We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We flew into Glasgow and stayed one night there and then drove to the Estate. Once there we were greeted and check in was a pleasure. We were there on Friday and Saturday which both nights had weddings and that was their main focus in the tent next to the restaurant. We are not needy and very rarely use resort amenities so this didn't bother us. The restaurant service was very friendly but lacked detail and forgot we were there on one occasion. The food was amazing the seafood Haddock, Mussels and Oysters were divine. We took day trips to Edinburgh, Sterling, Inchcolm Island, St Andrews, East Neuk, the villages of Pittenweem, Anstruther, Ellie, St Monans and Crail. Simply amazing vistas, people, food, castles, abbeys, cathederals........Oh best timeshare ever. Oh did I mention that they have an indoor pool, putting green and horses in paddocks on the estate. We had a 2 bedroom suite in the castle and it was spacious with amazing views.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinsatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed in a Club Room for our golfing trip so didn't need much in the way of luxuries. Room was a bit dingy, and really just needed brightening up, but plenty good enough for our needs. Food in the bistro was good, and the bar/waiting staff were excellent. That was the only bar though, so if you just wanted a drink there were no easy chairs or comfy area. The estate was lovely and there appeared to be plenty for families to do.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrivePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I booked a club room for short break with my 2 children. I rained from when we arrived until we left so didn't manage to take advantage of the free putting greens or the gold driving range but there was still plenty to do. We went swimming a couple of times and played table tennis, snooker and pool. The grounds were lovely, we went for a walk and would have walked further if the rain had stopped. The room was comfortable and warm and very close to leisure centre & restaurant. The food was good, Dimitry was a great host, very welcoming and attentive, he met us with a big smile each time we went to eat and I loved the breakfast, Dimitry regularly refilled my coffee cup . The food was good quality with generous portions. The restaurant was comfortable, we stayed after breakfast and played chess. Overall we had a very pleasant and relaxing visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here for a romantic break for Valentines Day. The estate is lovely, grounds are well kept and so quiet. The restaurant was a delight. The food was excellent and the service was second to none. Yes the average age was 50+ but that was fine for us. The drive is not greatly sign posted but we found it. The reception is in the leisure centre near the back which we found a bit strange. Surely it should be in the main building. The staff were very helpful giving us all the information we could require concerning the estate. A quick walk to our room, were the door opened outwards and you have to lock with a key to stop people coming in. The room was ensuite, big, well decorated but way too warm. Although it was winter the room was just too warm and the ensuite was roasting. The heat in there could keep the whole room warm. Within the grounds we did not get a mobile phone signal but again this was a romantic break for two so worked out well. St Andrews is only a ten miles drive which is easy to find and to get to. Breakfast in the morning was full scottish. Lovely and well cooked and the staff were so helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Beautiful place to bad about the breakfast we had three tables of people, the waiter came to each table pretty much told the first person what they were having then even though other people ordered different things he just gave us all the same, and said to begin with "bit of advice just everyone have the same because it's easier for me" when one person said there was stuff missing from her plate he didn't say a word and just took her plate away and went in the huff. My advice would be if you come here bring food and make it in your chalet, service is appalling xxx

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samsa57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband and I spent a week at Kilconquhar as our last stay in a timeshare (we have ditched our timeshare week) Lets start with the good points. Lovely area and in beautiful grounds, good centre for exploring the Neuk of Fife. The staff were excellent, cheerful, helpful and efficient.
We stayed in a castle suite which I found claustrophobic in the extreme. The sitting room/kitchen was large and well furnished but the small ground level windows made me feel as if I was very much in the servants accommodation. There were 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The larger of the bedrooms had no windows only a glass door to the back patio. This did not matter in the early spring but not to have a window to open in the summer I would not like. But the main problem with this and I presume other accomodation was the heating. I had asked for the heating to be on when we arrived and the flat was very very warm when we arrived. We were asked to check the meter and when we did we noticed that the wheel was going around like a train. After only being in the flat for 10 mins the difference to the readout given to us as a starting point . was approx £6 (the heating must have been on for some time!!) Well we found we could either be warm and poor or chilly. So when we were in we wrapped ourselves up in a blanket. I was just grateful we did not have either very young or old persons with us as then we should have had to pay out to keep them warm. The heating system is antiquated and for all the talk of recycling and being green it must be so inefficient. We enjoyed our week but did not feel as we had stayed in accommodation of the standard we had expected.

Room Tip: Try not to stay in castle suite 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Inside the grounds of this castle there is a little gem - The White Cockade restaurant. The inside of the restaurant is charming but the outside eating area is heaven as it is a sun trap and so peaceful apart from the birds.

We have visited many times and have always enjoyed our lunches. Last week we had a steak baguette with salad and chips and it was as always excellent and at £5.95 extremely good value, The presentation of the food is extremely pleasing to the eye as well.

The staff are always friendly, sociable and make you feel as if you have known them for years.

I would certainly recommend this restaurant if you are in the area at any time.

On a couple of occasions there have been weddings taking place in the gardens and it has been interesting seeing all the guests arriving - you almost felt as if you were a guest at the wedding yourself!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jennyramsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilconquhar
8.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
3,413 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
553 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
407 reviews
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,330 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club

Address: | East Neuk, Kilconquhar, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kilconquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilconquhar
Price Range: £60 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Hotel Kilconquhar
Kilconquhar Castle Estate And Country Club Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing