding venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carnbooth House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carnbooth House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Clarkston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful wedding here in May 2014. Stunning venue with excellent staff who are very experienced in dealing with weddings. Lovely grounds but also a beautiful building with plenty of photo opportunities inside if the weather isn't playing ball. Lovely food and wine and staff who couldn't be more accommodating. Gorgeous rooms, each with their own individual style. Couldn't have had a better day. Thanks to Andrew and the rest of the staff at Carnbooth!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Limyaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    40
    8
    14
    15
See reviews for
104
102
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I attended a family celebration, 30 in our party, in a small function room in the hotel. The outside decking area could be accessed from a door in our room, and added to the feeling of spaciousness. The small bar was sufficient for the needs of our party although the arrangement of one long dining table was not the best seating plan.

The service from the dining and bar staff was extremely good; no long wait between courses, plates removed quickly and quietly, food served whilst still hot, wine glasses re-filled discreetly - well trained team.

The food was very satisfying and well presented; I heard no complaints from the fellow diners I asked, and all agreed on the high standard of the catering. I think our party was about the size the hotel can handle successfully and attentively, so perhaps, size matters.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The sun was shining today so visited Carnbooth House Hotel for a morning coffee and scones with jam & cream. Absolutely scrumptious. Attentive service and sat out in the decking area in the sunshine. A lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 810PAMELA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had our wedding at the Carnbooth in February 2014 and we could not have asked for more. The venue looked beautiful and the staff did a fantastic job of setting it up the night before the wedding.

Our wedding was running late (my fault, late bride!) and the Carnbooth just ran with it and fully accommodated this, pushing back the meal and giving our guests more time to enjoy the drinks reception.

The marquee looked beautiful and there was plenty of staff on duty, all of whom were so friendly and hard-working. Putting on a 4 course meal for 150 people is no mean feat, and we pushed it back by about one and half hours - however, the food was magnificent. We had comments all night from our guests saying that it was the best food they had ever had at a wedding.

Although the Carnbooth only has 8 rooms (all stunning), they put on a breakfast the next day for a very reasonable price for any guests that wanted to come back to the hotel in the morning, which allowed us all to chill out all morning together which was lovely.

The Carnbooth House Hotel were flexible and open to all of my ideas on the run up to the wedding, meeting with myself and any family members at the drop of a hat. If you want to have a wedding where you have as much say as you like, but also have a completely stress-free day then book the Carnbooth. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to any couple looking for a wedding venue (and we checked out every venue in the central belt!)

A very happy bride xx

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julianna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was here recently for my friend's birthday celebrations which was held in the marquee at the Carnbooth. I have been to the hotel before and I really enjoyed it, but less so for the marquee. It was either too hot or too cold and the lighting outside was quite poor when trying to go outside to the toilet. The drinks were quite expensive. That being said, the food was nice and it was a good night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz12Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We attended a wedding at this hotel a few weeks ago and I can honestly say it was one of the best weddings we’ve ever been to!

The house itself is packed with features and is warm and welcoming, the views are stunning and the staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. The wedding breakfast and evening reception were held in an adjoining marquee which was a great size and had a bar and toilets so there was no need to go back into the main house. The food was also amazing. A great wedding venue and I will definitely be back for a weekend break to sample the other features of this lovely place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We got married at Carnbooth in April 2013 and had the most incredible day which was seemlessly assisted by the staff. Anything we asked for was never any trouble and the staff accommodated all our requests. Our family and guests had a fabulous experience and were thoroughly impressed by the quality of the food and staff.
We returned tonight for our anniversary dinner and the staff remember us and details of our wedding. All encounters with staff at Carnbooth have been extremely positive and we couldn't recommend them highly enough. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillSpiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarkston
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Redhurst Hotel
#55 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnbooth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnbooth House Hotel

Property: Carnbooth House Hotel
Address: 80 Busby Road, Clarkston G76 9EH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Renfrewshire > Clarkston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clarkston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnbooth House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Carnbooth House Hotel Clarkston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing