We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor restaurant service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor restaurant service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Beautiful place to bad about the breakfast we had three tables of people, the waiter came to each table pretty much told the first person what they were having then even though other people ordered different things he just gave us all the same, and said to begin with "bit of advice just everyone have the same because it's easier for me" when one person said there was stuff missing from her plate he didn't say a word and just took her plate away and went in the huff. My advice would be if you come here bring food and make it in your chalet, service is appalling xxx

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samsa57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    158
    90
    29
    37
See reviews for
184
158
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband and I spent a week at Kilconquhar as our last stay in a timeshare (we have ditched our timeshare week) Lets start with the good points. Lovely area and in beautiful grounds, good centre for exploring the Neuk of Fife. The staff were excellent, cheerful, helpful and efficient.
We stayed in a castle suite which I found claustrophobic in the extreme. The sitting room/kitchen was large and well furnished but the small ground level windows made me feel as if I was very much in the servants accommodation. There were 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The larger of the bedrooms had no windows only a glass door to the back patio. This did not matter in the early spring but not to have a window to open in the summer I would not like. But the main problem with this and I presume other accomodation was the heating. I had asked for the heating to be on when we arrived and the flat was very very warm when we arrived. We were asked to check the meter and when we did we noticed that the wheel was going around like a train. After only being in the flat for 10 mins the difference to the readout given to us as a starting point . was approx £6 (the heating must have been on for some time!!) Well we found we could either be warm and poor or chilly. So when we were in we wrapped ourselves up in a blanket. I was just grateful we did not have either very young or old persons with us as then we should have had to pay out to keep them warm. The heating system is antiquated and for all the talk of recycling and being green it must be so inefficient. We enjoyed our week but did not feel as we had stayed in accommodation of the standard we had expected.

Room Tip: Try not to stay in castle suite 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Inside the grounds of this castle there is a little gem - The White Cockade restaurant. The inside of the restaurant is charming but the outside eating area is heaven as it is a sun trap and so peaceful apart from the birds.

We have visited many times and have always enjoyed our lunches. Last week we had a steak baguette with salad and chips and it was as always excellent and at £5.95 extremely good value, The presentation of the food is extremely pleasing to the eye as well.

The staff are always friendly, sociable and make you feel as if you have known them for years.

I would certainly recommend this restaurant if you are in the area at any time.

On a couple of occasions there have been weddings taking place in the gardens and it has been interesting seeing all the guests arriving - you almost felt as if you were a guest at the wedding yourself!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyramsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doune, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Recently we stayed on the Kilconquhar Castle estate, near Elie in Fife, on a Timeshare exchange.
Prior to going there we had checked out the resort on the RCI website, but unfortunately the accommodation we ended up with, in no way resembled the photos on the RCI website.
These indicate modern, spacious accommodation, not the tired, dated accommodation of 'Rose Cottage'; a Victorian cottage at the bottom of the estate.
The cottage was half a mile from the main facilities, the last 180 yards of which were down an unlit, uneven, potholed, dirty mud track. Certainly not suitable for a disabled person or anybody with walking difficulties. Getting into the single space parking area was . . . 'intertesting'.
The cottage itself had tired decoration, more in keeping with 1980's style. The en-suite shower room/wc was cramped, only had a fan heater, was swimming in condensation and the shower tray drained so slowly that you were ankle deep in water after a few minutes in the shower!!
The electric panel radiators used to heat the house are not suitable either as it cost over £50 to heat the house for the week. (Note: 3 days were glorious sunshine so less heating required during this time)
We decided to take the 5 day dining package on the resort and this worked out well. The food was good and value for money.
The leisure facilities are good on site, with a driving range, two putting greens, swimming pool, saunas, table tennis, games hall and gym. The swimming pool is a nice size, but there are two saunas: one in the men’s and one in the women’s changing rooms. With no seating in the reception to wait on your spouse, you need to co-ordinate your sauna times!

Lots to see and do in the area, with Crail and St Andrews nearby, and "the best fish and chips in Scotland" just along the road at Anstruther.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were given this over night stay as an anniversary present. We were delighted with the estate grounds as the were very peaceful and well maintained. We stayed in a club room which was ideal for our requirements. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojo807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Well........14 years as an owner at KCE and the magic still hasn't worn off. If anything, the magic is getting stronger! We've always invited friends to KCE and a few of them have enjoyed the experience so much they've bought their own weeks. Sadly one lot of friends couldn't take their week right now, so offered it to us (yippee!!!). We are sorry they couldn't make it, but delighted we could be back there within 6 months.
Kilconquhar is just so much a "coming home" experience, we can't imagine life without it now. Every one of the staff are so pleasant and helpful, nothing is any trouble and those people know how to make someone welcome!!! You haven't booked a table for dinner on a Saturday night? Silly you - you'll have to wait all of 20 minutes for a table now! Oh, you don't want one of the ingredients in the menu listing? No problem, I'll let Chef know!
Standard of accomodation is beyond 'good' - I watched a run of Four in A Bed and was gobsmacked at the price of £180 per night for a B&B room: I'd far rather go to Kilconquhar for way less and get fantastic quality and service from true professionals!
I'm due back in September, and I can't wait.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traffic0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just returned from staying in one of the timeshare lodges or should I say a bungalow estate in the middle of the country. We had a 3 bedroom one and while it was spacious the decoration etc was looking dated. It was also VERY HARD to find this resort as for some reason there are no signposts in Fife showing how to get there. Unfortunately due to personal reasons we could not stay the whole week there and had to return home early however I was not too sad to leave. The pool is needing work done to it - bits were coming off the walls inside the pool etc. It was cold too plus the small spa was not on and even if it had been I wouldn't have been too keen to go in - the colour of the water!! There are no shops around (a very small shop in the leisure area however) so you should be prepared before you arrive. As we swapped our usual timeshare for here we expected the same level of service. For example we get our papers delivered to our lodge however there you have to go the small shop between 8.30 and 10am to collect the paper. Hardly relaxing and convenient if your at the other side of the estate and if you want to just relax in the morning. Small things like that count. We also went into the bar for a drink - there was no atmosphere and the staff didn't seem that keen to serve. The price was also a bit on the steep side. Have stayed in worse places but its doubtful I would return here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilconquhar
8.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,982 reviews
8.1 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club

Property: Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Address: | East Neuk, Kilconquhar, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kilconquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Hotel Kilconquhar
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing